We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We always have fun here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magic Hat Brewing Company

Magic Hat Brewing Company
5 Bartlett Bay Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
+1 802-658-2739
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Activities: Beertasting
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: While you're in the Burlington area, come tour our brewery, where ancient alchemy meets modern day science to create the best tasting beer on the planet. FREE brewery tours, FREE samples, growlers, bombers, 12-packs and tchotchkes. The new bar is a sight to behold with 30 taps flowing and a constantly changing line-up of Magic Hat's best beers, including all our year-round offerings, the current seasonal and even some experimental brews! Always on tap...#9, Circus Boy, Single Chair Ale, Dream Machine, our seasonal offering, our small batch Humdinger Series and a surprise or two! Come watch our our spores dance and play! Summer Hours: (Memorial Day- Columbus Day) Mon- Sat 10- 7, Sun 12- 5 Free Guided Tours: Tues- Wed 3 & 4, Thurs- Fri 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sat 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sun 2 & 3 Winter Hours: (Columbus Day- Memorial Day) Mon- Thurs 10- 6, Fri- Sat 10- 7, Sun 12- 5 Free Guided Tours: Thurs- Fri 3, 4 & 5, Sat 1, 2, 3, 4 & 5, Sun 2 & 3 Self guided tours and samples are there for the taking anytime during open hours!
Milton, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We always have fun here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The tour is nothing much, but it's fun to look at the artifactory and always good to taste a lot of good beer! Hard to leave here without a growler or two.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    83
    30
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Must See!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just an overall fun place to stop for a sampling of Magic Hat! They offer the "tried and true" beers along with seasonal selections. And the tour of the factory is a treat! You are definitely missing out if you pass on this.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was on my go-see list for my first vacation in Burlington, and I'm really glad I went! The building itself is unassuming on the outside, but inside the decor is crazy-fun. I came at the wrong time for a guided tour, but they conveniently allow you to do self guided tours. (All tours are free) They are definitely an out of the box company, and the tour really showcased that. The staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. Had some good conversations. Plus... come on... free beer samples!!!!! Never tried Magic Hat before, but I really loved the Elder Betty. This was a pretty great way to spend an afternoon.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fun and entertaining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The tour was amusing. Perhaps longer on amusement than information, but certainly fun. We tried all the beers the tasting room had to offer, including a couple available only locally.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“#9!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had some #9 ale at a local restaurant and had to find out what else this brewery had to offer. The self quided tour wasn't too impressive. Just a long corridor, and a quick peek at the bottling line, where atleast at that time nothing much was going on. However, we did enjoy the tasting! A very helpfull and nice bartender told us about Magic Hat's products and offer us 4 free tasters. Honey Wheet IPA was my favourite! The unusual tastes of the cucumber ale and the elderberry ale were also exciting to try although a full pint might have been too much.

A very nice visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magic Hat Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Magic Hat Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magic Hat Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.