We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of stuff to do” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Golden Eagle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski, Ride & Stay Package
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of stuff to do”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We brought a bus load of people here in January 2012 and was very pleased with everything. The rooms were lovely, comfy, etc. They had a heated pool in the spa building which also had a hot tub and sauna. We had full breakfasts in their "cafe" and also had a group dinner one night, which was buffeet style, and everyone ate well. The desserts were a real treat. The resort had snow shoes avavilable to guests and the location of the hotel was only 1/2 mile from downtown Stowe, an easy walk. Access to Stowe mountain was easy as there is a shuttle bus that stops at the hotel. Being xcountry skiers, the recreation trail was a short walk away. Regardless of the number in your group, the resort was very accommodating on all our requests. We will definitely stay here on our next trip to Stowe.

Room Tip: All rooms were quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    266
    81
    22
    16
See reviews for
256
268
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

This was the second year in a row we have stayed at the Golden Eagle
Resort and rented multiple rooms. We enjoy going to Stowe for the skiing and atmosphere and this resort is perfect for most of our needs. There are no real complaints about the rooms except they do need to be updated. The breakfast and service at the cafe is awesome and definitely one of the best breakfast places in Stowe!! After a long day of skiing we enjoyed going to sit in the hot tub but were greeted by a very rude and unfriendly girl name Elizabeth who worked in the "spa" building. We were hoping to have a few glasses of wine to help relax but were told it was against the rules!! We found that outrageous and to top it off the whole spa building closes at 9!! We are already trying to think about where we will be staying next year, because it probably will not be here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to Stowe for years and have stayed at most of the hotels in the area. golden eagle is clean, and always a nice place to stay. Breakfast is really good in a really nice building. I just dont get why the pool/playroom closes at 9 pm. We just about get back from dinner and its always closed. So there is nothing to do except sit in the room and do whatever you do in your room. In that respect, other inns may be more desireable. We have stayed there for the last few years on our visits, so i guess the price is right.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

At first we were shocked to find out that we would be staying in a dated, motel style place at Stowe, but the motel style is actually good for skiers since it is so easy haul your gear in and out of the room to the car parked a few feet away. The tradeoff is the cold walk back from the swimming pool building with a wet head.
The room was clean, the service was good, the breakfast was excellent, so overall no complaints. Another advantage of a dated room is the heating system. The room has forced hot water heat, so it is nearly silent, a nice change from the typical hotel fan-driven heater/AC unit.
Also, the location of this hotel is great. About a 15 minute walk to Stowe center on a bike path and a 5 minute walk to restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Have been staying at the Golden Eagle with spouse and two children for years, both summer and winter.

Staff are always professional and helpful.

Love the breakfasts, many choices and will accommodate special requests.

Many options for recreation on site or nearby. Try snowshoeing on the extensive trails on the resorts property.

Indoor and outdoor pool options.

My only complaint would be the decor in the rooms need updating, freshening up and the gym needs some updated equipment, even some heavier dim bells would be nice.

Will always make the Golden Eagle our family friendly choice in Stowe.

Room Tip: There are many room options, booking on line is fine but I usually call and request a specific room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My husband and I spent a long Christmas weekend to ski in Stowe. The room and bathroom are decent sizes. Bathroom is equipped w/ everything, though in gym-style dispensers and a very weak hair dryer.
Good location, and the shuttle buses drives through their driveway that you can take for free to go to Stowe. Very convenient.
We really liked the breakfast cafe. Very friendly and the food was pretty good. And they open at 7AM.
However, those 6 days we stayed, there was no WiFi. They told us that it was 'broken.'

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We have visited Stowe during both the summer and winter months and almost every time we have stayed at the Golden Eagle. It's nothing fancy. In fact, the rooms are very bland and a bit outdated. However, the value is great. There is an indoor pool and small workout area. There's also a games room, with a pool table and ping pong table. When our kids were little, they participated in the children's programs which they enjoyed, and now that they are teenagers, they like the freedom of hanging out in the lounge or games room on their own if they wish. One night a week there is movie night for the kids so that the parents can go out for dinner on their own. We always book the package that includes breakfast from a menu that has enough variety to meet all our needs. The resort is well located inStowe with easy access to the major recreational path. Great cycling on the area during the summer and awesome skiing in the winter.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a larger room. Last year, we waited too long and ended up with 2 adjoining ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Stowe
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#5 Business Hotel in Stowe
#6 Family Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds. Shuttle to ski area in winter. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.