We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1076 Williston Road, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, Canada
1 review
“Good Value for the Money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed there during the week and we brought our little dog. The breakfast was more than expected...very nice. The room was comfortable and clean. It was nice to have an indoor as well as an outdoor pool both of which were in good condition. There was also a laundry room in our floor which as it turned out we needed to use the dryer after getting rained on. My only suggested would be a shuttle to the mainstreet everday as traffic and parking around the main street is challenging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback regarding our property and your stay with us. We are so glad you were able to enjoy your vacation to Burlington with your dog! We appreciate the great comments and thank you again for posting your positive experience on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    261
    90
    22
    13
See reviews for
218
238
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The wife and I recently spent 4 days in Burlington, VT and stayed at the Best Western. Rooms were nice and bathroom clean. The outdoor and indoor pools were well maintained and very clean. What made our stay there most enjoyable was the staff they have working there. They go the extra mile to make your stay there feel like you are with family. We liked the location too because it was a short drive to the lake.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
We are so happy to hear about your great stay at our property - and thank you so much for your wonderful comments about our staff! We really appreciate the wonderful review and positive comments about our property on Trip Advisor.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ended up in this place by choice but it is one that we won't repeat. The hotel is ok but there a few items that just rubbed us the wrong way. One, the bed: new mattresses are needed - you roll to the middle on the current ones and the pillows don't offer much support. Two: the room doors: they are waffer thin and you hear everything going on in the hallway and vice versa, you hear everything going on in rooms when you walk in the hallway. Three, cleanliness: the rooms are in need of a good scrubbing - especially the bathrooms. The place has a lot of potential but there needs to be a good upgrade to bring this place up to par.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-pet friendly room to get a room that doesn't smell like pee. Also, ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
I’m so sorry to hear that your stay with us was less than satisfactory. We are very disappointed to hear of your room not being exceptionally clean as this is a priority at our property and we take great pride in providing a clean, comfortable stay. We feel terrible that this was not the case and we will be sure to address your comments immediately. Thank you so much for bringing your experience to our attention, we greatly appreciate your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, MA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The room was mostly good. The beds are comfortable. The furnishings in good shape. The common theme in the reviews is cramped. The room was smallish which was OK for me and my daughter alone - cannot imagine putting 4 people in the 2 double-bed room. We did have microwave and fridge and very small table. Bathroom was OK - tub could have been cleaner, very small shelf above toilet for supplies (which can easily get knocked off into the toilet!) and very dim lights on a hard to reach switch. A bright light is on a timer switch - took us a bit to figure that out since I thought it was a heat lamp.

The big caveat is noise. Get on the top floor or you will hear every footstep the upper guests make. The hallway doors don't block much hallway noise. Turns out we were over the function room part of the hotel. I saw someone setting up as we came in so asked at the front desk and was told nothing was happening, that they "didn't do night time events". Wrong! Came back from dinner on Sat evening to find a party downstairs and we could hear every word over the microphone system. Called desk and was told it would be done at 11 pm. Luckily we stay up late and the party ended at 10:15 pm. Luckily no party Sun eve.

Breakfast had a good choice of items. Pool area seemed nice but we didn't use it. There was a nice outdoor patio area where we relaxed after arriving. Overall, it was a good stay but ask about events if you are staying on that side of the hotel. The adjacent restaurants are good and couldn't be more convenient!

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: There was a recycling bin in room but the front desk could not tell us what kinds of items to put in it.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
I’m sorry you didn’t have an exceptional stay at our hotel but really appreciate the great feedback. We will definitely refer to your comments as we continue to make improvements to our property. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience at our property.

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorval, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

This was our second stay at this Hotel, we came back because we had a great stay the first time, it was easy to get to, and central for visiting the area around Burlington, the staff were great very helpful. The outdoor pool is a very pleasant area to relax, the food at the Windjammer restaurant is amazing so much to choose and its very good for sure we will be staying again next time we are down this way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are honored to be your home away from home when you are in Burlington and really appreicate your loyalty to our hotel. Thank you for sharing your positive review on Trip Advisor!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Windjammer to attend a surprise birthday party on a nearby cruise ship. The hotel provided a nice buffet breakfast and the rooms met our expectations for the price. Front desk employees were friendly and helpful. It is definitely not a five star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive review of our property on Trip Advisor. We hope you enjoyed your cruise on the lake and that the surprise birthday was a great event. Thank you for choosing to stay with us!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We just came back from a two days trip to Burlington, Vermont. We stayed two days at the Best Western Plus. Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel was full with families with children on vacation as well as couples without children. We could hear the children coming and going in the morning as they were bursting with excitement but that was about the noise we heard in the morning. The breakfast room was full as we expected when we came for breakfast, as the hotel was full. There were not enough seats available indoors for breakfast but that was not a problem, as we decided to have our breakfast outside, which was also lovely. There are plenty of choices for breakfast, fruits, pancakes, coffee, tea, juice, cereal, etc. Margarida, the lady who takes care of the breakfast room, is very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located at walking distance from a starbucks and a Mexican fast food restaurant as well as many other fast food restaurants. The hotel is about a 10 minutes drive to downtown Burlington where you can park free for two hrs at the Burlington Town Center Garage adjacent to Church St. Marketplace. There are many lovely restaurants along both sides of Church Street. We choose to have lunch at The Skinny Pancake at the corner of Lake Street and College Street at the Main Street Landing overlooking the waterfront park. The Skinny Pancake http://skinnypancake.com/ serve delicious crêpes with many options for filling. I had the Atlantic Monster, with baby spinach and smoke salmon and was very light, delicious, and very affordable. The serves are very pleasant. You have the option to have lunch indoors or outdoors, which was also very nice. The hotel is also 5 minutes away from the University Mall and 20 minutes away from Maple Tree Place Mall. I did not like the Maple Tree Place; it is too big however, we found at lovely place to have lunch, the Mexicali Grill and Cantina. The food was quite good and inexpensive. We were happy to learn that there are not sales tax on food and clothing in Burlington, which was a pleasant surprise. We were pleased with our choice to stay at the Best Western Hotel and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We are so happy you had a chance to experience not only our hotel but the Burlington area as well. Burlington offers great shops, local restaurants and the beautiful lake with many attractions. Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our area and our property!

Warm Regards,

Karen Wisehart
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1076 Williston Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Green Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windjammer Hotel South Burlington
Best Western Windjammer Inn And Conference Center
Best Western South Burlington
South Burlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.