We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trapp Family Lodge to your Saves list
Trapp Family Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Great Spring Rates!
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great Family Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The only con I can find with this resort are the fees they charge for all the little extras. Yoga classes, tours, and all the activities for the Mountain Kids club require a fee which averages $20 per child. We stayed away from these activities. We arrived on a Saturday, check in was quick and friendly. Bellstaff meet us at our guest house to assist with luggage. We stayed in 18B. I suggest a 2nd floor unit. The first floor units have a less privacy. There is plenty of great space for children to run around and play all throughout the property. Sunday was Easter. The resort had a complimentary easter egg hunt, which the kids the loved. There were plenty of eggs stuff with great goodies for all the children. Hiking is great around the property. There are so many wonderful trails. A must is the sugar house, if it is in season. Also the Chapel. What a wonderful place! We walked ALL around the lodge. Plenty of fun little spots to check out. There are halls and stairs all over the place to explore.
The views are fabulous on the property. The guest houses, are stocked well. We did not need anything for cooking that was not already there. Face and bath soap are in the two bathrooms, dishsoap for dishes and the dishwasher. Pot holders, dish towels, salt and pepper, and paper towels are all supplied. There is plenty of wood supplied for the wood burning stove. Matches and 7 firestarters are provided. Furnishings are comfortable and homey. Everything in our unit was in great shape and working order. Renovations were being done on one guest house, so I guess the rest will slowly follow. I believe there are about 28 guest houses in three villages. Village 1 and 2 are right next to each other and within easy walking distance to the fitness center and lodge. Village three has 4 guest houses, and is a bit further. I would probably drive if I was not in the mood for a leisurely walk. Each guest house holds 4 units-2 up, 2 down. ours was full, and we did not hear our neighbors. Kitchens in a small work kitchen, not much room, but I doubt anyone booked this resort for the kitchen. :-) The dining has plenty of room, along with the large living room, which are open to each other. Small box TV in a cabinet. If you are a TV fanatic, you will be disappointed. This is also the only TV in the unit. Upper level has a balcony and 4 chairs, lower level has 4 chairs and a patio. Most units you either walk up or down a set of stairs. Our unit was down a set and then back up a se to the unit. I was nothing to us, and we did not mind. There are several units that do not have stairs at all, so ask if it is a concern.
The fitness center is great. There is a playroom with airhockey and ping pong. There is a big chalk board and books to read. A rock climbing wall, fitness room, yoga/class room, sauna, lockers, showers, changing room and a great big warm pool with plenty of chairs and loungers! Warm meaning comfortable to swim~ not too cold, not to warm.
If you have any questions please feel free to email me... Well worth the trip.
We also did day trips to Ben and Jerrys and Vermont Teddy Bear. Plenty of places to hike, bike, shop and eat. We were not here to ski. There was no snow on the ground during our stay, and only a little on the mountain.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    201
    76
    45
    25
See reviews for
291
270
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

I can say a few good things about the Trapp Family Lodge:
1. best hotel bathroom ever - large, well-lit, cupboard to keep personal items out of view, HUGE tub
2. wonderful balcony off the room
3. access to indoor pool
4. great views from every vantage point
5. most staff are super friendly and helpful
6. very comfortable bed and sheets
There are things I did NOT like about the Lodge:
1. no fridge in room
2. can't see t.v. from bed or sofa - only viewable from a singe armchair
3. nickel and dime you - a rock-painting activity for children cost $20! Even the wine-tasting event only cost $15. My 2 year old was charged $9 for the privilege of sitting at the breakfast table with us. They charged something like $10 per person for a walking history tour with one of the von Trapps - this should be a perk that gets you to stay here, not another way to get money. Every day they have dozens of activities, but almost all are for a fee. I think that especially the children's activities should be free - if they keep the kids busy, it frees up the parents for some extra-fee-activities.
4. They claim to be a "green" hotel, but every evening they print the next day's activities on a sheet of paper that they leave in your room. Why not use a big chalkboard in a prominent location? Why waste so much paper?
5. Rooms need more soundproofing. We heard people above us, beside us, and outside the room. And we were there in the off-season.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

We really enjoyed our time at the Trapp Family Lodge. I wish we had stayed longer. Our room was large, and while not incredibly modern it was very comfortable. The Lodge harkens back to an older, slower time - and we loved it. The fireplaces, the libraries, the lounge. The staff overdelivered on every aspect of service, from knowing our names to having our car ready in moments whenever we asked. Views from the lodge are gorgeous, the XC skiing is great. The sandwiches at the deli could feed you for days, and the streudel ... ah, the streudel!!! LOVED the big hot tub -- nice to mingle with some other guests but have your own space. Yoga class was also quite lovely. Our meals were fine -- breakfast better than dinner, but service again was impeccable. Enjoyed the wine tasting as well - if they have extra bottles, you may be able to enjoy one with dinner at a very reasonable price. We can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

