We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Stay Ever” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Stay Ever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Please be advised we had the most serious issue ever occur during our stay at this hotel on August 30, 2012. Firstly, I would like to mention that we are experienced travelers for over forty years and have traveled to many places and have never had to deal with an incident of this nature. Shortly after checking into our room we contacted the front desk and requested clean bedding be provided to us at which time the clerk advised no problem and that they would take care of this for us. At that time we decided just to leave our luggage on the luggage rack closed and left the hotel for dinner. Upon return to our room late that evening we opened our room door to find a hotel staff member holding onto a suitcase with his had inside the suitcase. Again we must reinstate that we had left our luggage closed and that the zipper would have to be physically opened to be able to enter the interior of the suitcase. The details are too extensive but the bottom line was this staff member advised he was security for the hotel and he was just moving our luggage to place a cot in our room.We advised we never requested a cot and that it was a King Size Room with only two adults. Since this individual was security and there was only one other member of the staff we could speak to we requested she come to our room immediately. She handled the situation from that point and upon check out we were not charged for our stay. No hotel management contacted us during the balance of our evening stay and we promptly checked out first thing the following morning. We contacted "Choice Hotels International" in Phoenix, Arizona and formally filed an "Internal Incident Report" and they advised that the Hotel Management from Vermont should be in contact with us. The following day we did receive a call from the hotel manager who offered his full apology and advised that every protocol of standing operating procedures were broken that evening and that the employee had been terminated from his job. We then requested a police report be filed and we later received confirmation from the local police department that a report had been completed. Please note that this is a very large hotel and totally understaffed. On September 26, 2012 we finally received a written response from Choice Hotels International advising that they appreciate us bringing the matter to their attention but that each "Choice Hotel property" is independently owned and operated and all issues must be defer to the hotel. It is our opinion that a simply phone call from Hotel Management only after our complaint had been filed is certainly not good business practice. You would expect that after such an incident the Hotel Manager would have been contacted no matter what time of day or night and attempt to resolve this issue immediately. This incident will take us a long time to recover from and only hope that this will never happen to any other individuals who pay good money for safe and clean hotel stays.

Room Tip: Refer to review
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    61
    21
    18
    18
See reviews for
48
47
9
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights... staff are very helpfull and courtious
the room was very clean. complimentary Wi-Fi and the breakfast included was beyond any place i stayed before .. the outdoor and indoor pool was clean the rooms has coffee machine microwave fridge blow dryers and if we are missing anything they will provide for you ..going back soon...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all of our great amenities. We are glad that you were able to appreciate our very extensive breakfast. We pride ourselves on outstanding customer service and cleanliness and we are so pleased to hear that your experience exemplified that. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Quiet, nice large room, good value, got a good view of the mountains. Breakfast was blueberry waffles, etc. Complementary Wi-Fi, pleanty of close parking. Didn't try the outdoor pool as it is Oct. