We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Golden Eagle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Polk County, FL
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A nice place to stay, convenient to the things we wanted to do in Stowe and a much better price than many of the other hotels/resorts. The breakfast, which was included in the price, was outstanding. The room was very clean but the only thing I didn't like was the smell of the cleaning solution--just my personal pet peeve. Our bonus was the 1.5" of snow that we found when we got up the next morning. It was so pretty outside!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    278
    87
    24
    17
See reviews for
266
279
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for our first time based on family recommendation, previously I was dead set on staying at one of the much more pricey lodges. While some may call it "dated"' we found it to have a very warm, welcoming, comfortable ambiance that is well maintained, and clean. We saved a lot of money while getting an excellent, if not better, experience than some of the pricier "upper scale" lodges. We are already planning our next trip to Vermont and this will be the place we will stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A beautiful, quite and friendly place. Perfect for a romantic getaway. The staff is extremely helpful, and kind. The massage therapist are amazing and a must. Right next to a lot of great places to eat at. Can't wait to go back some time soon.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Golden Eagle Resort. The resort is located just a short walk to the center of town. We stayed in one of the dog friendly rooms. The room was very comfortable and clean. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room which was also a nice feature. We plan on returning in the spring with our extended family.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We truly enjoyed our one night stay at the Golden Eagle and wished we could have spent more time there. The location is convenient for walking to shops and restaurants, the rooms are spacious, clean, well-kept and old-school - but in a good, charming way. You really must go for breakfast at the restaurant regardless of whether you stay at the resort because the food is delicious and the staff are extremely friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Had a 2 night stay here in early October with wonderful sunny weather. It is a resort so several different buildings. Our particular unit was a little dark with the bathroom at the back of the unit. They had renovated the bathroom with good lighting to make up for the darkness in the room itself. There was a nice porch at door to sit out on also other little spots to sit out at around the resort. Clearly a good place for children. It was busy and I think they had most of their rooms rented. We were able to walk to the nice walking trail that Stowe has right from the resort. We had breakfast at their restaurant on one morning also which was fine. Only real disappointment was we were traveling in one car with another couple and they placed us about as far away as possible with our friends being on the other side of the road, quite a little walk away. I did mention it on check out. Overall a good stay

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked the Golden Eagle through a Living Social deal that was 2 nights in a fireplace room with a bottle of wine and $25 spa credit - and we loved it! I believe we ended up getting what others have described as a mini-suite with fireplace and jacuzzi tub - it certainly didn't seem mini to me!

This was my first time in Vermont, and we went during "stick season" and despite its name and the lull between summer/fall and the winter ski season - it was a wonderful time! The Golden Eagle was EXTREMELY accommodating of our Living Social deal and were so nice when it came to booking our room.

The room itself was very large and comfortable. The bed was great, the bathroom was clean and everything worked correctly, and the fireplace was wonderful for the chilly days/nights. The only minor downside would be that the room was mildly outdated - I felt like I was staying at my Grandma's, but I think it was just the Vermont ski town charm.

My boyfriend and I took advantage of our spa credit for us to each get our first-ever professional massage. It was extremely easy to book - we called the night before and got our choice of times. Granted, this may be due to it being the off-season, but it was very nice for us. I was a little wary when we showed up when the girl at the front desk said they were out of robes because the laundry person hadn't come in, and only one of the massage therapists was there (we showed up 15 minutes early, as the brochure suggested). But it turned out being a WONDERFUL experience and our massage therapists were both very good and made us comfortable - it was absolutely worth the money, even without the $25 credit.

There are so many shops and restaurants within walking distance or a short drive of the resort- the location and amount of things to do just can't be beat.

Overall, I would absolutely go back to the Golden Eagle in Stowe - it was comfortable, affordable, and had everything we were looking for.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds. Shuttle to ski area in winter. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.