We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Austrian Grandeur” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trapp Family Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trapp Family Lodge to your Saves list
Trapp Family Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Akron, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Austrian Grandeur”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

I love The Sound of Music so I have always wanted to stay at the Trapp Family Lodge. I got a change to on my honeymoon and it did not disappoint! The staff was nice, the room was great, the daily activities were fun. I just wish they were complimentary - we had to pay to take the history class. But the food in the main dining room was out of this world. I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We had a premiere room with a small balcony. It was very nice but the view was not great. It looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    181
    70
    44
    25
See reviews for
263
252
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I spent a week in one of the guest houses this past week.

There are four units in each of the chalet-type buildings, two on the first floor, two on the second. The view across the valley is stunning--a real plus.

But getting from the parking area to the unit was something more suited to a mountain goat than to a human being. If I counted right, there were 24 steps down and then 12 steps up--all, of course, outdoors. Fortunately, the weather was generally good, but I can't imagine what it would be like in the middle of the winter. In any case, moving in with a good deal of luggage and moving out with a good deal of luggage was a challenge.

The living room/dining room area of the unit was quite large--really too large in some respects because the chairs and the couch are at a considerable distance from the sole TV in the unit. The kitchen was well-equipped, but very, very small. There were two full bathrooms and two bedrooms, with sleeping also possible on a sofa. Although technically the units are said to sleep six, my impression was that a daybed in one of the bedrooms would accommodate another guest and that all that extra space in the living room/dining room area could easily allow another three or four people to camp out there (but it would be something else to feed many people from that tiny kitchen!).

Although there is no air conditioning, the Lodge did provide two fans (and, knowing that they didn't have air conditioning, we had brought one of our own). The casement windows opened and closed beautifully and did allow for a good breeze much of the time.

In some respects the interior of the unit was a disappointment. The color combinations were quite dull and drab and the pictures on the walls, while often attractive, seemed to clash with the rest of the decor.

We've stayed at dozens of timeshares over the years, but this was the only one we've been in which offered a wide variety of puzzles and other games and pretty much expected you to stoke up the fireplace: they offered matches, kindling, firewood itself by the fireplace, a bag to carry firewood to the unit, and a huge supply of firewood in the parking area. Nothing fake here and at no extra charge (some places do charge for this sort of amenity).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster, md
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Spent a week at Trapp in one of the Guest Houses this month. We own a week but have deposited it the last few years. The kitchen has been updated and the new flat screen/cable is great. Furniture looked a little worn in our unit. We`ve never stayed when it was hot so no A/C was never a problem, however this trip it was hot and humid on several days. There were two small portable fans in our unit. Marginal at best. May be time for some ceiling fans in the bedrooms and living room. Other than that a pretty good week.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We just returned from an event at the Trapp Family Lodge and "mixed" is the best review we can give this hotel. Having stayed all over the US and abroad, we've never quite seen a hotel as uneven in presentation. Don't get us wrong, the location is beautiful and the place is large, just a bit hard to navigate due to addition after addition being slapped on the original structure. It is also for the most part clean and inviting upon entry. The public areas are very bright and nicely furnished and the staff (except for a young blond male security guard who takes his role a tad too seriously) is very friendly from the moment of arrival.
Our major concern was the quality of our room, which Trapp calls "deluxe" and they get more than $200 a night for even off season (we take spring/summer to not be Stowe's season). We arrived to our room to find it a bit muggy. We went to adjust the air conditioning to discover the room doesn't have any! We were on the second floor it never occurred to us in 2012 to ask a hotel if they had air conditioning in all of their rooms. Well, they don't. The small fan they left on the main table should have been a hint. That is not to say the entire hotel is not air conditioned, it just seems to be the age of the wing you happen to be placed in that determines if you are blessed with it or not.
Then, we come to decor. We understand the theme is Austria, but even in Austria there is a word for "renovation". Our room said "1985" from top of bottom on wood colors, in paint colors, in lighting, etc. The harsh dated florescent lighting of the bathroom certainly did nothing for one's self esteem as you tried to get ready to go out under the most unflattering light possible. Then, there is the bathroom exhaust system that must be as old as the decor as the bathroom was equally steamy with it on or off.
I have included photos to detail the major concerns. From carpeting with spots on it well overdue to replacement, to wall stencils not quite ever finished to nightstands what were scratched on top and someone actually tried to color in with a marker (!!) instead of replace it, to a sofa that needed to be recovered long ago it was amazing this room had not been refurbished at some point.
We did see some lovely new areas of the hotel. We understand one wing is quite new and it was very nice. Others in our group raved about their rooms, but seemed to be on higher floors or newer areas. The owners need to regroup and bring the rooms in older areas as we stayed up to the level we saw elsewhere (and install air conditioning in every room!) or they shouldn't be asking more than $99 a night for these older rooms. We'd return, but we'd be sure to grill the staff on IF the room they were giving us had AC, when the rooms in that area were last redone (as it looks like 4 or 5 expansions have been done over time). Note, we reserved and paid for a full night months in advance of the event.. so this wasn't them finding space for us last minute. Enjoy, but ask questions.. inspect your room to make sure it's the standard they claim it should be and ask to me moved if it isn't. For what we paid, we should have had a room with AC and newer carpet and amenities.

