We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1076 Williston Road, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Elliot Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We only stayed overnite on a trip to Maine but it was a great oasis at the end of a long day's drive. The restaurant , Windjammer, also offered wonderful meals. THe only small issue was breakfast time was very crowded...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your way to Maine - and for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate the great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    261
    90
    22
    13
See reviews for
218
238
27
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The customer service was fantastic however, while checking in, they have you sign a paper stating quiet hours after 10pm. What I think should be implemented are quiet hours BEFORE 10am as well. There were children running up and down the hall at 8am on Saturday morning.

We had two double beds in our room and one of the beds had dirty sheets. Thankfully, we didnt need both beds but it was quite disgusting. Along with a large "hair clump" on one of the pillows, it was quite disturbing. Once moving things around we were able to create a fully equipped bed.

Altogether I would stay at the hotel again but not for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
I’m so sorry to hear about the noise and cleanliness issues during your stay. I assure you this is not a common occurrence with our housekeeping department as we take great pride in our cleanliness standards. I will be sure to share this with our Executive Housekeeper. We appreciate your great feedback about our customer service, breakfast and cookies as well as your consideration in staying with us again. Thank you for taking the time to post about our property on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed for one night on a business trip to the Northern VT area. At check out I noticed an unauthorized $2 charge for energy conservation had been added to my bill. I asked for it to be removed, but it took a long time for the guy to figure out how to do it, causing a delay in my departure from the hotel to my morning appt. Other than that, the hotel was clean and the room charge was within my companies guidelines. I didn't have time to use the hotel amenities but I on my way by the pool I noticed a sign that said "Appropriate Swimwear Required". I've heard Vermont has no laws on public nudity, so I guess you can't skinnydip there if you had the urge.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback about our property. I apologize for the long explanation about our ECO fee but feel it’s important to explain this initiative. We participate in a program called LivClean Eco-Stay. This program supports emission-reducing projects across the United States as well as assists us in our green initiatives at the property level. An average 150 room hotel contributes 3 tons of greenhouse gases to our global environment every day - this is equivalent to driving 200 cars, heating and lighting 100 homes or taking 5000 airplane flights. Carbon Offsetting is balancing the emissions we can’t avoid with projects that reduce greenhouse gas emissions on our behalf. The Eco fee is $2 per room per night. It is dedicated in purchasing carbon offsets as a result of a stay at a hotel. $1.50 is used to fund a methane gas recovery program at a landfill in Northern Illinois near the city of Des Plaines - this program benefits the world, not just Illinois. The other 50 cents is used to make on site and local eco-improvements such as purchasing energy efficient lighting, products made of post-consumer or recycled content, compostable or recyclable products and water conservation products such as low flow showerheads and toilets. Just to give you an idea, the 1.6 gallon shower heads that we purchased saves 740,000 gallons of water per year at our hotel! We are the first EPA Energy Star Certified hotel in the state of Vermont and very proud of our initiatives. The information about the ECO STAY program is available at the front desk and in our guest rooms and the fee can absolutely be waived. We are working with Eco Stay to have more information available to our guests as our intention is certainly not to gain revenue for our property but to do our part in making a difference in the environment. We are very excited of this initiative and are not trying to hide it, on the contrary, we want to promote it as much as possible. We appreciate that some people will not want to pay the fee and are happy to waive it. Thank you for allowing me to share this information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We really have never gone wrong with a Best Western. The room was a little smaller than usual, but very clean and well maintained. The pool was nice and there was plenty of lounge chairs for everyone. This hotel was full to capacity. The complementary breakfast was more than sufficient. Yogurt, fresh fruit, cereals, egg, cheese and sausage sandwiches. Waffles, Juice, hard boiled eggs, and danish. It was all fairly good. It was pretty close to everything in the area, and we were very comfortable there. The staff was great too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Your positive feedback is very much appreciated. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend and immediately was greeted with a smile and room upgrade. The upgrade was nice as it included a completely different room connected to another. Both of the rooms and bathrooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The windows also opened which is rare and we enjoyed being able to due so at night and during the storm that rolled through. The breakfast was delicious, had the standard yogurts, waffles, cereal, juice etc. What made it different was the sandwiches that were available ranging from sausage egg and cheese to bacon and ham too, great for on the go which we were to see all the sights. Defintiely will be staying here again when traveing through.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
What a great review, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Everything about the place ticks all the boxes... Its a huge hotel, yet there are plenty of positives. The room was very comfortable, the breakfast was more than adequate, and the bar/restaurant on site was very good. The place was very busy yet, nothing seemed to phase the staff. From checkin to checkout, all worked very well. Would stay here again no bother.....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
What a great review, thank you! We have had a very busy summer and I'm so glad to hear that our staff continues to provide great customer service no matter how busy it gets. I'm very proud of our team and really appreciate the great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the Best Western Plus Windjammer Inn & Conference Center this week and we were very pleased with our stay, starting with check-in. The staff were very professionnal but at the same time very friendly. We felt like our business mattered to them. We were lucky to get upgraded to a suite on the 4th floor. Being 2 adults and 1 teenager, the extra space was welcomed. We were given a room with 2 double beds and a separate room with a living room and a table with 6 chairs. There was also an extra bathroom, a microwave and a mini-refrigerator. We could have stayed easily for a week had we had the time. The room was very clean and the beds were impeccable. No musty smell or old cigarette smell which we appreciated very much. After check-in we lunched at the Windjammer Restaurant. The food was excellent, nice atmosphere and friendly staff. We walked around the property and found the pool area to be calm and clean. The front desk staff helped us with directions for shopping and eating and were all around amazing people. We have stayed in Burlington in the past when catching an early flight and had used other chains but we found the Best Western to be the best experience all-around. They were even accommodating enough to give us a 1 p..m. check-out eventhough the hotel was full.

Thank you for making our stay so pleasant and making us feel welcomed, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KWisehart, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed review of our property! We really appreciate the postive feedback about our staff, your accomodations and the restaurant - so happy you had a fantastic stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center

Address: 1076 Williston Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Green Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Windjammer Hotel South Burlington
Best Western Windjammer Inn And Conference Center
Best Western South Burlington
South Burlington Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.