We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Stay as Good as the 1st” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Springfield
Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“2nd Stay as Good as the 1st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 2 night stay here. This was our second time staying at the hotel - both times for a visit to Okemo. Check in was easy and the staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were spacious and clean. The indoor pool is nice for the kids and there is a small fitness center. Free breakfast in the morning is good - mostly cold items (cereal, bagels, etc.) but also some hot items (pancake maker, eggs/bacon, etc.). Roughly a 30 minute drive to Okemo - very easy drive that we don't mind doing. Will continue to stay here for some of our trips to the mountain, as you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Wow! Thank you so very much! We absolutely love to get 5 stars from seasoned Trip Advisor reviewers like yourself, it is such an honor. We want you to know we really appreciate your return business and we will continue to provide you with clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with a friendly smile every time. Thank you again for your very kind words about our hotel and we'd love to host you again!
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    39
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
53
33
9
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel during school vacation week and found it to be very clean, friendly staff and had a free breakfast that the kids loved. The pool was large and clean, there is a fitness room off the pool that was large for the size of the hotel with new equipment. On one of the days there was a Friendly's Ice Cream shop event in the evening that was unique and who dosn't love free ice cream. Went skiing at Okemo which was about 25 minutes away. Chose this hotel as the prices by the mountain were double the price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thanks for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to our area! We are so glad that you were pleased with your overall stay....especially our Friendly's Ice Cream Social! They are always a ton of fun and a big hit with the kids! We understand it can be tough for the average family to plan a getaway when resorts are so expensive so we try and offer as much value as possible by hosting family friendly events during holiday periods. We are very glad you enjoyed it! We would love to host your family again and hope you will return soon. Take care!
With Sincere Thanks,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed at this hotel to ski Okemo. Great location and friendly staff. The breakfast was quite nice and unexpected to see warm eggs and sausage! Very clean and afortable. I would definelty stay there again. It is a good value with a great location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel! We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations regarding our breakfast and that you were able to get away and enjoy a ski trip without breaking the bank! We strive to offer clean, comfortable, friendly and affordable options in a convenient location. Thank you so very much for your business and we certainly hope you can come back to visit us again soon...spring skiing? We will have some great deals! Take care.
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while visiting Okemo Mountain for a snowboarding trip. From the moment that I checked in until the moment that I checked out, I felt extremely welcomed by the entire staff.
Checking in late was no problem at all & it was super quick. After my speedy check-in, I walked into my room and found a nice, clean, king-sized bed that was extremely comfortable. There was also a mini fridge, microwave, desk area, large flat screen tv, & the best part ... a jacuzzi tub! I'm not quite sure if all of the rooms include these awesome tubs but try and reserve a room that has one. It was so nice to relax my sore muscles in this huge tub after a long day on the mountain.
The hotel also has a great indoor heated pool, a well equipped gym, a game/pool table room, & a great continental breakfast in the morning. They also serve coffee, tea, & cookies throughout the day! Although the hotel is off of the highway, it's very quiet and this makes it extremely easy to travel to other areas such as Ludlow where Okemo mountain is located.
The staff at the front desk, maintenance, the breakfast servers, and housekeeping all deserve 5 stars! They were great giving recommendations and directions. I also met the General Manager who checked to see if we were enjoying our stay, she seems great and seems to do a great job running the hotel.
I can't wait to come back in the future! Give this hotel a try for sure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your recent trip to our area! We are very conveniently located to Okemo Mountain, but far enough to be affordable. We are so glad you found our staff so welcoming, warm, friendly, efficient and accommodating....that is exactly what we strive for! Our guestrooms do not all have a jacuzzi tub and I assume you were given a free upgrade as a Priority Club member, but we are glad you enjoyed it and had time to use the facilities. We certainly welcome you back in the future! Maybe next time you could check out our Bromley Mountain Ski & Stay package (a fantastic value!) or perhaps if you visit again in the summer you could visit Vermont's only amusement park...Bromley's Sun Mountain Adventure Park....we also have a package for that. Thank you again for staying with us and taking the time to review our hotel! Take care!
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

