We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Golden Eagle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20% today!
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Nice welcome and very helpful when asked for recommendations of where to eat.
Rooms comfortable and clean. Wifi signal was good
Breakfast at Colonial café was fine with good and friendly service
It unfortunately poured with rain while we were here

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We're pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Golden Eagle and found the staff, rooms and breakfast all to your liking. Now if only we could do something about all this rain!
Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    290
    93
    24
    22
See reviews for
276
294
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have been staying at the Golden Eagle for years. We are Vermonters, pass holders, but we always spend time at the Golden Eagle for a quick getaway. Awesome Breakfasts. Great Staff. Pet Friendly rooms. Coffee and Wine in the reception area. We stayed in the Tall Timbers room for the first time this past winter and it was great! Cozy, great access to the trails. Perfect! We will be back next winter. I don't have a bad thing to say about the Golden Eagle. We send all our friends to the Golden Eagle!

Room Tip: All good rooms... even the Pet Friendly rooms. Tall Timbers Cottage is Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nvd_stowe_vt, Owner at Golden Eagle Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for all your nice comments about the Golden Eagle.
Glad you enjoyed Tall Timbers - we just put in a new sofa which we think you will enjoy on your next visit!
Neil Van Dyke
President & General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed at the Golden Eagle for two years running on my annual ski trips to Vermont. Their room rates are more than reasonable and I love the fact that the hotel is a "motor inn", where you don't have to lug your skis and bags through a lobby and down long hallways. It's wonderful to have on-site amenities such as a pool and spa. And the mountain shuttle stops very close by. When I checked out, they offered me a 20% discount for next year so they'd be assured I would stay with them (I usually book through Priceline Name Your Own Price, which means you don't get a choice of hotel). All of the staff here are warm and friendly, which in turn shows how good their management is.

On a personal note, as a Christmas present I was given a stay at a very "fancy" hotel/resort further up Mountain Rd. for my 2013 trip. I found myself missing the Golden Eagle for its down-to-earth atmosphere and location in the middle of the action in Stowe Village. Essentially, the Golden Eagle felt like my home-for-a-week, whereas the other place felt like a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SacramentoCA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I live in California and visit New England every summer with kids to see family. We've stayed in Stowe multiple times because I like to do Ben & Jerry's, have some apple cider donuts and do the Stowe alpine slide with the kids. We've stayed in multiple spots in Stowe/Middlebury, but I like the Golden Eagle best. Here's why...

- The "campus" - I love the open feeling of the property with its athletic and recreational endeavors. Clay tennis courts, outdoor pool, playground, horseshoes, and pond are great for my city kids to enjoy in good weather. The indoor pool, spa, gym and game room take over when it's raining or too dark. I love walking over to the "lobby" (I want to say lodge) and grabbing coffee in the morning, sitting for a spell (some may say escaping) and checking email on their computer.

- The rooms - All the rooms I've stayed in are spacious and feature comforting amenities. Nothing truly fancy, but for the price I see great value. The beds are comfy and I like having a patio to read, keep my eye on the kids and enjoy proximity to the woods in comfort. We showed up once 10 years ago and got an upstairs, in the back (behind the lobby) room. I remember being EXTREMELY tired and the AC wasn't beating the heat. We were staying for only that night and roughed it out. Still, I came back without hesitation.

The restaurant offers basic fare and I found better down the street. But convenience can make it worth it!!! The funny thing was the waitress offered us instructions to get to Burlington's airport (trying to not take the highway) and said it was the same driving time. OK, that is not true. However, it was a beautiful ride so if you can swing it without being in cardiac arrest the whole drive, do it.

I look forward to visiting again in 2013!

Room Tip: I like the ground level rooms alongside the southern entrance that face the pool building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Golden Eagle. We have been in two different types of rooms - the 2 Queen room and the 1 King with a Jaccuzzi bath. The rooms are immaculate. The staff is so friendly and accommodating. We take the room plan with the breakfast. Great breakfast - choice of hot/cold cereal, eggs, pancakes, etc. Delicious and plenty to eat. I am a AAA employee in Northern New Jersey and have sent several families to the Golden Eagle. This will always be our "home base" when we visit our son in Stowe.

Room Tip: If you are a short person, the Jaccuzzi bath is a bit difficult to get into and out of. I'm 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, NH
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great location, just off the main street in town, with plenty of restaurants still in walking distance. The resort is older, and motel style, but very well maintained. Our room was immaculate. The check in staff was efficient, helpful, and friendly. We arrived in the pouring rain. Despite this, the employee who checked us in walked us outside to show us what building our room was in, where to park, etc.
Our package had breakfast included in it in the resort's onsite restaurant. The Colonial Cafe was nothing fancy, but the food was pretty good, service was friendly and quick, and the prices on the menu appeared reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to Stowe for a couple days to ski this winter and stayed at the Golden Eagle Resort. The rooms offered all the expected basics and were neat and clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. They also offer full breakfast at their own restaurant. There are plenty of amenities (pools, sauna, etc) for winter and summer stays. The hotel is right on the access road to the ski mountain--you can drive, or take the local shuttle. It is within walking distance to the village, and there are plenty of varied restaurant choices along the mountain road. There's a great Irish Pub right across the street with plenty of local beers on tap and some yummy menu choices! I booked my trip though a ski tour operator I know and he uses this place all the time for his clients, so he also thinks it's a great place!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stowe hotels
6.0 mi away
Stowe Mountain Lodge
2.7 mi away
Trapp Family Lodge
Trapp Family Lodge
#9 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sun & Ski Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Commodores Inn
Commodores Inn
#13 of 24 in Stowe
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
3.4 mi away
Northern Lights Lodge
0.5 mi away
Green Mountain Inn
Green Mountain Inn
#1 of 24 in Stowe
4.5 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#8 Family Hotel in Stowe
#8 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds and complimentary WiFi. Shuttle service to downtown and ski area. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. A variety of rooms are available which include standard guest rooms, suites, cabin rentals and house rentals. Golden Eagle Resort is also walking distance to downtown shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.