We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best DoubleTree's I've Experienced” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Fly
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“One of the Best DoubleTree's I've Experienced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel is just a perfect example of what I expect from anything associated with Hilton. As a diamond member, I was fortunate to get upgraded to a suite upon check in. The staff was incredibly accommodating, personable and friendly. I had a letter that needed to be mailed and the front desk staff offered to have it taken care of (postage).

The room was spacious and CLEAN. As a weekly traveler I cannot begin to stress that I will take cleanliness over design any day. In this case, the hotel is clearly maintained very well and has a very "Vermont" charm which I appreciated.

The location is extremely convenient to downtown and the interstate. All in all, no doubt in mind that I'll stay here the next time I have to travel to Plattsburgh or Burlington again for business.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. As a Hilton Honors member, we value your loyalty and enjoy the opportunity to reward you for that loyalty! Our entire staff works hard to provide the best service possible! We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    236
    95
    27
    9
See reviews for
181
134
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

One of my, if not, favorite hotels in Burlington. If you don't need or want to be near the lake you can't beat this place. Great staff, very clean and awesome beds. One of the better hotel restaurants I visit and not too pricey. Very close to both UVM and Champlain College and not far from the highway but not so close you can hear traffic. Will always come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your continued loyalty. I am glad that you enjoy our property and all that it has to offer! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I travel to Burlington a few times a year on business and was glad to discover this gem after staying at several disappointing places. The hotel is modern and clean with a real friendly front desk. When you add Trader Dukes restaurant to that, you have a double win. It is a very convenient and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here because it was a pet friendly hotel. My daughter and I were visiting colleges in the area and I liked the fact that this hotel was close to the interstate and UVM. Based on the pictures online, my expectations were pretty high, especially for the cost of the the room ($152 per night). However, upon arrival I was very disappointed in the size of the room and the bathroom. (Vanity in the entry way is very inconvenient). With just the two of us and the small dog, we were falling all over our bags and stuff. The furniture was very shabby and worn out. Definitely not what I expected for the price. Also, the doors need some kind of cushioning or closing mechanisms as the constant door slamming, at all hours, made sleeping difficult. If my daughter decides to attend UVM, I will upgrade to the Hilton in the downtown area instead, as I did not feel that this hotel was worth the money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your candid review of your recent stay with our hotel. We are very sorry that the guestroom did not meet your expectations , since the comfort and safety of our guests is our highest priority. We have shared your comments on the room noise from doors slamming with our maintenance team and will keep your concerns on the layout of the room in mind as we consider future renovations. We hope you and your daughter enjoyed your visit to the area and that she finds the school that best suits her.
Safe travels,
Rick Milliken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stay in Burlington often because we fly out of the airport there & our son goes to UVM. We always stay at the Hilton downtown because you can walk to Leunigs and shopping. I did the Doubletree because I could do a park and fly for same price as downtown. It was fine for an overnight. Everyone was very nice and the rooms were of Hilton comfort. We will stay there again for an overnight and cab it to Leunigs Bistro.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The DoubleTree is on the edge of Burlington, so it's not super convenient to downtown Burlington; if I were visiting again, I'd probably find a hotel downtown. But the Doubletree is within walking distance of the University of Vermont campus, even if it's a bit of a walk along Williston Road, which is very close to being a highway, so if your business is on the UVM campus, it's not inconvenient. But this hotel is semi-suburban in location & is clearly more convenient for people with cars. Despite its location, the DoubleTree is a quiet hotel & I didn't have any problem with street noise. In fact, I slept quite well, except for the usual slamming doors in the morning that I've had to put up with at hotels all over the country. My room had the bathroom sink outside of the bathroom, which was fine. The bathroom itself was tiny: just a bath & a toilet; and the one annoying aspect of the room was that the door to the bathroom wouldn't stay open except a crack; a doorstop for the bathroom door would have been helpful. The temperature control in the room was good, though; it was set for 71/72F, and the heat worked efficiently when the temperature outside went down into the 40s both nights. The room was clean, though when I arrived, there was a garment tag on the carpet (between the bed & the TV) that the vacuum cleaner apparently didn't pick up; other than that, though, there was nothing amiss about the room or the hotel. I didn't go for any meals in the restaurant or use the spa, so I can't comment on those facilities, but the wi-fi was free & reliable and my room had a working half refrigerator that one can't expect in all hotels. The one really nice little detail was a small pillow that was quite firm, unlike the overly soft pillows that just didn't work for me. While the hotel is not architecturally distinguished, it's not ugly, either, and I really liked the lobby, which had a working fireplace & was very cozy; it really looked like one would imagine a country inn in Vermont would look like. The staff was friendly & helpful and they sent a van with the image of a giant cookie on it to pick me up at the tiny Burlington 'International' Airport; and when I arrived, the staff gave me the warm chocolate chip cookie the Doubletree chain is famous for. I also appreciated their having local Vermont Macintosh apples in a basket at the front desk; I had 2 of them & they were fresh & crisp~!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the 2nd floor; 1st floor rooms in the front directly face the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

So i arrived quite late around midnight. All i wanted was a no hassle checkin and a quiet room. Outstanding. Easy checkin, nice room, well appointed, and quiet. Not as run down as a lot of places seem to be these days, pleasant stay and i would definitely go to stay here again in future.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. I hope you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and we hope that you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Address: 1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#3 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#5 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome from the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, five minutes from Burlington International Airport and downtown Burlington. Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance. Expect outstanding service from our friendly staff and a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington hotel's grand oak lobby with fireplace and cozy seating. Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Choose a suite for a private bedroom, extra space for families, a wet bar and sink, pull-out sofa bed and optional whirlpool tub. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Savor a superb Sunday brunch seated near the field stone fireplace. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.