I have been using this hotel for a while now and suites my travels to okemo and further north of the boarder. It can be definitely better according to holiday inn standards.
Staff is friendly and morning breakfast is included which is standard holiday inn express menu. It's okay for one niter Stays and is economical for budget travelers.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your continued business when you visit our Springfield, Vermont area. We agree we are affordable, conveniently located and our staff service rivals that of 5 star hotels! We are sorry to hear, however, that we are viewed as a "standard" Holiday Inn Express. We strive to offer the best accommodations with our 42" flat panel televisions (most Holiday Inn properties offer 37"), our refrigerators and microwaves in all guestrooms (which are not a franchise standard for Holiday Inn properties). Our public areas boast a huge 20' x 50' indoor pool and an extensive fitness center, which are both much larger than most hotels. We also have our arcade and guest laundry facilities. As we constantly try to improve the guest experience within our hotel, we look forward to receiving all new mattresses to offer the best night sleep possible and we also will be upgrading our HVAC units this Spring. We hope you will be back to experience these exciting changes and again, we thank you very much for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice place to stay in the area. Lack of competition makes the price a little steep though. Rooms vary from bad to ok depending on where you are in the building and could use some work. Breakfast is served in a walkway by the front desk and is hardly a great setup.

Pros:
Convenient location
Fast wifi
Nice pool/workout area
Game room

Cons:
Worst breakfast area at a Holiday Inn Express I have seen.
Some rooms need updating badly

Room Tip: Request a different room if you get a bad one. They have always been good about that with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all comments (good or bad) so we may continue to improve any areas of concern. I would really like to hear more from you regarding your experiences and any 'bad' rooms you have encountered so I may fix any negative perception that you or other guests may have of our hotel. Since we have completed a 2-year redecoration project throughout the entire hotel with new carpeting, headboards, bedding, wall vinyl, lamps, 42" flat panel televisions, etc. we have had great feedback. Therefore, I am concerned about the rooms you have mentioned. Feel free to call me anytime to discuss. We certainly appreciate your business! Thanks again. Take care.
~Danielle Calkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went skiing at Okemo, wanted an inexpensive clean room. Location is about 30 minutes away from the Okemo ski mountain area. Has all the Holiday Inn Express amenities, chocolate chip cookies with coffee at check-in time. Morning breakfast starts at 7AM, regular continental fare. Be there on time, so you can get to the mountain by 8AM, when the lifts open.

Was generally pleasantly surprised, did not expect much and got more than expected. Provided extra towels and courtesy toothbrushes with a smile. One knock are the beds, full beds were small and springy. Full gym and swimming pool, also has a game room.

Also ate at 56 Main Street, about 5 minutes up the road. Hit and miss on the dishes. But in general a fair meal for the location.

Room Tip: Request a room with two double beds will yield you a larger room. Stayed on the first floor, conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for the nice review of your recent stay at our hotel! I am so glad to hear that we exceeded your expectations.....it's absolutely what we strive for! My team loves to go above and beyond for all of our very valuable guests and their reward is hearing that they made a difference and learning that guests like you took the time to recognize the efforts. Thank you very much and we hope to have you back with us before the winter is over. Keep an eye out for special Okemo Skier Discounts and Bromley Mountain Packages, which are both amazing savings. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Take care and Happy New Year!
Sincerely,
Danielle Calkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Springfield for a friendly and knowledgeable staff and excellent guest service! Our 88 newly re-decorated guest rooms are 100% smoke free and offer free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" flat panel televisions, refrigerators and microwaves for your convenience. We offer a complimentary hot buffet breakfast, a large heated indoor pool, fitness room, business center, arcade room, guest laundry and a lobby with a fireplace and original artwork by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.