We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THIS TREE NEEDS TO GET SPRUCED UP"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Fly
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in South Burlington
LONG ISLAND
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“"THIS TREE NEEDS TO GET SPRUCED UP"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

My family and I had strong suspicions that this hotel was once a Days Inn or similar and was rebranded as a Doubletree.We have stayed at a number of Doubletree hotels and this one is not up to the brand image.The rooms that we saw were miniscule,with the sink smack up against the entry door.The ceiling on the1st floor was so low you could touch it with your hand.There were other examples of shabbyness i.e. carpet runners detaching from the walls,water staining on the ceiling,mold on the restaurant ceiling corner booth,This is unacceptable at this price point.The lobby was appointed in wood panelling,colonial motifs, standard issue.The restaurant 'Trader Dukes" was done in a nice rustic lodge feel but the food was LOUSY.My wifes breakfast pancakes were gummy and hard,my home fries floated in a pool of graese and the dinner menu was very limited.We were upgraded to a suite which ws roomy,had a full size fridge,all devices worked perfectly including the A/C.The service was very good fufilling our requests quickly.The pool had an industrial look/feel and the towels were very old worn.The next stay in this town wont be at this "tree"

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    199
    75
    21
    9
See reviews for
147
106
40
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

While we have come to expect Doubletree to be a solid choice, one never knows when traveling out of the big cities. The Burlington Doubletree delivered. Staff was courteous, professional and quite helpful. Picked us up and dropped us at the airport/car rental location with no fuss and good conversation. Rooms were beautifully decorated, stayed in a suite, very nice. Restaurant was acceptable for breakfast. Pool (indoor) was nice.
plenty of outdoor seating areas too. Close to downtown Burlington (driving) and to airport. quiet at night. Adjacent to shopping area with Barnes/Noble, Eastern Mountain, and a very very nice Italian restaurant, forgot the name but VERY good. They went the distance to make us feel welcomed!! They are just finishing up carpet/wallpaper updates so it looks quite fresh, and this did not interrupt our visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed there for 2 nights coming home from Boston. We chose it for the price and the association with the Hilton name. The room was large, but didn't like the bar fridge right against the door to the room and didn't like the bathroom sink the first thing you see when you walked in. Tub and toilet are separate. Bed was comfy and the pool and exercise room are very nice. This is an older hotel getting a face lift. I didn't like not having a breakfast included which we find really a great thing for travelling. Overall it was fine, but expected more being associated with the Hilton name. My husband had to ask the cleaning staff to make our bed. We left for the day and he went back to the room around 3pm and the bed still wasn't made, so he had to ask, what's up with that. Close to University Mall.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoast, nh
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stay here at the DT Burlington about every 3 weeks for business. Key things I am looking for in a hotel - clean room, safe environment, comfy bed, real breakfast, hot tub and exercise room and people who really appreciate my business - I get that and more at the DT-Burlington.

You are promtly greeted upon arrival with those yummy cookies (I bring mine home to the hubby) - rooms are clean and well appointed - the hotle recently replaced carpeting and wallpaper and even though zi was there during this small renovation - it was not problem. Management made everyone was informed of the renovation up front..

I have no issues with heating or cooling in the room and the thermostats work fine. teh staff is helpful when I have a request and delivers with a smile. I truly feel welcome here and i am sure you will also.

dining tip - you must go to Al's French Frys right up the road - the burgers may not be much - but you go to Al's for the frys

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

If this place is in your price range you should certainly consider it as an option. It provides everything that you would expect from a Hilton DoubleTree and I mean this in the best way possible. The rooms were clean and nice. The staff were courteous, professional and went out of their way to make sure I had a great stay. For example I wanted to buy a paper to get the Sunday coupons and the staff advised me to wait until after breakfast as people often left their papers on the tables.

We were just passing through on our way home from Canada. It is located in a commercial area, the type where you find lots of hotels and fast food joints but it’s 10 minutes or less to the airport and many decent eateries in several directions and also to the centre of Burlington. If you like fresh local food, try the Bluebird Tavern. Shelburne Farm is also a great place to visit if you have kids or want a tasty brunch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at the Doubletree Burlington recently for a family getaway. Since our two sons were to join us (but one had to cancel at the last minute), we made reservations for a suite, with two double beds in the bedroom, a living room area with pull-out sofa, and a kitchenette area (full-size fridge, microwave, sink, coffeemaker). There were TVs in both the living room and bedroom, and closets in both areas as well.

I haven't slept so well in a long time. Although the hotel was full to capacity -- people without reservations were being turned away as we were checking in -- it was very quiet, and the beds were SO comfortable, with premium bedding. The housekeeping staff did an outstanding job; everything was spotless.

Bonuses: they offer everyone in your party a warm chocolate chip cookie when you check in (you can eat it right away or warm it up in the microwave in your room later, and believe me, it's delicious!), and they have Crabtree & Evelyn products in the bathroom.

There's a restaurant on site, Trader Duke's, where we had breakfast a few times, and it was a great way to start the day. Many of their dishes are made with local ingredients, and our son in particular enjoyed the omelettes with fresh veggies (usually a different offering each morning). The strawberries I had were fresh, sweet, and delicious. The coffee was excellent, and the server left a pot on the table so we could help ourselves.

The hotel is in a very convenient location for hopping on various highways. It's also very close to the University of Vermont, and just two miles from Church Street Marketplace and all the activities on the waterfront. And it's right next door to a great shopping plaza with Barnes & Noble, Eastern Mountain Sports, and Dakin Farm food products (local), and a wonderful gift shop featuring Vermont items.

We had a great stay and may return in the future.

Room Tip: The bedrooms of the suites are very quiet, because they're away from the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011 via mobile

I stayed in a Suite style room during a recent business trip. The room is well designed: large living room with seating area, flat screen tv, huge desk/table with several outlets; kitchenette with large fridge, microwave and coffee station(they kindly supply a small bottle of dishwashing liquid!); roomy bathroom; bedroom with another tv. Note that there is a second closet with ironing supplies hiding behind the full-sized bedroom mirror. Restaurant on the property is good and there is a Starbucks right across the street! I used the hotel shuttle for all transportation around the area. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington

Address: 1117 Williston Road, I-89 & US 2, Exit 14E, South Burlington, VT 05403-5717
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Family Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome from the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, five minutes from Burlington International Airport and downtown Burlington. Our hotel's central location puts business guests close to industrial parks and corporations like Ben & Jerry's and IBM. The University of Vermont, Champlain and Saint Michael's Colleges are nearby. University Mall, sports venues, restaurants and Higher Ground Music Hall are within walking distance. Expect outstanding service from our friendly staff and a signature, warm chocolate chip cookie. Relax in the DoubleTree by Hilton Burlington hotel's grand oak lobby with fireplace and cozy seating. Spacious guest rooms and suites feature refrigerators, remote printing, complimentary WiFi access, and in-room recycling. Choose a suite for a private bedroom, extra space for families, a wet bar and sink, pull-out sofa bed and optional whirlpool tub. Hold business meetings and weddings at our hotel in Burlington, VT in elegant indoor and outdoor spaces accommodating up to 400 people. Stay connected at the complimentary 24-hour business center. The Adirondack-styled Trader Duke's Restaurant and Lounge serves traditional American cuisine and regional specialties. Savor a superb Sunday brunch seated near the field stone fireplace. Watch sports on flat-screen TVs and try local microbrews in Trader Duke's Lounge, also offering full menu dining. Take advantage of our indoor pool, whirlpool and seasonal sundeck. Exercise in the fitness center or relax in the gazebo and courtyard gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree South Burlington
Doubletree Hotel South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.