We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after all these years” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Palace

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Silver Palace
1216 Williston Rd, South Burlington, VT 05403-5720
802-864-0125
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $12
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had not been back to the Silver Palace in probably 15 years (I moved out of town). The food was just as good as I remember. I don't think you can go wrong with anything on the menu. The orange beef was especially good, nice and crispy, not to heavy and great flavor. It's been on the menu since I can remember.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently a good experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great food and service. The Gwin Jin is awesome. A nice assortment of fresh vegetables. Best Chinese food in Burlington.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisonville, NY
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Best Asian food south of Montreal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Whenever I find myself in Burlington the Silver Palace is one of my go-to restaurants. Real Chinese and Asian cuisine, not American-influenced buffet stuff congealing under the heat lamps. The house wonton soup is excellent, with fresh vegetables, shimp, pork, and chicken with the wontons. The beef teriaki is subtly seasoned with tender beef. The crispy Grand Marnier pork is great, as are the crispy scallops.
I have always found the servers to be pleasant and efficient and haven't had to wait an inordinate time, but I'll admit I've never been there when the house was full.
It's surprising to see some reviews complain about price --yeah, it's more expensive than the aforementioned Chinese joints in every other strip mall, but the food is freshly prepared using fresh ingredients, with generous portions, and the menu isn't the run-of-the-mill take-out list.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“An Awful Place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The main waiter at our table was so rude and incompetent, we had to ask the receptionist for chopsticks and I had to go around our table asking for drink orders. He served a vegetarian pork and other tables were served way before we were. After spending an outrageous three hours for dinner, some people threatened to complain online. The smug reply of the waiter masquerading as a manager: "Go ahead. We have our customer base." An altogether miserable evening thanks to this horrible restaurant. Don't go there!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The worse birthday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We called in advance to inquire about their ability to handle a large crowd and their policy about doing single checks. They said that they were capable of both. However when we got their it was a different story. The waiter told us that they don't do seperate checks and we ordered our food which arrived 2 1/2 hours later. All of the customers that came after us were already served. So, needless to say my birthday bash of 17 people was a bust. The food was ok, but next time I'll go back to Single Pebble. The prices are a little higher but the food is much better. SP doesn't do seperate checks either but the service and food has always been good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Palace also viewed

South Burlington, VT
 
South Burlington, VT
South Burlington, VT
 

Been to Silver Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.