We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springfield
Schenectady, New York, United States
1 review
“very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My family and I stayed for two nights and the the front desk was very friendly and helpful with places to go sight seeing. The pool and breakfast were enjoyable. We got the Bromley Park Package which included 4 passes to the park. The park itself was very enjoyable and is appropriate for all ages. The rooms were nice and clean and had a welcoming feel to them. This was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your positive experience about our hotel on Tripadvisor! All of our staff are always ready to talk to guests about our beautiful region and everything it has to offer. Actually, I recently took my front desk staff on a familiarization tour so we could all personally experience the attractions and then relay the information to our guests, it's been a great success and will probably be an annual trip from now on. The Bromley Summer Adventure Package is the best summer deal in Vermont and I am so happy you found it enjoyable and fun for the whole family. I certainly hope you will be back to visit us very soon....we also have some fantastic ski packages, both with Bromley and Okemo. If you are not interested in skiing, our Christmas Tree Package is also an amazing deal and costs only $5 above our Best Available Rate. Give us a call anytime and we can give you more information! Thanks again so much for choosing our hotel, we truly appreciate your business. Take care!
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    37
    12
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
32
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My co-worker and I were attending a Google workshop in Chester, VT and couldn't find a place to stay that would accommodate our needs in Chester. We looked in surrounding communities and stopped by last month to see if it would fit our needs. Once looking it over we booked it for our return and have not felt that it was a mistake.

The staff was more than helpful and always polite when we would ask them for advise on restaurants. By the way we had a great meal in both the Hole On The Hill and the Black Rock restaurants at a reasonable price and I highly recommend them if you are in the area. The rooms were very clean and the internet never once let us down when we had to work online until 11 each night. Would I bring my family here for a stay: absolutely.

Thank you for making an extremely busy week a little bit less stressful.
Linda Williams, Boston MA

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Hi Linda,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a really nice review of our hotel. I am so glad our property satisfied all of your needs while you were on business. I personally know how much a good, clean hotel with great staff can make my business trips a little easier. All Holiday Inn Express hotels have installed load balancer equipment to ensure fast, reliable wireless internet access at all hotels and we do not normally have issues with it. We really appreciate your business and as much as we are a great place for the business traveler, we are an awesome hotel for families as well! I hope you will come visit us again with your family, maybe check out Bromley Sun Mountain Adventure Park.....we have a package for that and its the best deal in Vermont this summer. If you can't come again this summer, we also have some really great ski packages available for both Bromley and Okemo Mountains. Thank you again so very much for your business, Linda and I hope to welcome you again very soon. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnprior, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as they offer a Bromley Mountain Adventure Ticket package. Eventho we only got park tickets for 1 day, we had to pay the package price for both nights which I thought was rather steep for this hotel.
Upon arrival we could not get internet so I took the laptop to the lobby but no luck there either. The 2 computers in their business center were extremely slow. I mentioned the lack of internet (a definite requirement with a teenager) and they said they have excellent internet. I told them then they at least need to reboot the server and one desk employee said she would see about doing that - within 20 mins or so we had internet in our room and it stayed working for the 2 days we were there.
Nothing special about this hotel - we were disappointed that although the hotel appears to have balconies, they are for decoration only and there is no access to them either from your room or anywhere else. There is nowhere to sit outside except at the front door. There is parking in front of the ground floor units however there is no outside access to the individual rooms (like a motor inn would have). The front desk staff was courteous. The maids and service staff said Hello in the hallways. There is a small arcade and pool table which we didn't use, there is also an indoor pool that we didn't use either. The furnishings are a bit dated - the arms on the upholstered lounge chair were extremely dirty. The bathroom was very tiny. They do offer quite a good selection of breakfast items - but the quality of the food isn't that great but it is hard to serve eggs and bacon etc in a buffet where the food isn't actually prepared in a kitchen (ie fake eggs, bacon etc). Not much to do in Springfield that's for sure but it was not the point of the stay - we wanted to go to Bromley Mtn and it was a 50 minute drive from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent experience at our hotel. I am concerned about your comment regarding the Bromley Mountain Adventure Park Package. It is not a normal practice for us to charge our guests the package rate for 2 nights unless you are receiving 8 tickets. The Bromley Package is the best deal in Vermont, is marketed that way and we are so sorry this has happened. Please call me at 802-885-4516 so I may get more information and we will look into this further.

