We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful area in spite of the weather!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smugglers Notch State Park

Smugglers Notch State Park
6443 Mountain Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
802 253 4014
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 41 things to do in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Driving, Viewing foliage
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This narrow path through thousand-foot cliffs, once a smuggling route into Canada, is now a park used for biking, hiking, picnicking and rockclimbing.
Overland Park, KS
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful area in spite of the weather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband and I took our first self-directed "leaf-peeping" tour in October. This was one of the recommended areas to view the fall foliage, and it didn't disappoint!! Don't let all of the reviews about the highway being a single lane around the curves scare you away. I was very concerned, but the actuality was much better and safer than my fears led me to believe!
A beautiful must-see area for "Leaf- Peepers"!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    38
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
South Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“The "Notch" road is the best when it's closed for winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited the "Notch" road this late Februrary weekend and the winter conditions are still fabulous for cross country skiing, snow shoeing, hiking on the hard packed snow and dog walking. The snow is still covering the tops of the guard rails so there is a great base. The parking area is just beyond the parking lots for Stowe ski resort and both sides were well plowed for plenty of parking. No facilities though so be prepared for that. Bring a camera...the ice and snow up on the cliffs is beautiful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very nice, out of the way day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Make sure you have the right shoes, and just explore and enjoy.

It's a bit of a drive to get here, (past many wonderful areas, and views, but well worth the trip. The hike and views are wonderful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
59 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Closed for the season”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

But I certainly want to come back and visit. It looks spectacular. It would be good if we could indicate seasonal openings on tripadvisor. Looks like it is only open from May to October

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“very nice, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

OK, some good views, makes more sense to go to the area for the skiing, which is pretty good when the conditions are

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smugglers Notch State Park also viewed

 

Been to Smugglers Notch State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smugglers Notch State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.