Room Tip: As stated above, do some research. Be pleasant, but make sure you are not being put in one of the ol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

My husband surprised me with a vacation to a place I've always wanted to stay. .The directions to the lodge were very good. Check in to our guest house was fast . We were given extra information about the lodge and surrounding area which made getting around easier .The guest house was fresh smelling and clean . I know alot has been said about updating but this place is very charming with an old fashion flair. It felt like walking into my Grandparents home! A nice supply of wood with starters and matches made it inviting to get the fireplace going.The beds were comfortable .The TV is in the living area .We ate at the bakery and in the dining room . The staff was friendly and food was excellent.At dinner we were sitted by the windows and enjoyed the beautiful view while we ate.The pool house was great.The gamerooms, climbing wall and message areas are located here.The heated pool was cold the first time we were in and brought this to someones attention. The next time was good. The paths for walking are well marked as is the rest of the outside activities .You can do as much as you want or relax . We did both and look forward to going again.

Room Tip: there is no ceiling fans or air conditioning so you might want to bring a fan for warmer monthes
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The location of this lodge is so lovely and I can't wait to go back. I was first drawn by the SOM aspect, but after my third stay the family history isn't as much of a draw as the tranquility of the experience. There are miles of lovely hiking/nordic skiing trails, and it's fun to get lost in the woods (the trails are well marked) with just your thoughts and birds chirping. The rooms are comfortable - nothing fancy, although the rooms in the new wing aspire to fancy. The older rooms have charm but are probably due for rennovation. On my first stay I was in an older room overlooking the entry and it was noisy with vehicles and people coming and going. Since then I've paid more for the new wing but it's worth it. The one discouraging thing is it's hard to get a really quiet experience even in the new wing. The hvac system is kind of loud - there's always something humming or hissing. I've needed earplugs to sleep. Also, all the rooms in the new wing have connecting doors - so if this doesn't appeal to you you have been warned. There are lots of opportunities for exercise on the gorgeous property and a little gym. It's not Topnotch, but you can still lift a few weights and swim. (if they ever put in a real gym and spa I would stay for a month). The restaurant and lounge are pretty good but I wouldn't go to the hotel for the food. It's expensive and not the best. I travel to Austria frequently and love a good weinerschnitzel -- you'll find it on the menu at Trapp but it's a bit tough and not served in the traditional style - or maybe it's the American traditional style. The small brewery down the hill from the main lodge is a good choice if you want to grab a coffee, muffin and yogurt for breakfast, but it's a bit of a walk when it's cold and I wish there was somewhere to get a muffin or piece of fruit in the main lodge. As for the SOM fans, run don't walk to this lodge. The ambiance of the film is everywhere -- photos, posters, magazine covers in the rooms, edelweiss motifs galore. The best part for fans is the film shown several times daily about Maria's ( the real Maria von Trapp) last trip to Salzburg. It's absolutely delightful and brings a tear to the eye. She was quite a woman and I see the film every time I go. They give a daily history tour also not to be missed -- often conducted by a family member. I have to say it was a little thrill to meet the youngest child - Johannes von Trapp. He was charming and the family really knows how to market the SOM mystique. All in all, this lodge offers a unique and very nice experience and I strongly recommend a visit if you're traveling to Vermont.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I have always been a huge Sound of Music fan, so on my bucket list was a stay at the Trapp Family Lodge in Stowe, VT.
It met my expectations and even exceeded them.
First the hotel is an amazing location. It's located over Stowe with wonderful views of the hills and valley. You understand how the Trapp Family picked this wonderful location. It's not Salzburg, but boy is it great.
The front desk was helpful and friendly. We had a nice room towards the back of the hotel with a great area of grass and trees out our back door.
The hotel is a little confusing with mazes of halls and stair. It's easy to get lost.
Our room was large. The beds comfy. We had a small table and chairs. It looked very Austrian. It had lovely fresh flowers in the room and a small gift of local syrup to take home with us.
There is plenty to do here. You can hike the trails, go to local lectures, explore the gardens or even take a wagon ride around the woods. One night they had a camp fire with a lady playing the guitar and everyone roasted marshmallows and sang.
The food is delicious here. The service top rate and boy is it clean! I loved our stay here and can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Grab a lunch at the deli - try the beer that is made right here in the lodge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trapp Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trapp Family Lodge

Address: 700 Trapp Hill Rd, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#6 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Trapp Family Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harmony. A simple word that captures the essence of what makes Trapp Family Lodge and resort such a special place. Here in Stowe, Vermont you'll discover so many different experiences, activities and opportunities to enjoy your mountain escape. And yet all this remarkable variety - hiking, swimming, tennis, birding, cross-country skiing, meetings, weddings, an indoor spa, and more - lives in perfect harmony. A vacation here will leave you rested and refreshed. Recharged and reconnected. But most importantly, it will remind you of what's truly important. A magnificent 2,500 acre resort managed by the family that inspired The Sound of Music, this New England treasure is the perfect place for your next vacation. A little of Austria. A lot of Vermont. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Trapp Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trapp Family Hotel Stowe
Von Trapp Lodge
Trapp Lodge
Trapp Family Stowe
Von Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trapp Family Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.