We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place. Decent price. Small Room. Comfy Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice place. Decent price. Small Room. Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Reasonable rates for a hotel still fairly close to downtown, and just a short walk from University of Vermont. Also within easy walking distance of Common Ground. The courtyard/gazebo in the center was very pretty. The beds were very comfortable. The rooms were a little on the small side. Did not eat at the restaurant. No complimentary breakfast is the only reason I did not give them 5 Stars. McDonalds is close by. Did not use pool/spa.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I'm so glad to hear that you you enjoyed our hotel's location and close proximity to the University of Vermont, Higher Ground Music Hall, and that we're only two miles from Downtown Burlington. I'm glad that you had some time to relax in our courtyard - it's just now in full bloom and the Wisteria is beautiful! We love that our guests take advantage of this common area, when in season, and we're certainly off to a great start to summer! We just recently updated our mattresses and bedding in rooms so I am glad to hear you had a good night's sleep while you were here. Maybe the next time you are in town you will have some more free time to enjoy the pool and fitness center and maybe even to dine in Trader Duke's - they are known for their breakfast! Thank you again for taking the time out to review our hotel. We hope to see you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    266
    104
    28
    10
See reviews for
204
150
54
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We were here for 1 night. Got in late. They picked us up in a complimentary shuttle from the airport and again when I had to go to the airport the next morning to pick up our car. A VERY easy drive from the airport. Pretty much a straight shot. The cookies, from what my boyfriend said, were very good. He ate both of them as I avoid eating sweets so late and he has no problems doing so. They were warm and smelled delicious. I wish they had offered an apple or orange or banana or something remotely healthier. The front desk people were VERY friendly and competent. Of course, I am not a fussy guest. The hotel is next to a curious looking "Gift barn" but I didn't walk in. They are close to a Starbucks and it is a short easy drive to downtown/waterfront. The room itself is clean and nice with a king sized bed, a desk, and a chair/ottoman. Outlets on the lamps makes it easy to use your cellphone as your alarm clock. I paid for the room with points, so I'm not sure if paying full price for the room would color my review.

Room Tip: Our room faced the parking lot. Seemed pretty quiet. Heavy curtains make it easier to sleep during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent stay here at the DoubleTree by Hilton. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I'm so happy to hear that you had a great stay at our hotel. Our guests really enjoy our close proximity and complimentary shuttle service to and from the Burlington International Airport (BTV), especially that the service runs 24-7! The DoubleTree cookie is our special way of welcoming our guests and providing them a warm treat and that's great that your boyfriend enjoyed it. If you come back and visit us in the fall then you will be greeted with the choice of a cookie and/or a fresh Vermont apple, which we have available at the desk during foliage season! We understand that lodging options are plentiful in Burlington and our staff strives to provide the warmest and most welcoming service along with clean and comfortable accommodations - I'm glad that you recognize these attributes. Our convenient location to the airport, downtown, and other Burlington attractions appeals to business and leisure travelers alike and I do hope that you will choose the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington should you decide to travel to the area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I travel up to to Burlington frequently for work. I love the location. It's close to I 89 and across from a Starbucks. A warm cookie awaits me when I check in along with the "it's nice to see you again." The hotel is clean, people are friendly and Burlington is a great town . I couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. We are so happy to hear that our hotel's location meets your needs. Being located just off Interstate 89 we do have a very convenient location to downtown, the airport, the University Mall, and of course Starbucks! Our staff prides themselves on their friendly customer service and cleanliness and I'm very glad to see that you recognize both of those attributes. We love to welcome back our return guests and it's very nice that we can call you one of those guests! You are right - Burlington is a fantastic town (or small city) and I hope that when you travel back to Burlington for business that you will choose us as your "home away from home" yet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alapaha, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We were only here for one night but it was close to interstate, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful in recommending some local antique shops. The attached restaurant wasn't bad either.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, May 18, 2012
Thank you for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that the front desk staff was helpful in finding you a few antique places to peruse while you were in town. Hopefully you had some good luck finding some nice items! We're happy that you had the opportunity to try out Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge while you were staying with us. Our convenient location, just off Interstate 89, means that our hotel is in very close proximity to the highway, airport, and downtown Burlington - a central location to get just about anywhere you need to while you're visiting. I hope that if you travel to our beautiful city in the future that you will choose to stay with us again. We'll look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central, Vermont
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the Doubletree in Burlington Vt for a mini get away with our son and granddaughters. It's an average hotel, the rooms are a bit worn but all was comfortable. We spent time in the pool which was clean, the water could have been a bit warmer, the granddaughters got cold pretty fast. But maybe that was a way to get them out of the pool. We ate at Trader Duke's for dinner and breakfast. Breakfast was good, dinner very bland, nothing great. Good location to get around Burlington.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Thank you for you review of your recent stay at our hotel. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your getaway to Burlington with your son and grandkids! I'm so happy that you recognize our convenient location, just off Interstate 89 and centrally located for getting in and around Burlington. Our property has been successfully operating as a hotel since the 1970's, so while the building itself is 40 years old, we are always looking for ways to spruce things up to provide better guest satisfaction. Some of this recent work includes the renovation of all standard bathrooms, new carpeting and wallpaper in all hallways, and we're also gearing up for an internet upgrade as well as the addition of a new gift shop next to the front desk and a "Grab n' Go" cafe to be located in the lobby as well. I'm also glad to hear that the grandkids enjoyed our indoor heated pool. We keep the temperature in our pool at 82 degrees, which is usually quite comfortable for most guests. I'm sure that the temperature did not stop them from having some fun! Thank you also for your compliments to our restaurant, Trader Duke's. Breakfast is by far their most popular meal period and I'm happy that you and the family were able to start the day off right with a nice, hot meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just back from weekend there April 20th, 2012
I've been coming here for 4 years for a weekend tournament in town. Always been clean, efficient, and friendly. Typical room, two doubles, 5 pillows on each bed to choose soft or hard pillows to your liking. Bathroom was fine and tiles in good condition.Like that there's outlets for charging devices on the lamp on top of the desk and beside bed so you don't have to go looking behind furniture for them. Room had small fridge, handy to keep some drinks and snacks cold and freeze ice pack from cooler in car for return trip home.