We really appreciate your feedback as it helps us to improve in any way possible. Yes, the property has undergone many changes over the years, constant renovations, redecorations, upgrades, structural reconfiguring...all to enhance our guest experience and comfort. Unfortunately, the balconies are false and we apologize it was not noted during the reservation process.

I am happy that my staff were their normal helpful, polite, friendly and genuine individuals and that they were able to address the internet issue for you right away, although I am sorry we had any problem with it in the first place.

Thanks again so very much for staying with us and we appreciate your business very much. We hope you had a great time at Bromley Sun Mountain Adventure Park! Take care and enjoy the rest of your summer!
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a very nicely decorated and clean facility. the rooms were very enjoyable to relax in and the pool and exercise areas are great. a nice lobby doubles as a breakfast area in the am and that was just fine foir a quick bite in the am. easy to find off 91 and has good store and gas station acrss the street.
the staff was also friendly and very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Wow! Thank you very much for the nice comments regarding our hotel....we feel the same way! Our pool & fitness center are quite large and extensive compared to most other hotels and we are very proud of our recent redecoration to our guestrooms and public areas. We are so happy that you found our hotel clean, comfortable, friendly, convenient and all around an enjoyable place to stay. We certainly hope to welcome you back in the future! Take care and thanks again, we really appreciate your business!

Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My wife was participating in a run up Mt Ascutney in June and we were having difficulty a good hotel that would allow only a one night stay on a Saturday. We finally decided to spend two nights and found most hotels were booked for that weekend and decided to try the Holiday Inn. We could not get a king room but settled on a double queen that turned out to be very clean, comfortable and quiet ( a rear room away from the highway). The free morning breakfast turned out to be quite good as well along with good coffee. All in all, it was a good place and good location just off the interstate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review about our hotel. We try to offer the very best in friendly service and clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations. We are centrally located and I am glad you found our property as a good option while your wife competed in the run up Mount Ascutney. Maybe you'll want to try us out again in the winter....we have some awesome ski packages! We really appreciate your business and we hope to host you again soon! Take care.

Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joyce, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

First off there are not a lot of lodging alternatives in the area, so this is a very reasonable choice. The rooms have been upgraded at some point: pretty comfortable bed, newer lounge chair and hassock, good desk/table for laptop or ipad. Quiet for sleep, though you can hear folks in adjacent rooms. The bathroom was not so great. Poor, non-adjustable shower head that sent water everywhere except on you. An odd sink on a wood stand, out of alignment with the mirror (a challenge for shaving), and a very low to the ground toilet. They have a single serve coffee maker with styrofoam cups in the room, not my fave. Nice flat screen tv and cable. Very helpful front desk person at check in; others later didn't make much effort to greet guests going in and out. Breakfast set up just so-so. Saw what looked like a nice pool in the fitness area, but did not use.
Rate rather high for what it is (even with sr. discount). I did hear desk quote a good govt. rate to someone on the phone.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear FromPacficNW,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and providing feedback. It is a great pleasure to read you found our rooms commendable. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I apologize for the conduct of some of our hotel staff and some aspects of the bathroom facility which was less than satisfactory. We will use the valuable feedback you’ve provided to further improve our service. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was an unexpected treat. My room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly, especially Tabitha, works at the front desk. She was very helpful, friendly and genuine. I am not a big fan of Holiday Inn Express, however this visit might change my mind.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Wow! That's awesome! To think that our hotel may be the reason that you became loyal to the Holiday Inn Express brand? We couldn't ask for more! Thank you so very much for your nice review. I agree, Tabitha is an extremely genuine, warm, caring person. She has the perfect personality to work at a hotel and we love her! She does a great job. We really appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon! Thanks again!
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Springfield for a friendly and knowledgeable staff and excellent guest service! Our 88 newly re-decorated guest rooms are 100% smoke free and offer free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" flat panel televisions, refrigerators and microwaves for your convenience. We offer a complimentary hot buffet breakfast, a large heated indoor pool, fitness room, business center, arcade room, guest laundry and a lobby with a fireplace and original artwork by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.