We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Eagle Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Eagle Resort to your Saves list
Golden Eagle Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Stowe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mayaguez, Puerto Rico
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

We stayed at this place on the weekend of 11/16/2007 and were very pleased with everything.The rooms are a little worn out but very clean and spacious.
The breakfast is a la carte,and pretty good.Our rate included breakfast.
The location is very convenient but do not come without a car.
Be sure to have dinner early since all places close early.
It is an extremely quiet town.
The staff is very helpful.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    278
    87
    24
    17
See reviews for
266
278
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

We stayed at the Golden Eagle for one night in late October 2007. While the resort did not look too appealing from the outside, the interior was a different story.

The reception area was clean, warm and welcoming. We arrived in Stowe at 1pm and decided to ask if we could leave our car and if by chance our room was ready - it was not, although they offered to let us have a less attractively located room at that time. We were told our original room choice would be ready at 3PM. We returned at 3:10PM and were told our room was still not ready. I was annoyed at this point, because September 28 (our arrival date) is now in low season and with such low occupancy, the room should have been ready. We returned again at 3:50PM and this time it was ready!

The room, I have to say more than made up for the wait. It was in the Terrace Wing, Second Floor with a nice balcony and was huge, spacious, spotlessly clean and airy. I would have to say that this was the nicest room we have had in Stowe (from some 15 to 20 visits) and definitely worth the extra money we spent.

Location wise this is definitely the best location we have stayed in so far in this lovely town. It is right next door to Mr. Pickwicks (an English style bar and restaurant), across the street from a seafood restaurant and very close to McCarthy's (a good breakfast spot) and the Stowe cinema. also there is a breakfast restaurant on site, but unfortunately it closes at 10AM during the week off-season, so we had to go elsewhere. I would add that the resort is also a five minute walk from the wonderful Stowe recreation path and an easy walk to the village, either via rge recreation path or on the main Mountain Road.

As our stay was only for one night, we did not use any other facilities on-site, but were very comfortable in our room.

We will definitely return to the golden Eagle Resort. The delay in check-in was the only possible negative about our stay. otherwise it would have merited a perfect score!

  • Liked — The room
  • Disliked — Delay in getting checked in
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We went to try some spring skiig which did not work well, but the hotel is great. Breakfast is really good, and the location(as long as you have a car )is great. Rooms are a little worn but nice size For the night meal the restaurant they send you to is across the street. It is good but pretty expensive. All in all I would think for the area it is the best unless you want to really spend a lot more money.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Golden Eagle. We had a deluxe king room in the Terrace Wing. We were extremely pleased with the condition and cleanliness of the resort and our room. The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed walking around the lovely property. Although we did not use all the facilities, we thought that they had alot to offer for the price we paid. The indoor pool was very nice and they had a nice game room with a pool table, ping pong table and video games. . The breakfast was also very good and we thought the location was great. We would definately stay there again if we were to return to this area.

  • Liked — the condition of the property
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

We booked this hotel by chance through Priceline. To be fair, we only stayed one night as we were on a quick jaunt through Vermont on an extended weekend. The grounds are well kept and the building that houses the resort's reception is cozy. I would think there is probably potential and/or better rooms available than what we had. But we did have quite a few small annoyances that didn't correspond with the amount of money we paid for a room here... A lot of money for a very mediocre stay!
Upon check-in, we were told we were upgraded to a pond-side suite. (A tour bus took up all the standard rooms...I'm thinking perhaps the standard rooms were nicer!)
The pond-side suites are something like a two-story duplex, with four rooms in the building, off the side of a gravel road. We were on the bottom half of this building and could hear people talking from various rooms and stomping/walking all night long from the upstairs rooms.
There was a drip somewhere in the structure of the building's plumbing, and it was running somewhere in the wall close to the bed we were in. Dripping noises all night added to the bed's sqeuaky headboard/springs.
The room was SUPER musty...there was even a dehumidifier in the room for you to run. It was not pleasant smelling in the least.
There was a hottub in the middle of the room which I think led to some of the mustiness...if you use it, it inevitably makes the carpeting wet.
The heat is run through the baseboard, so if you arrive and it's not on, it takes a while to heat up. There was a gas fireplace that did put off some heat, but it, too had problems. It wouldn't shut off as my husband and I pressed the power button continuously...it eventually did, but something that is gas-powered should obviously be in proper working condition!
The bathroom amenities were ZERO. There was soap out of dispensers glued to the walls in the shower and above the sink. The hairdryer was literally out of a 1970's health club...remember grandma's hose-style hairdryers with a bonnet? They're not too far off of that!
All in all, I would try here again, but I'd make sure I was somewhere else than one of these suites.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

This is a wonderful, peaceful , friendly place to stay while in Stowe. All staff members were very friendly and helpful. Our standard room was clean and comfortable. The resort's location is convenient to the town and ski areas. It is fairly close to town - people accustomed to walking could easily walk into town. The Colonial Cafe is on the grounds and serves breakfast daily. There are restaurants conveniently located for lunch or dinner. (The Pie in the Sky is right across the road and is reasonably priced.) A modern exercise facility and spa is available, as well as an outdoor play area for children. There are ponds for fishing and a very nice outdoor pool. Trails meander through the property for hiking. Every afternoon cookies and coffee/tea/hot chocolate are available in the main lodge. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay at The Golden Eagle Resort. We wish we could have stayed longer. I will definitely stay at the Golden Eagle again if/when I return to the Stowe area.

  • Liked — Friendly and clean
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

I love the golden eagle. It is very cute and the staff is very friendly. The rooms are by no means lavish, it reminds me more of a bed and breakfast then a resort. I would definitely stay here again.h

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Eagle Resort

Address: 511 Mountain Road (Route 108), PO Box 1090, Stowe, VT 05672
Location: United States > Vermont > Stowe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Stowe
#7 Family Hotel in Stowe
#7 Romantic Hotel in Stowe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Eagle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at the edge of Stowe Village. Indoor and outdoor pools, fitness center and spa, family programs, hiking trails, fishing ponds. Shuttle to ski area in winter. Wide variety of comfortable and reasonably priced accommodations and travel packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Golden Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Eagle Resort At Stowe Hotel Stowe
Golden Eagle Resort Stowe, Vermont
Golden Eagle Hotel Stowe

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Eagle Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.