We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time in Vermont” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ye Olde England Inne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Ye Olde England Inne to your Saves list
Ye Olde England Inne
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“First Time in Vermont”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Spent three nights here during a foliage tour. Our room was very good with fireplace in the lounge and four poster bed in the bedroom and being at the very top of Bluff House, the views down the valley and to the mountains were incredible. Arrived late afternoon/early evening so ate in the hotel on the first day. Not quite a British gastro-pub but very close. Only 10 minutes away from the town centre when walking (via covered bridge). The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. There were a number of eateries nearby as well as shops, very central in this area to get to interesting places (Ben & Jerry's, mountains, lakes). Really enjoyed our time here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    103
    33
    23
    31
See reviews for
44
247
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We arrived at the hotel at 5pm and were greeted by a less than friendly receptionist. My concern started when she said she would have to go and check that the room was ready for occupation! This I thought was rather unusual considering the time of day. She returned after about 5 mins to tell us that she could not get the key to open the door and would find an alternative room. This turned out to be on floor 3 (floor 1 being what we call the ground floor) and there was no lift so I had to carry our heavy cases up 4 flights of stairs with no offer of assistance!
On locating the room we were astounded to find how small it was. There was no room to leave open cases on the only available floor space which was around the bed and still be able to walk around the bed! The one small window was of a sash design but would not close fully because the a/c unit fitted in the window space. This meant that there was no effective sound proofing and being at the front of the hotel it faced the main road with the obvious traffic noise.
The room was described in the booking as “a double room” and “a feature room”. However the only features we could identify were a beam in the ceiling, an old 14” CRT TV and an exposed area of brick wall in the closet that was called a bathroom!
The shower was a plastic cubicle of the type commonly found in an old caravan. The sink stopper in the bathroom sink was not operational and the tap was loose. There was also an indication that there had been a leak above the ceiling from the staining on the ceiling and the apparent removal of a section of plaster board which had not been replaced but the exposed brickwork had been painted instead.
On seeing the room I immediately returned to reception to complain and ask for another room. I was told that all the rooms were the same. I asked what “the Feature” was supposed to be and was told that that was just the way they were all described!
I have to say that the bed was comfortable but this was the only good thing in this room.
Later that evening we viewed the menu in the ”restaurant/bar” but this was extremely limited in choice and was very expensive by comparison to most other restaurants in which we had eaten during our trip. Needless to say we went out to eat and eventually found a little Thai restaurant where we had quite a good meal.

Room Tip: I suspect there are few good rooms available. Select lower levels if you are unable to manage stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We spent two nights at the Bluff House to celebrate out first wedding anniversary in October. We couldn't have been happier with the suite! The minibar and fireplace in the living room, and especially the hot tub overlooking the mountains, added the perfect romantic touch to our weekend. The bed and couch were both extremely comfortable, and the place was spotlessly clean.

Our only complaint was dinner at Mr. Pickwick's. The service was slow and inattentive, and the food was mediocre and pricey. We give the Bluff House 5 stars; just skip dinner!

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view; the building as a whole is quiet and very well insulated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Used Groupon Stayed in the Bluff House suite which came with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. Room was clean and confortable. Staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Stay in one of the bluff house suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed 2 nights and it was wonderful. The inne is quaint and the service was great. They went out of their way to get a package back to us that we had left in the lobby. The rooms are just right and we slept better there than in any of the other places we stayed during our trip. Thanks Chris!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Hotel info says bought and refurbished by an english couple, presumably to reflect old england. The decoration and furnishings certainly felt Laura Ashley and were a welcome change from the more modern fare elsewhere in New England. The room was small, as was the bathroom (olde england again). We were on first floor and getting luggage up the stairs was a bit of a struggle, no assistance offerred.
We ate in the bar at night, restuarant was empty, and had one of the best meals of our trip. Could not get our first choice from wine list but our server came up trumps second time. Service in bar was excellent and wife and I agreed that our server was a dead ringer for Ricky Gervais, although a younger version and more preferable in my opinion.
Great location in the town which was an interesting stop for one night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in July 2011. The suite was lovely and clean with a comfortable bed. Parking is free and plentiful. The food in the restaurant is good - the smoked fish soup is wonderful. The compliments end there. There was a terrible beeping sound that went off started at 6:30 a.m. the first morning, and went off every 20 minutes or so. We thought it was an alarm in another room. Turns out it was a faulty pump. When the front desk offered to change the room, the owner very rudely reversed the decision. We were ready to leave, despite pre-paying, but they finally turned off the pump. There were a number of other small irritations, but two worth noting - we had several beer and coolers in a paper bag in the room. It appears that the housekeeping staff accidentally threw them out (?!). And after we checked out, an unauthorized charge of $125 was put through on my credit card. The hotel didn't respond to my email, so I had to dispute it through the credit card company and it was reversed, but geez... In the end - there are lots of lovely inns in Vermont - try somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ye Olde England Inne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde England Inne

Address: 433 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Stowe
#9 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ye Olde England Inne 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ye Olde England Inne is a full service country Inne providinga a range of lodging options from comfortable well appointed rooms to beautiful, spacious luxury suites. Packages are available year round for Romance and Outdoor Adventure. It is situated in a unique elevated position with impressive views over the historic village of Stowe to the surrounding mountains. It is a highly rated and well respected property.All meals are served in Mr. Pickwick's Gastropub and Steakhouse. Famous for its cuisine the English Pub serves 150 varieties of ale and 80 Single malt Scotches. The wine cellar is extensive and the knowledgeable and energetic staff are well trained for their chosen profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ye Olde England Inne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ye Olde England Inne Hotel Stowe
Ye Olde England Stowe
Ye Olde England Hotel Stowe
Ye Olde England Inne Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ye Olde England Inne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.