We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Golden Eagle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski, Ride & Stay Package
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
South Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We spent one night at this hotel and wish we had more time. The rooms were clean and quaint. Loved the balcony-like space outside our room. Lovely to sit and read. It was great to sleep with the door opened to enjoy the fresh and quiet air. The rooms were very clean.
Loved the grounds, absolutely beautiful. Outdoor pool was very nice affording great views. Indoor pool and jacuzzi lovely too. The hotel staff was personable and friendly. Wish we had more time in this gem and will definitely come back. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    266
    81
    22
    16
See reviews for
256
268
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our family had a very pleasant 3 day stay at the Golden Eagle over Labor Day weekend. The resort has number of amenities for people of all ages. We swam in both the indoor and outdoor pools, used the sauna and (very) hot tub, played tennis and tried to catch fish in the two small ponds (no luck). There was a wine and cheese tasting one afternoon. There was coffee in the office every morning and cookies and iced tea every afternoon. This place is not especially modern or fancy, but we had lots to do for an excellent price. The Labor Day weekend included free breakfast each day. The whole trip cost about $340 - $350 total for three nights for a family of four. I thought it was an outstanding value. I recommend the Golden Eagle over expensive or boring hotels which I have visited elsewhere.

Room Tip: Most rooms seemed to have nice views of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We booked a room here online and the room was exactly as shown. The check-in service was quick and friendly and thebbed was very comfortable. The only issue we had was that our room had an odd smell. Luckily, I pack Febreeze in my car. The morning front desk clerk didn't seem overly concerned about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had friends getting married at the Stowe Mountain Lodge last weekend and we didn't want to break the bank with the prices there, so the alternative, more reasonably priced accommodation suggested by the Bride / Groom was the Golden Eagle Resort. We couldn't have been happier in the 2 BR Suite we booked. The common facilities of the resort were great: Sauna, indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tub. There were a lot of other common facility offerings, we just didn't have time to get to them.

The property is a little bit dated overall, but quite charming. The price was very reasonable. For 4-6 people, the 2 BR Suite would be a great option. If you have 6, everyone will need to draw straws to see who sleeps on the pull out, or bring an air mattress.

Overall, it is a lovely option in a beautiful part of the country. Would stay there again!

Room Tip: Book a 2 BR Suite for more room across the street from the main lodge and facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked the Golden Eagle for a last-minute summer getaway near home. Check-in was easy and friendly. The room was a bit dated, though clean. There is a wall-mounted soap dispenser in the bathroom, which had a bath/commode room plus a sink room, so two people can use the facilities at once without being in the same room. The room air conditioning worked, but did not get very cold, even with the dials turned to the maximum.

Breakfast the next morning in the main restaurant, the Colonial Cafe, was tasty and fresh, though a bit on the high side. We really enjoyed walking around the neat and quiet grounds. The hotel is located very close to downtown Stowe with all of the little shops and restaurants in the town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

We arrived in Stowe and no idea where to stay! We went to the information center and so helpful! The women took care of the reservation and asked all the right question to get us the best rate!! Love it it's so nice & friendly! A great spot to stop

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I recently celebrated our 14th wedding anniversary and decided at the last minute that a little overnight away from home was in order. We didn't want to travel too far (we live in N.H.), so we decided that Stowe might be a good spot. We adore the Austrian inspired cuisine and atmosphere of The Trapp Family Lodge, but felt that the accomodations were a wee bit posh, not to mention pricey for one night away from home, so we made dinner reservations there and started looking for a more economical option for overnight accomodations.
Additionally, it is not too far from wonderful Burlington and all that city has to offer.
Enter the Golden Eagle Resort.
For roughly half the price we would have paid at TFL, we secured a very nice room with a private balcony overlooking a little pond and a king bed. We requested a more private location and a late check-out and were graciously accomodated on both counts.
We arrived in the late afternoon and were quickly checked in by a very nice front desk fellow named Mark, who pointed us in the direction of our room.
It was perfect! Just far enough out back that we heard virtually nothing but the wind and the birds. From our little balcony, complete with 2 chairs and a table, we could see the mountains in the distance, including some of the trails on nearby Stowe Mountain Ski Resort. There was plenty of room to relax and a fair sized bathroom as well.
They even included a small gift packet including cheese and crackers, Vermont maple syrup and some candies. Nice touch.
The resort has many activities nearby, including walking and biking trails, onsite indoor and outdoor pools, gameroom and a small breakfast restaurant.
We spent the morning of our departure beside the outdoor pool surrounded by mountains and trees and had the place entirely to ourselves.
Heavenly on this perfect summer morning!
Had a nice swim and felt completely rejuvenated.
I highly recommend this resort and cannot say enough about their helpful and service oriented staff.
A great find in a vacation hot spot town that can be notoriously expensive.

Room Tip: Ask for privacy and you shall receive! Rooms around back tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds. Shuttle to ski area in winter. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.