We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Springfield to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springfield
Sanford, ME
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Solid Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here with my wife during a Vermont weekend away. Very clean and solid hot continental breakfast - nothing fancy just a good value. Staff was kind and very accommodating when the first room key they gave me wouldn't work - actually had a staff member accompany us to our room to make sure all was working well and in order. Close to I91 and Springfield. Would easily stay here again it was that good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! The staff and I are very excited that you enjoyed your stay here. We strive to offer convenience, comfort and great service to all of our guests. Just this year we upgraded all of our televisions to 42" Flat screens to make the rooms better for our guests, and replaced all our desk chairs to more comfortable and modern rolling chairs. We deeply appreciate feedback from our guests as it gives us valuable incite to what we can be doing for our guests. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    38
    13
    8
    2
See reviews for
52
33
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is in a great location. Close to I-91, Route 5 in Vermont and Route 12 in New Hampshire. Easy drive to Walpole, NH (the new Walpole Scoop Shop is a must stop) and also both Vermont Country Stores. The rooms with the King size beds are great. They also have a microwave and a minifridge which was very handy. Free breakfast is a plus. Everyone on the staff that we interacted with were friendly and helpful. We have stayed here two times this year and will be back next year,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay here. We are all very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our location is absolutely perfect for our area, with the Vermont Country Stores in Rockingham (just 10 minutes away) and in Weston (just 35 minutes from us.) as well as other great attractions like the Quechee Gorge Village in Quechee (just 25 minutes north). The Walpole Creamery is also a must-not-miss attraction just south of us, they use locally sourced dairy and have one of the highest cream contents available making their ice cream rich and flavorful and an absolute treat! We thank you again for letting us know how we are doing, and hope to host you and your family again soon!
Erica Green~Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was our second stay here in the last 2 years.. We came back again because it is just so comfortable here. I would have to say " This is the place Maine people come for Vacation". The beds are so comfortable, choice of firm or soft pillows.. Huge Panasonic flat screen T.V, Pool, Great free Breakfast (that alone saves you a good 20 bucks). It's so quiet and relaxing I can honestly say this is the place I would stay when visiting Vermont! They say Mainers are friendly, But these fine people have us beat.. I can't say enough about this place.. Fully satisfied. Thanks to all of you that helped us.. see you again..

Room Tip: I liked the rooms in the back of the Hotel on the second floor.. Very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We are so pleased that you had a wonderful exprerience with us. We are constantly trying to improve ourselves, like the beginning of this year when we added the flat screen TVs to all of our guest rooms, and as recently as last month we began making upgrades on our breakfast bar to include western omelettes, homefries, danishes, and a variety of muffins! We are always looking for new ways to exceed our guests expectations and are so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The hotel is fairly new and well located near I-91. It is convenient to downtown Springfield. However, our room was tiny and cramped, almost claustrophobic. The bed, chair w/ottoman, TV and desk took up most of the floor space making it difficult to move around. Rooms are furnished with a microwave and minifridge. The bathroom is small which seems appropriate given the room size.

The real deal breaker was listening to the snoring coming from an adjoining room. We could also hear conversations. Hotel guests congregate at the wing exits for their nicotine fix. Be prpared to walk through a cloud of second hand smoke if you use these exits.

This hotel is pretty much the only game in town but with that said we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel. I must say I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your exprience here. We strive to offer the best accomodations that are clean, comfortable, friendly and affordable. Just last year we completed a full renovation that included remodeling all of the guest rooms in the latest comfortable styles. When guests are tell the Front Desk staff of their concerns with rooms that have adjoining doors we are more than happy to accomodate a move to a quieter location of the hotel, and I regret we did not get a chance to show you a quieter space. We do also have a no smoking policy to within 10 feet of the entrance ways, and we trust that our guests will make the responsible decisions to be considerate to guests of the property. I am sorry that this situation inconvenienced you and made you feel uncomfortable in any way. Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel, as we take all comments and concerns to heart and do our best to make ourselves that much better for it. I hope you give us a second chance and return to stay with us again!
~Erica Green, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Newer hotel reasonably priced for the area. Full hot and cold breakfast. Generous discount for active and retired military. A choice of restaurants in and near downtown Springfield. About 5 miles to the popular Vermont Country Store. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to offer accomodations that are clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly. We are very fortunate to be conveniently located near many area attractions like the Vermont Country Store. We are also just 25 minutes from Okemo Ski area, and just 35 minutes from Bromely Ski and Recreation areas. There are many great restaurants in our area including, 56 Main Street and the Blackrock Steak house, that we love to recommend to our guests. Thank you for choosing us for your stay and we hope to see you again soon!
~Erica Green, Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I were delighted to see this inn immediately off the interstate but out of range of the sound of traffic. It looks lovely from the front, well cared for and the interior is the same, clean and lovely. The service personnel were eager to please and friendly. The breakfast was fine. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. The bathroom was spacious and the shower wonderful. The children enjoyed the pool and promptly at the bewitching hour the manager scooted all of us out. We were all there for a wedding in Chester but another wedding party was there as well and yet the chatter in the halls was minimal with everyone respecting the guests need to sleep. The staff was not intrusive. We would definitely return here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to offer the best in accommodations and try to keep our property clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly. During the weekend of your stay, we did have two weddings here and what a great weekend it was! You are right, all the guests were extremely respectful of each other in the wee hours after the events were over, which we certainly appreciated! Thanks again for staying with us and we definitely hope to see you soon!
~Danielle Calkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We went up to VT for a long weekend away, visiting Sunapee, etc. We drove half an hour to stay here vs. some of the alternatives and were glad that we did. It was easy to find. Clean (perhaps newly redone?), comfortable, Quiet rooms with a large screen tv. It was a little more expensive that I'd like, but the cost included free *good* WIFI, a very large indoor pool, and a pretty good breakfast. The outside of the hotel is immaculate as well. Nice flower beds, etc. We arrived at about 11 pm and some one was outside sweeping the sidewalk and entrance area. I also used the business center PC and printer sans problem. Finally, we had a little bit of a different situation ... we had a trailer with some dirt bikes on the back and they allowed us to park near the office which is staffed throughout the night. I think this hotel may be owned by the InterContinental group, which may explain the higher standard.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spgvt, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Springfield, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We really appreciate all feedback and are so glad you found our hotel to be clean, comfortable, attractive and well staffed. The hotel completed a re-decoration project about a year ago, thanks for noticing! We now have 42" flat panel televisions and the furnishings, carpeting, wall vinyl, etc has all been updated. Although we are actually privately owned and managed, our guests are always our top priority and our standards reflect this attitude throughout our entire hotel & team. Thanks again for visiting us and we hope to welcome you back very soon!
Warm Regards,
Danielle Calkins, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Springfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Springfield

Address: 818 Charlestown Road, Springfield, VT 05156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Springfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Springfield 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Holiday Inn Express, Springfield for a friendly and knowledgeable staff and excellent guest service! Our 88 newly re-decorated guest rooms are 100% smoke free and offer free in-room wireless high-speed Internet access, 42" flat panel televisions, refrigerators and microwaves for your convenience. We offer a complimentary hot buffet breakfast, a large heated indoor pool, fitness room, business center, arcade room, guest laundry and a lobby with a fireplace and original artwork by local artists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Springfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Springfield Hotel Springfield
Holiday Inn Springfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Springfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.