We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Trapp Family Lodge to your Saves list
Trapp Family Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Family friendly destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My family spent a weekend here and we were very pleased with the hotel. We stayed in the main lodge and our room was large, clean, and comfortable, with balcony access and a gorgeous view of the mountains. Some of the criticism I read about this place was that it's outdated. Yes, some of the decor could use some updating, but the place was well kept and there was a lot of common space (library, lounges, gardens) where our one-year-old could run around. The staff was very nice and I thought the restaurants served good food. The breakfast in the main dining room was a little expensive but average price for a hotel. The mac and cheese and chili served in the lounge dining space were tasty and they serve a great lager. Plus, there were nice trails for walking (even with a stroller) and lots of farm animals (cows, chickens, pigs, sheep) that the kids will enjoy looking at. I had a fantastic massage from a woman named Liz at the Fitness Center and attended a chill, but nice yoga class (also with a beautiful view). The hot tub was also very enjoyable. All in all, a good place to take the family.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe Room at the Main Lodge. Plenty of space for two adults and a kid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Communications, Executive Assistant at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review of our resort. We are delighted that you and your family were able to enjoy so much of what we offer. The farm tours are very popular with both adults and children and are very educational for those that want to learn more about farm animals and farm to table operations. Thank you for pointing out our many common areas such as the library and living rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floors. We are in and ongoing process of updating some of our older rooms - an ongoing project in our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurants and lager. Thank you for mentioning you enjoyed a "fantastic massage" from Liz and that your yoga class was also nice. I have passed on the information to our yoga instructors that you found the room in which you had yoga class to be chilly for this to be corrected. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort again! Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    181
    70
    44
    25
See reviews for
263
252
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I don't even know where to start so i can really make you understand and see the 'reality' of how bad this place is.
They use the name Trapp as a 'trap' for tourists! I have NO idea how they have gotten such good reviews and just a few bad ones in comparison. We exchanged one of our week from Grand Timber Lodge in beautiful Breck, Co for this garbage ( in comparison) According to the ratings given online this was supposed to be comparable.but IT'S SO NOT! This place is outdated, smells musty, dirty, carpets are fraying, no washer/dryer, tv is inside a cabinet literally two inches from the floor (weird in itself), kitchen is tiny poor lighting, beds are not comfortables and pillows?? You might as well sleep sitting up thats how thick they are giving you a bad neck ache. We complained about how disappointed and not happy we were, but sadly they have an attitude of take it or leave it. They KNOW its payed for already,so technically you're out of luck. They say to 'experience the feeling of luxury between Vt and Austria and absolute perfection' this alone should be grounds for suing them for lying! I have been in Austria and while Vt does have absolutely beautiful views, as far as the actual accommodation of the 'guest house' goes its a disgrace they want to compare it to Austrian lodging. Staff does not seem happy, and the gentleman trying to assist us with our complaint didnt seem to have any say so as to how much he could do. His supervisor Devin never made an attempt either to contact us. Its very disappointing to wait a long time for what you hope will be a wonderful vacation, with the comforts or better than home and come to this place. So please if you are still on time do NOT book here, there seem to be so many other beautiful hotels, bb around town that you will definitely love and not hate like my husband and i are doing in this place. They try to blame Interval but guess what they are MISLEADING THE PUBLIC SHAME ON YOU TRAPP FAMILY LODGE!! Why cant we all deserve the 'luxury' of the VILLAS? Ok if you want to make a difference, but make it known! Don't lure ppl into thinking thats where they're staying, and btw even those are RIDICULOUSLY OVERPRICED.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear M P,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience and we apologize if you feel that we have misled you in any way. Our Guest Houses are very highly rated through Interval International, with their members reporting satisfaction scores of 92% for the first three months of 2013. We are sorry that we were not able to move you to another location on property, however your booking through Interval International was property specific to the Guest Houses. Our Villas are also individually owned and there were unfortunately no free Villas during the week you were in residence.

We understand your concerns and presented options for you that might better suit your needs, including the offer to move to another Guest House after your arrival, which was declined. Devin, the Director of Owner Services has contacted Interval International on your behalf, however, and is working with them to resolve your complaint.

