We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peaceful vacation will many perks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Trapp Family Lodge to your Saves list
Trapp Family Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sound of Music Package
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hollis Center, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“peaceful vacation will many perks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

simply beautiful. we stayed in a guest house that I exchanged for through interval. the service was exceptional, I had car trouble the front desk helped us find an excellect local garage Willie's auto service droped car off at noon the owner brought us right in within 10 min had parts ordered, resort picked us up and when car was fixed the next morning the bell hop brought us back to get car.. you can do as much or as little as you want. Pool and fitness center are above average, every employee was well trained and met all our expectations.. our two kids had a blast on the roc climbing wall and the endless activities.. one of our best trips yet!!!

Room Tip: guest houses are great for families..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Director of Lodging & Marketing at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Robert H,

Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am so glad to see that you enjoyed our facilities and were able to experience our excellent customer service first hand, especially during what could have been an extremely difficult situation. Thank you again for your comments and we will certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best regards,

Ryan Krukar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    201
    76
    45
    25
See reviews for
291
270
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walla Walla, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great atmosphere, stayed two nights and was able to XC ski right from the outdoor center for two days. Maple sugaring was going on also and watched the collection of pails of maple sap by horse drawn sleigh... For a less expensive meal take a jaunt down to the deli bakery for some great food.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Director of Lodging & Marketing at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Tom M,

Thank you for your review. As you experienced, our facility is a fantastic place to visit for some late season skiing. The convenience of being able to walk out the door of your guest room right onto the trails is unmatched. Our maple sugaring operation is also a wonderful activity to experience as you are transported back in time when you watch our team collect and boil sap the "old fashion" way (another "not to be missed" activity is our sugar on snow party as it allows guests to enjoy this classic Vermont treat right at the source). Thank you again and we hope to see you back in the future!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stowe, Vermont, is our getaway place in New England. It has the mountainous feel we love, and folks have always seemed friendlier there than elsewhere. We stopped by at the Trapp Deli Bakery almost every time but never stayed in the Lodge. A deal popped up on TripAdvisor (JetSetter) and I was looking for a place to go to for my wife's birthday, so I took it. We arrived late night on a late winter early spring day - there was still a lot of snow on the ground. The GPS took us away from the main road and up a dirt road - it was desolate and dark and the car kept slipping off the road - it was a little scary. All of a sudden the lodge appeared - there were tiny christmas lights all over that made it appear. On a later wintry night, it seemed quite heartwarming to see this.

The front desk seemed a little cold and formal and I was thinking that it would be too fancy a place which is not too my liking - I was tired as well. Then Sam the bellman appeared and offered to valet the car and take the luggage for which I was very grateful, Our room seemed at the end of a long series of corridors with occasional cosy lounges, with books and games and fireplaces.

Our room seemed old but quaint with european (austrian?) style carvings, wall dressings and artwork. Sam had a fridge brought up for our beer. I felt taken care of and happy. My wife, kids and I had a nice relaxing night that night - we ordered in pizza from our favorite Piecasso and had wine and beer - the night was chilly but the air felt fresh and pure.

The next day was spend exploring the property and the restaurants. Breakfast at the main dining room was a little pricey. The lounge serves lunch and has savory sandwiches and Trapp beer which is pretty smooth. The pastrami sandwich was delicious and I would highly recommend it. We went for wine tasting in the afternoon and though the wine choice was not my favorite, my wife and I ended up having a good time chatting with the other patrons in the cellar which was cosy. Dinner at the main dining room was gourmet - I had the quail which was tender and juicy,

We don't ski but I wished we did as there are cross country trails right from the lodge - snowshoe trails as well. We did not take advantage of these this time but will the next time. We enjoyed exploring the property, though, and there are many nooks, decks and patios to lounge in - would be great to hang out in in the summer.

We left on a Sunday and again the other bellman (long hair, ponytail) was really kind - he not only told me of a bridge closure but later drew an alternate route on a map. I love these little attempts at helpfulness and love Vermont for this type of niceness!

The grounds are extensive and there are villas that are more secluded stayed in the main lodge this time. There are concerts on the grounds in summer and the lodge will make a picnic basket for you.

Oh and they welcome pets which is a big plus for me! Though they did not mention the pet fee when I was booking the room which made me a little annoyed - but I got over it - it was a little more than I like to pay as a pet fee as well.

Overall, another great choice for us when we go back to Stowe VT and looking forward to our next trip!

Room Tip: Lounge is great for lunch especially in the sun room area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It sounds charming but for us the reality was far from it... Upon arrival we were told normal check in time was 5 pm (!) but that they were running late and it would be at least until 6 pm (!!!!). We received no apologies and no service to help the situation. When we finally got to our villa it was pitch black and nearly impossible to find which unit we were in. Several trips up and down icy steps later (in sub zero weather) and we found our unit. We carried all our things and our kids up to the unit which was dowdy, with a dirty red carpet, a tiny kitchen, old looking linens and decor and bathrooms that needed updating. Overall definitely a disappointment for us.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Director of Lodging & Marketing at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear smm130,

First and foremost I would like to apologize for the lack of service that you experienced during your stay and for the lack of attention to detail in your unit; this is completely unacceptable by our standards. It does sound like you stayed in one of our Guest House units as opposed to the Villas. The check-in time for the Guest Houses does depend upon the village in which you are staying; it does appear that you were staying with us in Village two as the check-in time is 5pm (again, I apologize that the unit was not yet ready upon arrival). We do offer luggage assistance for all of our guests upon request and would have certainly been happy to assist you with your luggage and salting/sanding the stairs of your Guest House. As a side note, our Guest Houses are time-share units that are currently going through an expansive upgrade that will occur over the next few years, adding to their comfort and charm. Please do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience as I would love to have the opportunity to speak with you regarding your January visit!

Best regards,

Ryan Krukar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Private, quite retreat on the top of a mountain with views of Mt Mansfield and the Valley below. Top notch facilities, well built and well maintained. A pleasure to spend time here. Great restaurant, Bar, Bakery, and much more. Probably our favorite place in the entire country to stay for vacation... it's a true vacation. Have enjoyed many years in the Guest Houses and the Villas. - Thank you so much to the Trapp Family and Management for all that you do to keep this place special!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Director of Lodging & Marketing at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Pinch21NJ,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay. It is such a rewarding feeling to be able to share the beauty and grandeur of our property/location with our guests as we feel it is a very special place for all to enjoy. Thank you again for your kind words and we will look forward to welcoming you back home in the near future!

Best regards,

Ryan Krukar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east moriches
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is a really beautiful area. The grounds are well taken care of. The staff was wonderful and helpful. I stayed in the guest house, they were clean and well stocked.
They could have more organized activities and gatherings for the visitors. I wish the pool and restaurants didn't close so early. They had a beautiful and clean pool and a nice large out door hot tub. This is an awesome place for xcountry skiing and snow shoeing. I would love to visit in the summer and be able to use the outdoor pool.

Room Tip: Not much to do later in the evening bring your games and hobbies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We partook in many activities including the Mon Trapp family history (Maria's grandson answered questions!), a wine tasting in the cellar, a snowshoe tour of the sugar maple house. All wonderful! Yummy Austrian dinner in the restaurant and they accommodated my teenagers who would rather have a burger from the lounge menu then the wiener schnitzel. Will return! Maria picked a truly beautiful spot!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#5 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.