We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anchorage Inn

Save Saved
You added Anchorage Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchorage Inn
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   108 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Where to start. We paid about $70 for a room with 2 double beds. The hotel looks and smells old. The carpets outside the rooms were stained, torn, and dirty. As soon as you walk into the room, there's only one small light, so you need to open all the lamps if you want light. The sink is near the door, OUTSIDE the bathroom. The bathroom was pretty clean but very small, and the tub was covered in tape (I guess to prevent people from slipping). The carpets were horrendous, but not as bad as the moth-eaten curtains, the stained pillow cases (yuck!), the holes in the covers and the mattress. The room has no hair dryer, and just one tiny bottle of shampoo. We were told that the side door would be closed at 10PM for safety purposes. Ya right. We got back after 10, and the door was not only open, but being held open with a grocery cart with garbage in it. Basically, anyone off the street could have walked in, and stayed for the night - in fact, we found at least 2 rooms on our floor that were unlocked and open. Nice. We made sure to double-bolt our door. Their continental breakfast consisted of apples, oranges, donuts, and cereal. The only thing that was worth the money was the WI-FI. I highly suggest you spend a bit more and stay at a better hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    10
    16
    23
See reviews for
17
23
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fontainebleau, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

The outside looks really quite nice. But the inside is outdated and not very appealing. The room was relatively clean and overall, decent considering the low price per night (70 $). The downer is that internet access was non existant! I was there on business so that was not a nice surprise! Thank goodness Barnes and Nobles is just next door. I think I spent more time there than in the room!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these South Burlington hotels

Boston Area
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

My sister and I were in the area for a funeral. We googled the property, read other horrible reviews, but it looked so pleasant on the website and we decided to give it a shot, as it was a busy hotel weekend in the area and the price was reasonable.

Were we in for a surprise. They stuck us on a lower-level floor (ie. basement). I think we got stoned just walking to our room...the hallway was filled with cigarette and pot smoke. My sister went back to the front desk to ask if we could switch rooms and they said they were full (which we found out later to be a lie). The woman at the front desk (Allison?) was abrasive, rude, inattentive and just plain FOUL. The room: Almost as smelly as the hallway, and we had requested non-smoking.

People coming and going at all hours of the night (we suspect drug sales), electrical wires exposed, stained carpet (looked like blood?), spiders, at least 6, in various parts of the room, mostly the bathroom. Tub- filthy! Bed- I'd be more comfortable on the bloody floor.

People, do yourselves a favor- keep looking! The outer appearance and even the lobby are completely not indicative of what lies (or crawls) inside.

Also, they advertise a pool, but it was all cordoned off with sheets. We don't know why, but after seeing the room, we really didn't care.

Take the negative reviews seriously; any positive ones were probably written by staff!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

After reading the reviews we were concerned about what we would find when we arrived at the Anchorage Inn . We were very pleasantly surprised by a very friendly Front Desk Staff and very clean rooms. Yes this hotel is older but they are renovating it bit by bit and it shows. We requested a fridge after we arived and it was brought to our room within half an hour .We were given lots of sightseeing and shopping tips by Ron at the front desk. If you are looking for the Hilton then this isn't it BUT if you want a clean ,reasonably priced and friendly place to stay then the Anchorage Inn is just the place to be. We will be back next year

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veazie, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I traveled from Maine and visited Burlington Columbus Day weekend (October 7th thru 9th). First the front desk tried to charge us more than we were quoted over the phone and telling us that the rooms were going for $200 a night that weekend. We got a kitchenette cause we wanted to be able to save money on eating out. Well, the place was disgusting, old and outdated, the bathtub and toilet were 70s blue, the mattress and box spring had visible wear and tear. Three of the four chairs in the room were stained on the cushions, kitchenette table was rickety, the small fridge operation was loud and ugly. Oh and the continental breakfast was cereal, coffee, juice and pastries they had gotten from the dollar store. There was no where to sit and eat breakfast downstairs so we had to take it back to our room, on the third floor. I could go on and on about this dump but we arrived late on Friday and knew that most other hotels were booked. We will never be going to the Anchorage Inn again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I was expecting an older, yet clean hotel. I got a filthy, smelly room in a basement with broken everything and bugs all over the place... dead and alive. There was a tear in the window screen, like someone had tried to break in, the drop ceiling had water stains all over it, and the carpet was so vile I thought I might get sick if I stayed in the room any longer than I did. The beds were sagging and the comforters had stains on them as well. It took me about 2 minutes to discover all of this, and I was on the phone with another hotel making reservations. I didn't get my money back, of course, even though this place should be shut down by the board of health.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you value your health.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Didn't spend alot of time in the room. After getting into town late, we really didn't want to look at anymore rooms, and settled on the Anchorage. The front desk was nice enough, but the hotel smells like it has been smoked in for many years. Water didn't drain very well in the tub. Building could stand some renovations. Basic breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchorage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Inn

Address: 108 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anchorage Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a supremely convenient location, Anchorage Inn and Suites provides a spectacular venue for budget travelers, family travelers, business travelers, college travelers or what ever the situation that brings you to Burlington.Our 89 room split level facility offers a guest room for everyone’s needs. Our room features are from the simple economy level to the more spacious, comfortable and well appointed suites and family rooms. Located adjacent to University Mall, Barnes & Nobel, Outback Steak House, IHOP, Applebee’s and the interstate you can see, our location is superlative. We are, also, in close proximity to UVM and Fletcher Allen Health Care facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Anchorage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Hotel South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchorage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.