We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Golden Eagle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski, Ride & Stay Package
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Charming Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2005

We stayed in a Superior Room at the Golden Eagle Resort in Stowe over two nights in the last week of October 2005. It was the period when Hurricane Wilma became a nor'easter and caused quite a lot of snow in Vermont and largely blanketed the fall foliage. Quite a bummer, since our trip was primarily for the fall foliage, but we made the best of it.

The resort was a stone's throw from many restaurants lining Mountain Road. The room we got was right next to the lobby (room 105 if I remember correctly). It had a musky smell when we first stepped in, but it soon dissipated after we left the veranda door opened for a while. The room came with TV, air-conditioning and a refrigertor. It was clean, but I won't say spick and span. The bathroom was really tiny - imagine the space of a typical bathtub, the toilet right beside it and the remaining space for the door to swing open, and that's the total bathroom area. The sink was outside the bathroom, which was a lil' bit odd. The rest of the room was, however, rather spacious and more than enough for the two of us.

The daily breakfast was at the Colonial Cafe a short walk to the other end of the resort. Breakfast consisted of eggs, waffles, sausages, maple syrup and other typical breakfast ingredients whipped up in a myriad of different ways and combinations. Service was prompt and polite, even though I think they were shorthanded on our last day.

No major complaints, great place to stay and a decent rate.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    266
    81
    22
    16
See reviews for
257
268
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2005

We stayed at the Golden Eagle on Oct. 28, 2005. We chose a 2 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath for our family. There was plenty of room and was a good choice for our needs. The condo was very out of date and, like one of the other reviewers, we were a little disappointed with the upkeep. It was generally clean, though. The staff was very friendly. We swam in the indoor pool, which could have used a little more ventilation, but was acceptable.

We ate breakfast at the Golden Eagle Cafe. The food wasn't bad, but nothing to write home about. If we ever stay there again, we'll try breakfast somewhere else.

The pizza place next door to where we stayed is excellent (although their staff was a bit rude). We took the pizza back to our condo, so I can't comment on their service.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2005

We took our young family to the Golden Eagle Resort. (ages 5 , 2 , and 15 months.) We stayed in an efficency appartment with two bedrooms, a small kitchen, living room and a bathroom. The location of the appartment was wonderful( close to all restaurants and shopping.) However we were a little disapointed at the upkeep of the apartment. For the price we paid I was expecting something alittle bit more up to date and modern. Overall the golden Egale was clean, the staff were always friendly, and we enjoyed our stay in beautiful Stowe.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

We stayed at the Golden Eagle last week with our 2 and 4 year old children. The weather wasn't that great but there was PLENTY for the kids to do! They have a wonderful playground, indoor pool, game room, it kept the kids busy! The location is also perfect - minutes from downtown Stowe. The people who worked there were wonderful, it was clean and really homey. We will be going back again!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth MA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2005

The Golden Eagle is great. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast restaurant was clean and inviting. Good food. I would go back anytime. Great for senior citizens and families. I would give it a 10!!! Close to Village and Recreation path. Had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2005

My husband and I went to Stowe for a romantic getaway for our first anniversary. We had never been to Vermont before, but we had read about Golden Eagle Resort on Trip Advisor. It turned out to be perfect for us. Our room had a whirlpool tub and fireplace, as well as a veranda overlooking a beautiful pond and gazebo. The breakfast was very good (very fresh ingredients!), and the staff were extremely kind and helpful. I had a fabulous massage in the fitness center with Errol; in fact it was so good that I immediately scheduled another right away for the next day. The pool area was nicely kept up, with a beautiful view overlooking the mountains. (Since the weather was nice, we didn't go in the indoor pool, but it looked very nice as well.)

All in all, a wonderful, relaxing long weekend in Vermont. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2005

This little motel was the cutest, cleaniest place. The staff was very friendly and accomodating.The recreation facilities were very nice. I would definalty stay there again and would recommend to anyone going to Stowe.

  • Stayed September 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds. Shuttle to ski area in winter. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.