We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Stone Grilling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Rock Steakhouse

Black Rock Steakhouse
284 River Street, Springfield, VT
802-885-2200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 Restaurants in Springfield
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Hot Stone Grilling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Diners can choose to grill their steak on a hot stone at their table, or have the steak cooked to order. Large selection of steak and seafood entrees with generous portions. Excellent salad bar. Moderately priced.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    41
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Salty?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and I recently ate here and the salad bar was very good. We really enjoyed the hot rock concept. However, I had the Argentinian Steak and it was extremely salty. If they backed off the agressive salt in the marinade/rub, it would be a five star rating from us.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not Very Happy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Loved the idea of a place to get a good steak here in town. First couple of times it was very good.
Tried the rock thing and it was amusing but too much fussing about, and not very tasty. Personal choice I guess, when I go out for steak I want it cooked by someone else and not by me on a rock....just a gimmick.
Next we showed up on a weekend night and there was a bit of a wait, they said 15 minutes and gave us a beeper. Fine, we went and sat in our car and watched 3 couples that came AFTER us get seated before I approached the desk and said "What gives?".....oh pardon us our mistake, now 40 minutes after we started this cluster*&^%. OK so we sit down and order, Me, I order a medium rare ribeye, as does my son. A while later we are served two pieces of meat that look like big thick NY strip steaks.....nothing like a ribeye. My son takes two bites and says "wow this is the most tasteless steak I have ever had." I start on my steak and sure enough Tasteless and Boring....so I call the waitress over and tell her we ordered ribeye steaks and she goes into the kitchen then comes back and tells us the chef says these are indeed rib eyes, but cut from the end so they look different. What ever happened to the customer is always right? I think I know what a rib eye looks and tastes like, having eaten hundreds of them over many years.
Well we were barely able to finish these so called rib eye steaks... and left in disgust....never to return.
Oh the salad bar is kinda nice though. If you insist on going here do so at your own risk.....perhaps you'll catch them on a "good" night. Me? I've found several other alternatives, where I get what I want and how I want it.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Consistently good all-American fare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

W have never been disappointed with the food here. The menu is solid American fare with a signature item involving grilling your steak on a hot stone to your desired doneness. Have not tried this, but have liked the baked stuffed shrimp, baked lobster, prime rib, and salmon. The maple salmon tasted wonderful, but instead of a glaze, the fish was drenched in syrup. The salad bar is fresh with ample variety. Huge wheel of sharp cheddar too. Tnight of quiet conversation. he service is vey good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not as good as I had heard”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We went to Black Rock after it had been open for some time, as we wanted to wait for the ado of a new restaurant to die down. We were not impressed. The utensils were dirty. My drink glass had lipstick on it. My medium/rare burger was a hard black rock (I don't think that is what the name intended). My husband reported that his steak was delicious but the sides and salad bar were not. If our server called me "Honey" one more time I was going to lose it. One of the worst meals I have had in a long time. Dress up the place. Find a way to dampen the noise level. Get servers with some professional skills. I know that Springfield needs some decent restaurants but we shouldn't have to settle for this. .

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Rock Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Black Rock Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Rock Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.