We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smart Suites Burlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Smart Suites Burlington to your Saves list
Smart Suites Burlington
1700 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I had a great stay here, the rooms are spacious and the location is good too. Its not far from downtown burlington, but theres lots to do, (and eat!), just down the street. Everything was clean and the bed/pillows were just cushy enough. I recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    68
    21
    14
    5
See reviews for
75
61
16
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Nice average hotel. Clean and with decent beds and rooms.

Air Conditioner ran, but did not produce cold air. Mentioned it to front desk the next morning and they took $40 off the bill.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodsville, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel and thought it was a great value. It was very nice to have a separate living room/kitchenette.Everything was very clean. The bedspreads have been updated from those that were pictured in the photos. The bed was VERY comfortable. The bathroom was clean. There was even a dishwasher. All pots/pans, glasses/wine glasses were included in the cupboards. Both the bedroom and the living room had a TV. There was even an outdoor community roof sitting area outside the third floor. The continental breakfast was good. A large selection, something for everyone. Nothing special, but many options and you can't beat the price! The staff was very nice and accommodating. The pool is indoor and across the parking lot at the Holiday Inn. We went briefly, but it seemed dirty and yucky. We wouldn't recommend it. We will certainly come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Lemme tell ya, this is one great hotel. Affordable, yet lots to offer.

We stayed for 4 nights. The kitchen is a nice size, complete with a stove, dishwasher, full sized refrigerator, coffee, etc. Living room area was clean with a tv, table, and couch. The couch wasn't really comfortable, but not a big deal. The bedroom was large with a very comfy king sized bed, tv, and AC (the AC is only in the bedroom, but it cools off the entire suite). Bathroom was very clean and roomy, stocked with soap, shampoo, a hair drier, etc. This suite was basically a fair sized apartment, which I liked. My traveling partner and I had enough space, and didn't have to be in a crowded little room.

The staff is very nice, and they offer a free breakfast everyday (which was actually good. Those cranberry muffins were to die for).

For those without a car, a bus is right on the corner that will drop you off in the center of Burlington (doesn't run on Sundays though). It also makes a few trips to the Vermont Teddy Bear Factory which is a few miles down from the hotel.

We absolutely loved Smart Suites, and will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel was such a nice surprise. We booked a suite only for the whirlpool tub, and were not expecting such a spacious room and bathroom. It's perfect for families or a group of friends. The room and bathroom were very clean. The front staff were so helpful and friendly! I can't speak to the breakfast as the blackout curtains and quiet room let me to sleep through it. Location is less than 10 minutes from the Waterfront.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suites are well worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod MA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My friend and I took our daughters for a girls only trip to Vermont and spent two nights here.
The pros:
The front desk staff is amazing, I can honestly say that they are nicer than some of the same employees I have encountered at Disney World.
The price, we had a one bedroom suite with a kitchenette for less than any other room in town except maybe the motels.
The access to the pool at the Holiday Inn Express was easy and fun for the kids.
The cons:
There are not a lot of staff on duty at any one time, housekeeping didn't arrive until almost 4 pm and after we had just arrived back from a busy day. The kids were about to nap so we had to settle for swapping out towels and trash.
Because of the lack of staff some of the guests take advantage of the public areas, specifically the third floor outdoor deck where each night I encountered drinking parties when I went out to smoke. While these individuals were not troublesome it was uncomfortable to find people consuming alcohol in a public area such as that.
The free breakfast is to be avoided, cook in your room or go out. The food was not kept at proper tempuratures and the selection is extremely limited.
This property would have received four stars had it not been for the public drinking. I feel the value for the money is exceptional, the rooms were clean and had everything you could want. Finally, the staff is extremely responsive to any issue.
We would stay here again but will request a first floor room.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

First let me say the personnel were friendly and helpful. We got upgraded from a studio to a two room on the second floor. The breakfast offering was certainly adequate with a good selection of items. What struck me was that the place was starting to show its age and was in need of a little sprucing up. Our room although smoke-free was not necessarily odor free mainly from the air conditioning unit which if you never clean the filters will never be odor free especially if the room in some past time had been a smoking room. Strangely enough the A/C unit was in the bedroom with no unit in the main sitting area/kitchen. Of the two window in that area, one was missing a screen. Would we return? Not likely.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smart Suites Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smart Suites Burlington

Address: 1700 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Choice for Burlington Hotels!Whether it's for just one night or an extended stay, Smart Suites is the perfect match for all your lodging needs. We offer several different comfortable room options ranging from studio efficiencies to more spacious one-bedroom suites. Daily, Weekly, and Extended Stay Rates Available! We would love to host your next meeting or group event. Give us a call and ask for our Sales Office for more details. We are conveniently located on Shelburne Road, just a short drive to the Church Street Marketplace and only 5 miles from the airport. If your travels bring you to the University of Vermont or Fletcher Allen Health Care, Smart Suites is just 4 short miles away.Featured Amenities:- Complimentary Deluxe Continental Breakfast- Free High Speed Wireless internet- 24 hour Desk Service- 24 hour Business Center- 24 hour Fitness Center- Same Day Dry Cleaning- 24 hour Airport Shuttle- 24 hour Coffee and Tea Bar- Restaurant on Premise (Lake View House)- Access to Indoor Heated Pool, Sauna, and Hot Tub- Morning Newspapers (local and National)- Free HBO and Local Calls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Smart Suites Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smart Hotel South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smart Suites Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.