We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time was even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Paddle Bistro

Blue Paddle Bistro
316 US Route 2, South Hero, VT 05486
8023724814
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in South Hero
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Located in beautiful South Hero, Vermont, The Paddle is a hidden gem nestled in the Champlain Islands. Recently, Co-Owner/Chef Phoebe R. Bright was voted "Runner-Up" for Best Chef in Vermont (Daysie Awards, 2013). Only a 20 minute drive from Burlington, the state's largest city! Reservations accepted. Weekly live music. Hours change with the season. Sunday brunches served on special holidays. Visit The Paddle on facebook, "like" and you may win one of many gift certificates the owners award weekly! "Love many, trust a few, but always paddle your own canoe."
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Second time was even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

This was our second trip to this lovely little bistro, and the experience was even better than the first. After a short wait in the bar, our party of 3 enjoyed wonderful dishes that were well prepared and well served. The coffee crusted pork tenderloin and the duck breast were particular favorites.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    27
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cozy atmosphere, great service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

My wife and I visited Blue Paddle on a Saturday night. We were seated in the far corner near the small bar area. The decor of the restaurant is really neat, very home like feel. Ordered beat salad as app, filet with lobster chunks and butternut squash ravioli for dinner. All three were excellent and top notch. Owner came around and was very friendly to check in on us. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Dining here is a real treat! The menu offerings are always interesting and delicious, decor is attractive and the people very friendly. It is well worth going out of your way to come here When we went a couple of weeks ago there was live music, a very enjoyable singer.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Food was great and it was packed. Service was also very good. We had a lobster fettucine dish, a filet mignon special, and squash ravioli, all of which were very good. Salads were good, too. We would eat there again definitely!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was visiting a friend in S. Burlington over the weekend, and we took a little drive up the Isles......she had been to Blue Paddle before, and while we did not have reservations (got there at 5pm when they opened) we could not have had a better experience! The staff was very accommodating!

We sat at the tiny 4 seat bar, and our bartender was darling and very personable. I asked for a special martini that I love - Absolut Citron & Lillet - and she made it perfectly! We shared two apps - the veggie spring rolls were absolutely divine!

Another couple came and sat next to us, so I got to see two entrees.........the scallops looked amazing!!!

It's a tiny place, and I would advise reservations if you're going on a Friday/Saturday evening...
such a delight!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Paddle Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Blue Paddle Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Paddle Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.