We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best breakfast in town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe

Save Saved
You added Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Advanced Booking Special!
Ranked #6 of 23 hotels in Stowe
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
“The best breakfast in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

My husband and I have been going to the Golden Eagle for many years. We live in the Eastern Townships, just 45 minutes to the border. When we want a quiet weekend we prefer to travel to northern Vermont rather than fight the traffic through Montreal or north to Quebec City. The trip is beautiful and a pleasant way to start a long weekend. We often make the trip with friends and on occasion just get away for a night or two. The walking trails are close and the staff are always welcoming and pleasant. The resort is getting a little old but more than meets our needs. We may even bring the dog the next trip.

Room Tip: The rooms near the main entrance have a great porch at the rear. Nice for sitting out before supper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    310
    230
    73
    17
    14
See reviews for
217
232
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dighton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was our second visit to the Golden Eagle Resort. The first time we stayed in a premier mini-suite, but this time opted for saving a little money by going with the mini-suite with jacuzzi and fireplace. The room was smaller than the premier, but still provided wonderful accommodations with fireplace, jacuzzi, and a balcony over-looking the pond. I cannot say enough about the Golden Eagle, it truly offers everything. From activities, friendliness, affordability and excellent rooms. You can tell that this resort is privately owned and operated as they pay close attention to the details of their property. We ended-up visiting Stowe this year during their restaurant week, which made the stay even better. I would highly recommend the resort to anyone looking for a quality visit to Stowe.

Room Tip: The mini-suites and premier mini-suites are an excellent option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stowe is a beautiful area to visit and golden eagle is in a great spot for those activities. It did seem more like a nice motel than a resort, however, staff were very helpful and professional. There were renovations (new roof on one building and cutting of a tree) going on so it was noisy after 8am. We had access directly from our room to a lawn where we were able to play Frisbee with our dog. There are also many great walking trails nearby.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The room was very clean and neat. The employees were friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was filling and delicious. Although we did not use the indoor pool it looked very enticing.
Next visit we would definitely use the pool. Geat stay.

Room Tip: We had a beautiful view of the mountains and a small pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We booked our two night stay with a Living Social deal however we paid for an upgrade to a Premier Suite. The deal included a free bottle of wine and a $25 voucher towards the spa. Our room was very clean, large and comfortable. We had breakfast at the Colonial Café one morning. The service was very friendly. The breakfast was very average and over priced. The spa facilities are great. I did call a week prior and spoke to the spa manager to book two 90 minute massages. I explained to him that our insurance pays for a portion of the massages and that we need "official receipts" from their licensed massage therapies. It was a lot of work to get the receipts. It wasn't something that they were asked for before. We are hoping that the receipts supplied will be sufficient. Despite this annoyance, we enjoyed our stay at the Golden Eagle Resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This was not our first visit to the Golden Eagle, however, it was our first time staying in the Tall Timbers cabin of the resort. It was perfect! I loved the cabin, the surroundings, the peace and quiet. I would definitely stay there again, and I would definitely stay in any suite at the Golden Eagle!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, can't go wrong in choosing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This set up reminds me of a very superior motel in a good location with wonderful amenities. It was within easy walking distance of Stowe and in its own grounds, so was beautifully quiet. I cannot make a comment about value for money as we visited for 3 nights with a touring group.

Loads of good things going for it ....... the staff were friendly and helpful. Clean, small swimming pool with 2 free towels. Well maintained sauna and hot-tub. Gym with helpful instructor at the desk. Lovely grounds and lots of places to park. The reception area and lounge was welcoming with hot drinks all day and biscuits in the afternoon. Our room was very large and even had a fridge. Fantastic TV. Writing desk, in fact, everything you could need.

Two aspects of the bedroom do need addressing. Firstly, the smell of toilet duct was overpowering, really bad. I mentioned this to the deputy manager and she said that "sometimes the water company flush through the system". Although the smell dissipated over the 3 days I could still smell it. Secondly, the bedding needed renewing. The sheets were worn thin and the blanket had a hole in it.

I do not feel that I can make a proper judgement about breakfast because I only had toast but other members of our party said that service was muddled and slow. Breakfast was in the café which was a pleasant walk from the chalet.

I am sorry that I can't give this accommodation more than 'average' but the linen and the smell have dragged my rating down.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe

Address: 511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#4 Family Hotel in Stowe
#6 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on 40 acres at the edge of Stowe Village. Family owned and operated by 2 generations of "Vermont Innkeepers of the Year." Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds. Shuttle to ski area in winter. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Vermont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Resort at Stowe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.