Staff went above and beyond to make me feel comfortable and at home in this beautiful, mountainous location. The room was spacious and kept well, in true Austrian style. The dining at Trapp has given me some of my best memories of great tastes and atmosphere. The fitness center, scheduled activities and, of course, some of the best cross country ski around, make this place one that comes with my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

The rooms were nice but they need some upgrading for the price asked.
Food is quite average and expensive, at the bakery it is even worst, I was expecting some delicious croissants but none were available.
To book a babysitter is impossible and you have to arrange it yourself, the hotel will only give you a list of phone numbers and most of them are obsolete!
The area is very nice, tranquil and quite, the staff mostly is very nice and attentive.
I was expecting something out of the ordinary and I found something quite average, still, I will reccomend it to friends for the historic value but once, it is enough for us.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, March 19, 2010
Thank you for your constructive comments. Our DeliBakery makes fresh croissants daily; however, there are days when they sellout early particularly on weekends and holidays. In the past two weeks our Executive Pastry Chef increased the volume of croissants baked on weekends to better meet the demand. Our babysitting list was updated in December of 2009 and when your comment was brought to the attention of the Reception Desk management they realized there needs to be more watchfulness in keeping the information current. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our policy regarding babysitting arrangements is to have parents handle the decision about who is hired to care for their children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

Having never been to Vermont, I first booked at the Green Mountain Inn. I read some reviews, chickened out and then booked at Stonehill Inn. Although I didn't come across any adverse reviews mon the Stonehill, I again cancelled and ultimately choose Trapp because I felt like there may be more to do, due to to Nordic Center, food options, fitness center with outdoor hot tub and fire place in the room. We were RIGHT!

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have done moire to please us. I usually travel as a fitness instructor and have been a guest presentor in several private resorts. So, paying for my own vacation was all new to me. The room was FANTASTIC. The firepalce was well stocked with wood and it was made known to us that the staff likes to light the fires due to past safety issues. seeing that we heat our entire home with wood stoves, we were chuckling at the fact that they wanted to light our fire! We assumed this would be a huge deal and require an hour notice. We were WRONG! A simple call to the front deck and the roaring fire was going within minutes.

It was our 10 year anniversary and we were so pleasantly surp[rised with a beautiful bottle of champagene, which we took to the hot tub. About 5 minutes into our toasty little toats, we were pleasantly informed that no glass was allowed, and the staff member did not embarrass us, but simply whipped out 2 huge plastic tumblers, poured us more champagne, and simply explained the rule. This could have been a BUZZ KILL, but instead made us only want to return here again.

The food, the staff, the view, the aura.....the Trapp has it all. Yes, the carpet is a litle worn, but who would even care about that when the staff standing upon iy has a smile and an extra hand reached out to help you?

We got everything we asked for-even sore butts from the xcountry skiing we thought was going to be so "easy"....

We will return-and even bring our children next time. aLSO LOVED THE GREEN ROOM WITH THE FLOWERS . The double choc chip cookies rocked! We were skiing and came in for a drink and cookies and it was so perfect to relax by th lounge fire,

Anyone want to join in on a time share? There was NO pressure or info and now I wish we had inquired!

August the doorman was so cool, as were all of the people we met!

Do yourself a favor and do not listen to ANY of the bad reviews on here!

Email me and Ill tell you what you want to know! If I had some extra cash I would bring my kids back for one of their birthdays in 2 weeks...maybe next year!

Brooke44@verizon.net

We'll be bACK

Thank God we were right!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

We were amazed by the beauty of the Trapp Family Lodge, and loved the sprawling mountain views. The rooms are dated, and could use a facelift. Unfortunately, during our stay, a transformer was struck in town, leaving us without electricity for nearly 3 hours (7:30- 11am). The staff was not proactive informing guests what was wrong & did not offer flashlights to guests. Sound silly?! Try using a restroom privately (door closed, no windows) so as not to disturb your family. Not easy, not fun as it is complete darkness. Because of the power ourage, our meals & activities were compromised. We sent an e-mail expressing our disappointment & and received a very dismissive response pertaining to the need for flashlights during daylight hours. Again, it was clear to us the writer of the letter had never tried to use the facilities in question (it seems safe to say customer satisfaction may not be highly valued).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.