We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find Check-in desk” 3 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added University Inn to your Saves list
University Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    6
    21
    18
    39
See reviews for
25
19
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We went to Burlington without having booked accomodation beforehand. When we arrived at the airport, we realized that our visit coincided with the marathon, which meant that most hotels were full. It was getting late, and we were recommended University Inn by the tourist information, so we hurried to make a booking over the phone. Unfortunately we soon discovered how utterly run-down this place was. The wall to wall carpet in the hallway between the rooms was litteraly soaked in rainwater due to some leak, and the room was dark and smelly from old sigarettes. The only thing keeping this place from a one star rating is the friendly and professional reception staff, which agreed to cancel our reservation without cost....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all across the country. I have never written a review before but I just want to help you should you read this. If you get an amazing rate then consider it as camping with running water. Bugs, smelly, blood on sheets or some other equally disgusting substance. Filthy. I agree with all the negative comments here. Oh and no heat. I had also the wonderful experience of a cheapo fire alarm outside my door that was chirpingly in need of a new 9 volt battery. I called and was told they would replace it but that never happened and I was serenaded all night. This building should probably be demolished. I feel badly for the college kids that work the desk at the Comfort Inn where you check in. They should probably get combat pay.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center ("under repair"). Our relative had a room on the second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

touring UVM with my daughter. good location, reasonable rate, front desk girl very friendly, personable, competent and accomidating... . hallway stench smelled of urine and room showed signs of visible water damage (ceiling, lamp shades, walls, and carpet. room smelled musty and as a smokers room would. breakfast not included (probably not a bad thing if the quality of the room is any indication of the quality of the food)... if you want a cheap place to sleep for a few hours and dont care that the bed is poorly dressed, this is slightly better than sleeping under a bridge, but the perks end there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The first time we went to Burlington, we went to this hotel. We were charmed. But, the catch was that this hotel had two parts (that are not attached). A good one and a bad one. We stayed in the good one the first two times we went there. But after that, we always got put in the bad one. The problem is that the bad part houses the pool, and air conditionning is central (therefore, is not always on). We went there in winter and had to leave the window opened because it was too hot. There is a constant clorine smell and the humidity is really bad.
Cleanliness was also a problem, the last time we went there, there was medical refuse under the covers (a used band-aid). They gave us a room in the good part after that, but that was it for us in this hotel.
They now have changed the name of the good part of the hotel, and it is now a Confort Inn I think. The bad part kept the name of University Inn. You still have to register in the Confort Inn though.
You want a bad hotel at a low price, go there...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Booked this location and got a great rate. The room was large, clean and comfortable the halls and general condition of the property was good. Registration was across the parking lot at a Comfort Suites. The staff were friendly. I don't expect more for this rate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

If I hadn't already prepaid, I would have left immediately. The entire hotel reeks of stale cigarette smoke, including my "non-smoking" room. The carpeting in the hallways is saturated with the smell. The faucet and shower head dripped, the thermostat was broken, no coffee maker or refrigerator, and no complementary breakfast. The sheets were well worn and had holes in them, and the bedspread was stained. The clientele appear to be itinerant workers or locals. On the plus side, I didn't find bedbugs and the hair dryer worked.

Room Tip: Go across the street to the Holiday Inn Express.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 1 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.