We are in the continued process of renovations and upgrades in these units, and we thank you for your constructive comments. You mentioned that the beds were not comfortable, and we are pleased to inform you that we are actively replacing all of the mattresses in our Guest Houses. Again, we apologize if you feel you were misled in any way and we would welcome the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience.

Best regards,

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As a child I was truly moved by the story of the Fon Trapp Family and always wanted to come for a visit. Finally we came to stay for 4 days in April and truly enjoyed it.
Comfortable, quiet and nicely managed hotel.
Food is really good, has interesting Austrian selections. We especially liked choices in the Deli across the road from the hotel. Restaurant has nice variety of Austrian wines and, of course, Trapp beer. History of the family is depicted in many photos and other memorabilia through out the lodge. It is a nice place to visit with children.
There are many activities scheduled through out the day, including kids activities as well as adults cooking classes, visits to the farm, music concerts etc.
Most notably, the surrounding area is truly beautiful and we hope to be back one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had a great week in the Von Trapp Lodge, with my family. Lodge large plenty of room for 6 in a 2 bedroom lodge.
Food very good in hotel, also great cakes in bakery.
Indoor pool and hot tub large and great for swimming for adults and children open from 7am until 9pm.
Winter near ski slops, summer walking trails, and mountain biking.
Stow town close by with lots of shops and restaurants.
Try a beer they brew on site it's excellent.
No tv in bedrooms but movies every night in hotel.
Staff and service exellent great place for quite vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We traded a week of our Starwood Vacation for this lodge. What a horrible mistake. Our Starwood vacation places are modern, clean and very aesthetically pleasing. They come with a washer & dryer. These places are old, outdated and need major work. No TV in the bedroom. The kitchen is tiny with horrible lighting. The carpet is frayed. You have to get in the car and drive to a laundromat that costs over $5 when you factor in laundry detergent and Bounce. Although we have a week, we're leaving after 3
Days. It's an awful, awful place. Don't go there. We made such s mistake.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, Manager at Trapp Family Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Tanis D,

Thank you for taking the time to speak with me about your recent experience in our timeshare Guest Houses. From our conversation it was clear that there was a misunderstanding about what you were booking when you made your travel plans through Interval International, it is unfortunate that you were given incorrect information about the unit you would be staying in. I understand that you expected to be staying in one of our three bedroom Luxury Villas rather than a two bedroom timeshare unit.

We are pleased to offer a variety of lodging options for our guests and there are many unique differences between the two types of rental/exchange units on our inventory. It is imperative that a third-party agent be very specific when describing each to a perspective guest so that unfortunate situations such as the one you experienced can be avoided.

I have followed-up with the entity that arranged the exchange to ensure that this mistake does not happen again. I look forward to an opportunity to assist you with a future stay in our Villas, which I am sure will better meet the expectations you had when you booked your recent stay. I would also like to personally thank you for your willingness to return to our resort so that you can again experience the world class service for which we are known.

Best regards,

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was prepared for a simple lodge with a big name, but was truly surprised by the charm and authenticity of this little piece of history. The lodge is tucked into hill with some of the most beautiful scenery in this mountain location and it has all the hospitality to go with it. The hotel doesn't position itself as 5 star, instead preferring to rely on the charm of its low rise, lodge feel. Our suite had a wonderful wood burning fireplace...so cozy! The bar is especially fun, with a live pianist every night playing any favorites requested. And the food! We had two terrific meals in the main dining room - one was a grand Malbec wine dinner that paired 4 courses with some interesting Argentinian wines - they apparently do these types of things regularly. The next night was a romantic dinner looking out over the hills - exquisite filet and easily prepared with my gluten/dairy free request handled, no problem. We upgraded to one of the villas the second night we were there and were so impressed! Very modern, with soaring ceilings, contemporary kitchen, 2 BR, 3 baths, wrap porch, big deck, soaking tubs and a massive stone fireplace. Never wanted to leave. I had an amazing massage at the spa as well - simple setting but very reasonable pricing and one of the best I've had in a long time. Would love to go back.

Room Tip: As for a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a week at the trapp family guest houses, the room and view were amazing. Dining at their restaurant in the main lodge was excellent. All meals were made with fresh ingredients, they brew their own beer and wine. Staff and service were excellent. I great place for vacation

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.