We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the salad bar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Restaurant

Windjammer Restaurant
1076 Williston Road, Best Western Windjammer Inn and Conference Center, South Burlington, VT 05403
+1 802-862-6585
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Windjammer Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Dorset
Boston, MA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Love the salad bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We love the Windjammer located at the Best Western Hotel. The fish and steak are always good and we love the salad bar

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    116
    100
    33
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great local atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Great food and wonderful local atmosphere. Did not feel like an outsider at all and the service was above par.

Visited January 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Second bad experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We travel often to Vermont and always went to the Windjammer for supper.
However the second last time the restaurant was not able to simple cook a prime rib medium.Plate was returned 3 times.
The next time (our last visit) I got so tired of "fighting" with my prime rib steak that I left 1/2 of ot on the plate to tell the waiter about it and also left the grissle on the plate that could not be consumed.The waiter was apologetic,nothing more.
Too bad we have to give up on what used to be a great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Winjammer's Salad Boat is CRAZY!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

I had lunch here with some business colleagues and enjoyed the salad boat. Great variety, fresh. The house ranch was EXCELLENT with dill in it! Also enjoyed lump crabcakes with my salad.

I came back for dinner and ate in the "Upper Deck" pub upstairs. Had the Cabot cheddar burger and a pumpkin martini. They were good but not remarkable.

Service was adequate. If I ever get back to the area, I'd try it again at lunch and go for one of their salmon dishes. They have a LOT of very nice looking seafood dishes on their menu. I'd recommend going at lunch and eating downstairs in the main restaurant, definitely go by the salad boat.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good solid food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Often a restaurant attached to a hotel are only fair but this is different. The steaks are very good as are the other menu options. The only complaint is the are not a ton of choices in the salad bar. we will be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windjammer Restaurant also viewed

South Burlington, VT
South Burlington, VT
 

Been to Windjammer Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.