We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mountain Road Resort

Save Saved
You added The Mountain Road Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mountain Road Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   1007 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 23 hotels in Stowe
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I love going up to Vermont. This trip was about the fourth time to Stowe and our second time we stayed at The Mountain Road Resort. Our room was very clean and the staff was very accommodating. The market next door and the complimentary bike rental are just added bonuses. I will be staying here next trip to Stowe!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chester, Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I came into town to bring my family to a wedding and we got a room here. We have 3 small children and always like to find a spot with a pool. We cannot express enough how nice the pool facilities are! Very clean and a great use of space! The kids had a blast! The overall experience was very family friendly and a GREAT option when staying in the pricey town of Stowe!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

The pictures on line are somewhat deceiving. The room is spacious and the bed was comfortable otherwise the room was very average, no frills. The curtain in the back of the room just outside the bathroom lacked about 10 inches in length but nothing a bath towel couldn't remedy. The front desk person was very cordial and helpful with dinner suggestions. The service however stopped there. Turns out that the nice appearing lobby shown on line is locked and not accessible except certain times. The 8AM complimentary breakfast did not appear until someone finally drove up and unlocked the door around 8:30. By this time we just left frustrated with the poor attention to detail. There are plenty of other places to choose from in Stowe and we will do so next time.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Had a group that used 19 rooms. Evidently they hopefully are remodeling. My room was good and roomy. Others were small and crowded with broken coffee tables or air conditioners that didn't work. Breakfast was fruit and cereal and a few sweet rolls. Staff was hardly ever seen by me. If you're driving a tour bus, get ready to back in cause it's hard to turn around.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

My son and husband and I stayed here for my sons lax tourney. And it was beautiful! The room was gorgeous and reasonably priced for Stowe, the pool was nice and clean. I absolutely love the location being so close to town, a gas station across the street, and a cute place next door to get delicious food. The only downside was the parking, every time we left and came back we had to park in a different spot.
A young woman at the front desk let me borrow a cell phone charger (I lose mine constantly) which was greatly appreciated! And a young woman house keeper helped me with my bags when it came time to leave and made very friendly conversation with me.
All in all it was an amazing experience, great hotel, beautiful room, awesome breakfast, and very kind workers! Definitely recommending to family and friends!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visit Stowe at least once a year. Each year we try to stay in a different place. This is the second property we would consider staying at again. The price was reasonable (for Stowe), we paid $130 for one night. The room was clean except for the mini fridge which had an opened bottle of water and a small container of cheddar cheese in it, and the coffee pot was not clean. The bathroom was clean and the mini wet bar was clean. The bed was comfortable and the a/c worked well. There was free WiFi but it was slow in the rooms, worked a little better in the Lobby.

There are a lot of amenities with this property. It has an outside swimming pool which was clean and inviting. There is also an indoor pool which was also clean and inviting. I cannot tell you the water temperature because we did not use the swimming pools. There is a hot tub and sauna. There are basic bikes for rent and they also have a clay tennis court that is in good condition.

We stayed in the cheapest room which is on the ground floor, next to the lobby (room #20). I did not want hubby to have to carry the luggage up the stairs.

Our son and his fiancee stayed in a balcony room. The second floor balcony rooms are about $30 more per night. They have a fireplace and a working balcony. If you really want a working place in the room, it would be worth the extra money, otherwise you may want to stick with a first floor room.

This property has recently gone under a management change and it is still in the learning process. I recommend printing out your room confirmation. If you book online you can pick your room, but their computer system was having some glitches and it was helpful to print the confirmation.

http://www.mountainroadresort.com


It was difficult to find someone at the front desk but once found, they were always helpful.

So, if you're looking for a comfortable clean room in a convenient location (next to Harvest Market) with amenities that are in good order, you may want to consider the Mountain Road Resort in Stowe, Vermont.

Room Tip: No elevator for second floors. It's easy to get the car to the front door of the ground floor r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Recently stayed here and found it very pleasant and affordable. Room was large and clean. Indoor and outdoor pool, nice outdoor seating area for stargazing. Common areas cozy with some very interesting artwork. Friendly staff and great location. Given all the above and the low rates, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mountain Road Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mountain Road Resort

Address: 1007 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#11 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Mountain Road Resort 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Mountain Road Resort. We are conveniently located on the mountain road just 5 minutes from majestic Mount Mansfield, Vermont’s highest peak and home to Stowe mountain resort. We are within walking distance to most of Stowe’s art and antique galleries, restaurants, shops and entertainment venues and we are just 35 minutes from Jay peak, Mad River Glenn, and Smugglers Notch. We offer high quality lodging with consistently excellent service and six different types of accommodation. The Mountain Road Resort offers our guests’ great value and a balanced blend of modern amenities and timeless rustic charm. Whether you are traveling to Stowe for business, outdoor recreation, or pleasure the mountain road resort welcomes you and looks forward to providing you a clean well appointed room at a terrific rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Mountain Road Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mountain Road Hotel Stowe
Mountain Road Resort
The Mountain Road Resort Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mountain Road Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.