We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stop and browse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Hat Brewing Company

Magic Hat Brewing Company
5 Bartlett Bay Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
+1 802-658-2739
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Activities: Beertasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While you're in the Burlington area, come tour our brewery, where ancient alchemy meets modern day science to create the best tasting beer on the planet. FREE brewery tours, FREE samples, growlers, bombers, 12-packs and tchotchkes. The new bar is a sight to behold with 30 taps flowing and a constantly changing line-up of Magic Hat's best beers, including all our year-round offerings, the current seasonal and even some experimental brews! Always on tap...#9, Circus Boy, Single Chair Ale, Dream Machine, our seasonal offering, our small batch Humdinger Series and a surprise or two! Come watch our our spores dance and play! Summer Hours: (Memorial Day- Columbus Day) Mon- Sat 10- 7, Sun 12- 5 Free Guided Tours: Tues- Wed 3 & 4, Thurs- Fri 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sat 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sun 2 & 3 Winter Hours: (Columbus Day- Memorial Day) Mon- Thurs 10- 6, Fri- Sat 10- 7, Sun 12- 5 Free Guided Tours: Thurs- Fri 3, 4 & 5, Sat 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sun 2 & 3 Self guided tours and samples are there for the taking anytime during open hours!
Southern Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stop and browse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Taste any four brews for free, or stand at the bar and have a tall one. You can do a self-guided tour anytime at no charge, or wait for a guided one of the brewery. Lots of fun products in the gift shop/tasting room!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    83
    30
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not a big fan of MH, but did like Elder Betty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We visited during the 2nd week of July, and was surprised that there were not many people visiting this afternoon. As you open your car doors, you get the very strong scent of hops cooking, er rather fermenting to make the beers of the day that they were making. The brewery is housed in a renovated warehouse with a very large front door.You will walk into a large room, that houses the cashier on the very left, followed by racks of tee shirts that they sell, which then lead up to the stairway that must be taken to take the self guided tour. To the right of these stairs are the lavatories, and then comes the very wide bar which is hosted by a minimum of at least 2 bar servers. Further to the right, is the stairway that ends the factory tour. Further to the right is some of their stem ware and other libation holders. In the middle of the floor are displays of their available summer stock for sale, along with more clothing merchandise. I am not a fan of #9 or Circus Boy, but the ladies and myself totally enjoyed the Elder Betty that we sampled. They allow you to have 4 samples, but if you go with a friend, you should each get different blends so that each can sample more than the standard 4.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“At least it's free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The tour was free and self guided, which is way nicer than hearing someone go on and on about how to make beer. Trust me, it's not that mysterious and if you have ever been on a brewery tour anywhere in the world, you know it all already. And the factory was actually running, so you could see the action from up above. The shop was pretty cool. Lot's of "stuff", but surprisingly very little beer. I was hoping they had a large selection, but they only had one variety for sale in 12-packs. The bar area was pretty good and you can try a few samples. A few of them were good, but Magic Hat is too focused on wheat beers for my taste. It's the hip/trendy kind of beer company I really want to patronize but it seems like they don't have much available in stores these days. The Harpoon brewery in Windsor is way better (but definitely skip the tour there).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Funky place to visit to try/buy great beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Drive about 10 minutes south of Burlington and Magic Hat is on a small side street hidden behind trees. You can take the brewery tour or just hang out in the large funky-decorated shop with a bar so you can sample their beers. The sell beer and also cool merch.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great if you like quirky and beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This attraction was a little wasted on me as I don't like beer, however my husband does and he thought this place was great. If I liked beer it would have probably got an 'excellent'.

Now from an attraction stand point, it is very interesting. The building looks like a warehouse from the outside, with a few little 'Quirks', but once you get inside it's like a totally different place and it is awesome! If you love different, you will love this place.

The beer tasting is free, we left a tip as we thought it would seem wrong not too. The guy who served us was friendly and full of information about the different beers he served us.

The tour was free and rather interesting with the same quirky feel as the bar area as you walk around.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Hat Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Magic Hat Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Hat Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.