We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Night's Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Wonderful Night's Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The Comfort Inn & Suites was just the perfect place for us to stay to attend a family event. We didn't need a resort, just pleasant, clean, friendly, accommodations. We found that at The Comfort Inn. The building was recently tastefully remodeled. The desk clerks were very friendly. The room was a suite so it had extras that made it very comfortable for the stay.

The breakfast in the morning was more than anticipated. The people taking care of making sure that the food was never ending were very efficient. They were helpful and friendly to talk to. This breakfast was one of the best setup facilities that I have seen in along time.

This hotel is close to lots of shopping and eating places. It was a perfect location for us to be for our needs. I wish we had a bit more time to stay. I would recommend the Comfort Inn in South Burlington to my friends. Also, we were on the fourth floor and that was quiet.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor and it was quiet. If you are on the odd number side of the building you...
See more room tips
Green Features: They do recycle. Other than that, I didn't notice. I would think that they have similar practices as most concerned hotel about linens but I don't know.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel as we look forward to hearing about our guest stays. It is a pleasure to hear about your positive experience at our hotel from the clean, comfortable rooms to the enjoyable breakfast and interactions with our staff. It is true that the Comfort Inn is in close proximity to many great shopping and dining options and we hope that your positive experience will prompt a future visit back to the Burlington area. We wish you safe travels until your next trip and hope you will come soon to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    61
    21
    18
    18
See reviews for
48
47
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cavendish, Vermont
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was the first time we've stayed in Burlington, Vermont we really enjoyed the location very close to downtown and the mall it was just a short drive. In our party there were three adults so the suite was the best fit as it had a pull out sofa. The only issue is that we had to make up the sofa bed and there were not enough blankets other than that it was very comfortable. They do offer breakfast in the morning, but we did not take advantage of it. We really enjoyed our one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for sharing your positive experience as we look forward to passing along your comments to our staff. It is wonderful that you were able to come and have a enjoyable stay at or hotel and were also able to enjoy the surrounding shops and restaurants. We hope that you will come back this summer and get to enjoy some of the beautiful Burlington weather here at the Comfort Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We last stayed here 2 1/2 years ago, and the basic hotel hasn't changed. Comfortable, good location - pretty much what you'd expect from a Comfort Inn. Currently there is construction in the adjacent lot, and our even-numbered room (454) overlooked the site. They started very early on a Friday morning, and it was impossible to sleep through. Until the construction is completed, you would be well-served to request a room on the other side of the building. Otherwise, no complaints at all.

Room Tip: see above comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
It is always a pleasure to have guest come back and see us and we hope you were able to enjoy all of the changes we have made to our hotel. We appreciate your positive feedback but do apologize for the construction noise experienced from the adjacent property. It can be a challenge during times of construction but we do thank you for choosing our hotel to meet your needs while in the Burlington area. Safe travels and we hope you will come see us in the months to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed there on our way to NY and our way back from NY and we found this is a good, clean and roomy place to stay. Hotel shuttle was great! breakfast was good and the room was clean and roomy, I would stay there anytime.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. We are glad to hear you choose out hotel for both trips to and from home. It is always a pleasure to connect with our guest on more than one occasion and we hope you will continue to come and see us here in Burlington Vermont. Until your next trip to the area we wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The staff was friendly. The room was clean & comfortable. The bed was REALLY comfortable (great pillows!). We didn't enjoy the free breakfast but it looked like it was good! I was quite pleased with my choice until I tried to fall asleep...you can hear EVERYTHING. It's bad - I could practically hear the conversation word-for-word that the couple in the room next to me were having (thank god they were just talking!). You could also hear the walking around from the people in the room above, and the pipes were really loud anytime the people above turned on the sink or flushed the toilet. If you're a heavy sleeper, then this won't matter for you. But I had trouble falling asleep & then was woken by the noise in the night..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us at the Comfort Inn. We are pleased to hear that you had a good experience with the hotel staff and they were able to provide excellent customer service. We are sorry that you experienced noise issues during your stay and hope that if you are in the area again you will give us an opportunity to make it right. Thank you once again for the response and we hope to see you in the Burlington area soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I was in Burlington for the UVM winter commencement. The hotel is conveniently located less than 2 miles from campus and is right off the exit from I-89. The display sign for the hotel is on the corner, but there is no sign marking the entrance to the parking lot. Because of this, we drove by the hotel and turned into the next driveway (leading to a garage for the mall). After realizing that was not the entrance, we doubled back and realized that was appeared to be the entrance to a vacant property was, in fact, the way to the hotel parking lot.

Check-in was quick. As a member of an affinity group, I was given a small welcome package (always a nice treat). The room was a pleasant surprise, larger than anticipated and nicely furnished. The TV was a flat screen, the desk had a VERY nice desk chair (my daughter joked about trying to sneak it out) and the beds were made with pillows of differing firmness so each guest could have one they preferred.

The bathroom was on the smaller side, but spotless. Along with the typical soap/shampoo/conditioner assortment, there was also make-up remover wipes.

There are vending and ice machines on the 1st and 3rd floors right by the elevators.

The room was comfortable from a temp perspective, which was welcome given the below zero temps outside.

Breakfast was included in the cost of the room. It was not bad, but nothing remarkable. Because the room where breakfast was provided was off the lobby, it was a bit cool.

Checkout was quick and easy.

My only complaint was that the toilet seat was loose. The staff took note and promised to fix it.

Green Features: The hotel provides recycling containers in each room. It also encourages multi-day use of towels and linens. Both are welcome considerations.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review we value your feedback.

We are happy to hear in these cold times you were able to come and enjoy your stay at our hotel. It can be a challenge traveling this time of year so we make every effort to ensure our guest are able to enjoy a comfortable stay at the hotel. If you are back in the area again we hope you will come and visit once more, even if it is only to check out the deck chair. Thank you once again and happy holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed for a weekend in August to relax and get away and glad I chose this hotel. Nice smiling faces upon arrival. I showed up an hour early expecting to wait for my room but instead I was upgraded to a nicer bigger room pool-side. The cleaning staff and all the hotel employees say hello and smile at you. My room had a very comfortable bed with a large selection of TV stations to pick from. Pool-side was quiet and cozy and well-maintained. In all a great stay. Thank-you!!

Room Tip: Pool-side is nice with the lawns and trees just outside the room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Good recycling programs for waist and water usgae reduction.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel we appreciate the feedback. It is a pleasure to hear you were able to enjoy your stay at our hotel. At the Comfort Inn and Suites hotel we strive to make customer service our number one and hope when you travel to the area again you will stop by and stay the night. Thank you once again and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington

Address: 3 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel on 9-acre setting, located off I-89 exit 14E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington Hotel South Burlington
University Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn South Burlington
University Inn Suites Burlington
South Burlington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.