We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all a bit pretentious” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Save Saved
You added Trapp Family Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trapp Family Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Save up to 30%
Ranked #7 of 23 hotels in Stowe
Harpenden, UK
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
161 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“It's all a bit pretentious”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2006

This place is rather too pretentious for comfort. It's like a shrine to the Trapp Family, who - although being Austrian - soon learned that the way to succeed in the USA is through shameless self promotion. And good luck to them.

As expected, we found it a nice comfortable hotel, with a warm and highly professional welcome from Tim at reception. Our Premier Room was OK but not remarkable, and there were plenty of signs of lack of maintenance. For example, at night the a/c would not switch off, and there were no maintenance people on duty, so they sent the security guard who said that there was always trouble with the a/c, and switched it off "at the computer". And does nobody ever clean the outside? The private terrace was covered with grass and weed cuttings, there were cobwebs round the door frame. Everywhere, terraces and walkways had not been swept for weeks.

And it was something of a surprise to find that the carpark was a muddy patch across the road - could they not afford to put hardtop on it?

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    152
    66
    36
    24
See reviews for
228
206
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2006

We drove from Boston to the lodge with our daughter and her other classmates. Mr. Tim at the front desk was very friendly and the check-in was efficient. About 7 yeras ago my husband and me, we stayed at the same lodge and had a very nice memory. This time we experienced the same. Our daughter and her classmates enjoyed the surroundings. There were full of stars in the sky when the weather was clear and sunny in the morning.
We stayed in the premier room, which was has an extra sitting area. The next time we probably would ask for a room on the top floor, so that we won't hear people walking around the room above us. The families of our daughter were also delighted with their delux rooms. The breakfast was great, unfortunately we didn't have time to experience the activities organized by the lodge.
The next time we will still choose this property.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2006

We have been Trapp Family Guest house owners for 18 years, and have always enjoyed the years we were able to go there. The prices at the lodge itself are a bit high for what you get, granted, particularly in summer. Winter ski enthusiasts, especially cross country as opposed to down hill skiers get miles of ski trails well taken care of. In summer, the same trails offer peaceful woodland hikes. I really don't understand the comments here about unfriendly staff - I've never found the staff at Trapps to be anything but helpful and courteous. My suggestion: if you really have a problem with an individual, get his or her name, and drop a note to Johannes Trapp. He really does strive to provide excellent service. The dining room is expensive, and we rarely eat there except one dinner and one breakfast per visit. The food is always excellent, in our opinion, and I've never experienced a service problem. For example, one on of our first visits to the Lodge dining room, we had our infant daughter with us. She was about to cry and make our dining experience, and that of others, undesirably noisy, when one of the staff volunteered to roll her about in her stoller for us while we ate, within sight. This saved the day. There are many other good restaurants within easy drive. The Shed is a little expensive, but good food. There's always fast food if you're just into cheap. In the guest houses, we do a lot of our own cooking. There aren't a whole lot of busy things to do at Trapps - you can play tennis (and the teaching pros are very patient), you can hike, you can swim, or you can travel about the area taking in sights. It's really more of an outdoors, relaxing family kind of place. If you crave constant action, look elsewhere. The Trapps are real people, and the "Sound of Music" is fiction. Read Maria's "The Trapp Family Singers" for the real story. Don't go looking for Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer and Charmian(sp?) Carr etc. at the lodge - they don't exist. But do take time to chat with the very enchanting Rose Marie Trapp, or go to one of the receptions that are held about once a week to meet Johannes Von Trapp. As for classes advertised being non-existent, well, like most resorts, availability depends on how many people sign up. If an insufficient number of folks sign up, an activity may be cancelled. But the garden tour and the bakery class go pretty regularly, and Rose Marie usually does a sing along or some other activity at some point in the week. The scenery is beautiful. If you were there during construction, try it some other time. I've been to other resorts that didn't warn of construction, either. Our family of four children, now 20, 17, 10, and 8, enjoys the Trapp resort every year that we can get there, which from the west coast is now about every other year. Before you get too upset about the prices, look at how much Stoweflake and other similar resorts in the area charge, and what you get.

  • Stayed July 2003
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2006

I have just returned from visiting the Trapp Family Lodge!! It was one of the best vacations I have ever been on. We were able to get away and relax without any hassles. The views from the lodge are the best in Stowe. Each room has its own view of the mountains and none of the rooms are bad. We were able to get some good skiing in. The fitness center staff was very friendly. The outdoor hot tub was very relaxing after skiing and we also enjoyed the sauna. I think this is a great place to visit for families and couples. The best time to eat dinner is a little later that way there are no children in the dinning room. The front desk personnel were extremely friendly and helpful. I have already planned the next trip to Trapp Family Lodge this summer. If you get a chance visit this summer with their many activities.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, VA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2006

My parents have a time share at the Trapps, and I have been there every summer for the last 15-16 years. It has changed a lot since we first started staying there- in good and bad ways. I have also stayed a few days at the Lodge with my mom one summer when we had traded all of our weeks for different vacations.
If you travel in the summer, hope that it is not too hot. The timeshares and most rooms in the Lodge don't have AC. Thankfully the cool mountain air makes air conditioning irrelevant most of the time.
The Lodge has an awesome breakfast. My mom splurged the year we stayed in the Lodge and got us the meal plan. We were able to have breakfast everyday and had dinner everynight, too, I think!
There are two pools- the adults only behind the Lodge is great, but it is not heated. The lower pool always has a lot of kids around, but we enjoyed it when we were kids, so it's not bad if you are the right audience!
They try to have a lot of activities for their patrons. Hikes to the cabin and nature walks are always nice.
Service has gone down since the next generation of Trapps took over. The Lodge was originally built by Maria and the Baron and their children ran it for awhile, but now their grandchildren are running it, and it is more a means of making money than the peaceful stay that it used to be. I have always enjoyed my time, there, though, and look forward to taking some time to return this summer.
Stowe is an AWESOME location- tons of restaurants and Burlington is only an hour drive- outlet shopping and various activities.
Any questions- def. email me!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2006

If you want a luxury vacation in a Stowe Vermont then check out the Villas at Trapp Family Lodge. Large, beatifully furnished with ski and hiking trails out your front door. The new recreational center with large indoor pool is fabulous. The groomed Nordic trails are wonderful. Plus you can take advantage of all the activities for your children---climbing wall, nature walks, ski lessions and movies. Enjoy an elegant dinner in the dining room or less formal dinner in the lounge. Make sure you take the historical tour if offered when you are there. Our family had a great visit and so relaxing! We are looking forward to our next trip there in the summer to enjoy the woods, hiking trails and Mozart concert in the meadow!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2006

President's Day Week
Our first experience with the Trapp Lodge lasted 20 minutes before checking out:
No mention of resort fees
Incompetent staff
Rooms not clean, a few flies, and a musty smell
No reservtions available in dining room and lounge looked like the day after a fraternity party.
Host said "you've got a least an hour wait", and I thought to sit down in that dump?
Had 1 (helpful) bellman on one of the busiest weeks of year.
Sold us a room for 2 adults/2 kids but never told us the 2 kids were sleeping on an old musty pullout sofa.


All this for $400+ (hidden fees)a night. Save your money and don't fall for the marketing.




We drove 3.5 hrs from Boston to get here

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
#7 Business Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.