We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topnotch is Stowe Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Topnotch Resort

Save Saved
You added Topnotch Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Topnotch Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   4000 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 23 hotels in Stowe
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Topnotch is Stowe Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stayed at Topnotch Resort for Memorial Day weekend. It was my first time in Stowe, Vermont and I wasn't quite sure what to expect. It is now safe to say, that Stowe is one of my favorite towns ever. This says a lot considering I've traveled to some amazing places in Europe.

Topnotch definitely made the experience memorable. The guest service was perfect- all of the staff was beyond friendly and knowledgeable. Check-in and check-out were seamless- no troubles. The property itself was beautiful - we had room 312 which gave us perfect views of the pool and Mt.Mansfield. The hotel concierge was very helpful with helping me plan a surprise weekend for my boyfriend. They definitely had a way of making me feel welcomed even prior to my arrival.

Activities in the area are plentiful and the only downside is that we didn't have enough time to do everything we wanted in one weekend (we will definitely be back). We rode bikes on the recreational path, drove up the toll road and hiked to the chin of Mt.Mansfield, checked out Bingham Falls, explored town, etc. The resort's website is great at helping you plan your stay.

The food at both The Roost and Flannel was delicious and fresh. The most noteworthy of course were the pancakes. Holy yum! I don't even like pancakes, but these were amazing. My boyfriend and I had them every morning we were there. We asked the chef for the recipe but it's a secret- and that is totally fine with us. We contemplate making the drive up from NYC just for the pancakes.
Noelle, our waitress at Flannel, was lovely. She has been with the hotel for many years so she was extremely knowledgeable of the area and gave great recommendations.
Also, I don't really like smores but being able to rmakes smores at the fire pit was an experience!

Stowe in general was fantastic. My boyfriend and I cannot wait to come back to Topnotch Resort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    319
    111
    50
    25
    14
See reviews for
133
224
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I've been coming to this resort for years and I have to say that since the renovations, they have switched their focus and are not as good for families anymore.

It seems that they are more concerned with attracting people without kids to their bars than they are with the upkeep of their facilities.

I noticed that the once luxurious pool and hot tub are showing signs of disrepair. Tiles missing, etc. A bandaid I noticed left on hot tub deck was still there the next day. Gross!

I can understand if they want to distinguish themselves as a more hip, singles type resort but don't be surprised when your family clientele stops coming.

Also, I'm pretty sure that people without kids would want a clean, kept up pool, hot tub, etc. not just a happening bar scene. Especially at these prices!

With so many other options in Stowe, we will have to look elsewhere

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We just returned from 3 days at Top Notch and it was amazing. It is peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. The staff is thoughtful and gracious. From the check in experience with Brian who was warm and welcoming to drinks poolside with Amanda who was friendly and informative about things to do in Stowe we could not have felt more at home. Carol (concierge) was so helpful -- great suggestions for hikes and restaurants. We had a blast. We ate dinner in Roost (really fun -- kids loved it) - Lilly was great - attentive and helpful.

The villa we had was clean, upscale and comfortable -- who would have thought we needed a fireplace in July - but with the storms and low temps at night it was a great amenity.

HIGHLY recommend this resort for a family (or couples) get away. We will return soon!

Room Tip: We loved the villas -- 533 was really well appointed, comfortable and we did not want to leave!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at TopNotch Resort on business but was pleasantly surprised by the excellent service and flawless attention to every detail that goes to differentiate this as an excellent venue for family vacation or a corporate retreat. An absolute thumbs for TopNotch Resort and Spa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit since renovations. Room never made up, air conditioner did not work, pool ran out of towels twice and staff appeared put upon when asked for more; no place to buy an essential like dental floss. Only store a "SPA boutiique".... Also, upper (adult) pool was closed to add a cabana deck on a very busy Fri afternoon-- family pool teeming AND signs up saying it would close at 3 for a private party (which luckily never materialized)......
The resort remains amazingly beautiful; restaurants were excellent. Service needs some work.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent the past weekend at Top Notch Resort and could not have been more pleased.
The staff was exceptional….helpful and exceedingly pleasant. We ate at the 2 places there and the food was excellent…The Roost (bar and light food) and Flannel…again service tops.
The resort has been updated very recently. Our room clean, good sized and airy. They have a spa, indoor pool and 2 outdoor pools which, because of time, we were not able to take advantage of. The landscaping is appropriate to the area and well done.
We felt Top Notch is elegant/rustic. All that has been done to update the resort is tops.
If we ever return to that area, we would go back. We are very happy to give it a 4+ to 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We experienced excellent, friendly customer service, delicious and healthy gourmet food, and thoughtful and well trained employees in this newly updated resort. We made arrangements for our dog to stay with us and found the resort to be very welcoming to her.
This is a clean and well maintained resort beautifully set in the mountains with a lot to do. A wonderful place to relax and nurture the soul.

Room Tip: Dog accessible rooms are on the first floor and were excellent in all ways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Topnotch Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topnotch Resort

Address: 4000 Mountain Road, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
#3 Business Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Topnotch Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Created in the grand tradition of New England hotels, where hospitality plays front and center,Topnotch Resort is a newly-rennovated hotel whose relaxed elegance and timeless character define what alpine luxury should be. Here, in a pristine wooded estate, guests find distinctive resort accommodations, imaginative dining, thoughtful touches, and welcoming smiles – as well as one of nature’s most spectacular displays. All just moments from the legendary terrain of Stowe Mountain and the picture-perfect village of Stowe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Jetsetter, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Topnotch Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Topnotch Hotel Stowe
Top Notch Resort
Top Notch Spa
Top Notch At Stowe
Topnotch Resort Stowe, Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Topnotch Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.