Upon check in I asked for some extra towels to be sent to room and they were on in the bathroom by the time I brought the bags in from the car. Very efficient. I had no problem with internet connection. Called "care" number from card on desk in room to find out how to connect to it. Was given passcode and had no problem connecting. I received a phone call back from them 10 min later checking to see if I was able to connect. I used my ipod in room to check and send email and surf net for directions to local arenas. Didn't have a problem with the wifi at all but wasn't streaming videos down on it.

Ate breakfast on Sunday at Trader Duke's (hotel restaurant) arrived 10 min before 9:00 am when $14.95 buffet starts which was good because we could easily get a table and had a coffee while waiting for buffet to be opened. Buffet was good, offered omlette station, waffles, eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, pastries, juice, some lunch items and coffee came included. other breakfasts don't include coffee/tea (at $2.50) and range from $7.95-10.95

Went to pool area to relax muscles in hot tub after playing sports and enjoyed it. Jets not powerful but water is kept very hot.

Like the location near the University mall with Applebees IHOP and Hannaford's groceries nearby. Gas station beside it. 5 min from downtown Burlington simple to drive out of hotel and you're on road going right into downtown. Easy access to Hwy 89 and 15 min from outlet stores in Essex Junction.

Room Tip: Always been on first floor and happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our hotel. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Burlington for the Champlain Full Stride Shoot Out! I'm so glad to hear that we have earned your loyalty by providing consistent, comfortable, and friendly service. Our CAREline is used whenever a guest has a request or problem and I'm happy that our front desk staff was able to assist you with getting onto our complimentary wi-fi network. That's wonderful that you enjoyed your brunch in Trader Duke's and that you found value for the price paid. It is true we have a very convenient location, just off Interstate 89 and within walking and driving distance to the University Mall, gas stations and grocery stores, as well as other shopping and restaurant options. I hope that you will choose to stay with us should you visit our beautiful city again and certainly if you are competing in next year's tournament!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We met colleagues here for a 2 day working session. One of us booked a suite and we used that.

The staff including the front desk service were friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and reasonably appointed. The bed was comfortable.

Wifi was a little slow and dropped us a few times. Something to consider if you are having a business meeting that requires video internet access.

The hotel is located right off RT 89 and about a mile from downtown Burlington. There are many options for dining.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen B, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I hope that you enjoyed your time in Burlington! I'm so glad that you experienced a friendly and helpful check-in. We pride ourselves on providing warm and welcoming service and I'm happy that you had a chance to experience that first hand. Our two-room suites with full size refrigerator, microwave, sink, work area, and separate bedroom, are perfect for families and business travelers alike. I'm glad that you and your co-workers were able to comfortably meet in a suite while you were staying with us. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with our complimentary wi-fi access, but we're very excited to be gearing up for a complete internet upgrade, which will bring our speeds from 1mbps to 20mbps, a huge improvement! I hope that if you do visit the Burlington area again for business or pleasure that you will choose to stay with us and will have the opportunity to enjoy our new wi-fi experience first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#2 of 15 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 785 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
2.0 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
#1 of 15 in South Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 455 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 812 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Burlington Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Address: 1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome from the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, five minutes from Burlington International Airport and downtown Burlington. Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance. Expect outstanding service from our friendly staff and a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington hotel's grand oak lobby with fireplace and cozy seating. Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Choose a suite for a private bedroom, extra space for families, a wet bar and sink, pull-out sofa bed and optional whirlpool tub. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Savor a superb Sunday brunch seated near the field stone fireplace. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.