We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springfield
Danville, Vermont
1 review
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night, new nice hotel. Front desk customer service very friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean, beds comfortable, bath and body works supplies provided. Convenient location to the facility we were in town working at and right off the interstate. Would definitely reccomend staying here if in the area!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share feedback about your stay at our hotel! We pride ourselves on offering the very best to the business traveler, couples and families alike. Our Bath & Body Works amenities have been a great hit since introduction earlier this year and we are glad you enjoyed them. We certainly hope you will come back to visit us again in the future. Until then, we hope you have a wonderful holiday season. Thanks again!
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    37
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
31
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, WI
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Apparently renovated from an earlier life but a pretty good job of renovation. The free breakfast was better than most with more variety. Room was comfortable but we had to carry our bags to the second floor. There was an elevator but it did not go to the second floor in our wing. This was OK for us but if you have any mobility issues make sure you let them know when you book.

Room Tip: Some second floor rooms are walk up so discuss this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for posting a kind review about your recent stay at our hotel! We appreciate your business very much. Yes, our hotel has been very well loved by our owners over its life and they have consistently upgraded our guestrooms, public spaces, meeting facility, equipment, soft goods, even structural enhancement! All of these upgrades have been completed so we may continue to offer the very best in comfort and convenience to every traveler. Thanks for noticing. Our breakfast is very extensive and we've just received word from IHG that there will be even more variety starting in early 2014. I do apologize about the elevator. One side of the hotel is serviced by the elevator and the other is not. I'm sure if there was any issue, my staff would have gone above and beyond to either get you on the elevator side or bring your luggage to & from your room. Another elevator may be in the plans for the coming years. Thank you again for taking the time to offer your personal experience. We would love to host you again! Maybe next time you could take advantage of one our awesome ski packages, we are only 30 minutes from Okemo Mountain. Take care!
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had 2 rooms while on a family vacation and they were very clean, very new and very comfortable. Parking was fine, breakfast was good and they have a pool. Nothing to complain about. Plus Cinnabuns for breakfast. I had 3 :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
I am very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and our awesome Holiday Inn Express Signature Cinnamon Rolls! We strive for several things here at the hotel such as clean, comfortable, convenient, affordable accommodations with friendly staff service for each and every guest of our hotel. We will continue to strive to do our absolute best to exceed each guests expectation and we'd like to thank you for providing positive feedback regarding your stay. We would love to have you back very soon, we have some amazing Thanksgiving Specials out right now! Give us a call anytime to book!
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I attended a wedding in the Springfield VT area on October 20th - we stayed at the Holdiay Inn Express on Friday and Saturday night October 18, 19. It was a great place to stay for individuals, couples or the the whole family. It is right off of Rt 91 and convenients to everything in the area. The rooms were great nicely furnished and clean. Large TV and sitting area with small table if you want to eat in room. The Free breakfast was wonderful and very complete with eggs, pancakes, french toast, cereal, fruit, bacon/sauage (depending on the day), juices, coffee, fresh Cinnomon rolls, and much more. Coffee/Tea 24/7. They even had fresh baked cookies in the late afternoon. They have a nice pool and small exercise room. The room that you eat breakfast in is near the lobby and has a fireplace and TV too. Nice place to meet others who were attending the wedding too. It is right off the highway, but very quiet. Large parking lot and well lite. It is an easy on and off - gas station - right across the stree. Everyone that worked at the Holiday Inn were very helpful and nice. They have a nice late check-out policy. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: We could not hear any noise from the highway. The rooms have a nice sitting chair, desk and a roll o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our hotel for the wedding weekend! Thank you for your business and the entire wedding group was a joy to host. We hope you all had a wonderful weekend and would love to have you back in the future. This winter, we'll be offering some really exciting & very affordable package deals such as our Christmas Tree Package and our Okemo Ski Package....maybe a return trip? Thanks again so much for staying and offering your feedback to fellow travelers! Take care.
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed 10/17and 10/18. We have stayed in this hotel previously and rated it a 5; however we feel the quality is on the decline even though the hotel is still as good as most in the area.

It is just of I-91 and has plenty of well lit parking. Check in was cordial and efficient. The room was large and clean with all expected amenities. We did note a few minor items that should have been maintained better.

Our biggest disappointment was the breakfast area. While there is plenty of seating, the area where food is put out is very poorly designed. People are constantly bumping into each other, coffee services uses the individual creamers which takes time and is messy. There are carafes which were unlabeled that many of us thought was cream but turned out to be water - who knew. The smell of breakfast bacon permeated the hotel starting at 5:30am even though our room was very far from the breakfast area. It looked like the same food that was there at 7am was old stale and still there at 9am. Bottom line, this area is a mess. So much so that we avoided breakfast the second morning of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to Vermont. We appreciate your prior review as well and are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your breakfast experience during this most recent stay. There has been no change to the structure of our breakfast bar area since your last stay in April, however, staying in April versus October (peak foliage) can be quite different in regards to volume of guests at the hotel, but you should really not have had to avoid our breakfast area the second morning of your stay. I apologize we were not up to your standards and we hope you'll continue to be a loyal customer. We would love to welcome you back and again, offer that free upgrade to our wonderful IHG Rewards members! Thanks again for taking the time to offer your feedback.
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inlet, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The room was very nice and clean, the staff allowed for our special circumstances without a blink of the eye. Coffee 24/7. My family loved the pool and workout room. Morning clerk could have been a bit friendlier. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review about our hotel! We really appreciate all feedback from our valuable guests. Our pool and fitness facilities are much larger than typical hotels and I am glad you found them enjoyable. My staff is always 'on the ready' for whatever situation might arise and I am very glad they were able to accommodate a special circumstance for you. However, I do apologize that you encountered a less than stellar front desk agent in the morning. All of our front desk agents work all different shifts so they are very knowledgeable in their jobs, we don't typically have one person that works only mornings. If you would be so kind as to e-mail me at hixpress@aol.com or give me a call 802-885-4516, I'd love to discuss the experience further and try to identify the staff member. Again, we truly appreciate your feedback and your business and we would love to host you again in the future!
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed in other hotels/motels in the area and been so disappointed. I wish we had chosen the Holiday Inn Express before. The rooms are nicely appointed. Adequate space, clean, comfortable bed, nice large TV. Tabitha at the front desk was very helpful, friendly and courteous. The breakfast had good variety, was set up well and the dining area was pleasant. I will absolutely stay again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We wish you would have stayed sooner too! Thank you very much for giving our hotel a try when you were recently in the area and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Over the years, the hotel has consistently upgraded our rooms, lobby, equipment in order to offer the very best in comfort and convenience to every traveler. Thanks for noticing our all new bedding & 42" flat panel televisions! We strive to offer true New England hospitality and are so glad you will be staying with us again when you visit the area! Maybe next time you could take advantage of one our awesome ski packages, we are only 30 minutes from Okemo Mountain. Take care!
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Springfield for a friendly and knowledgeable staff and excellent guest service! Our 88 newly re-decorated guest rooms are 100% smoke free and offer free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" flat panel televisions, refrigerators and microwaves for your convenience. We offer a complimentary hot buffet breakfast, a large heated indoor pool, fitness room, business center, arcade room, guest laundry and a lobby with a fireplace and original artwork by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.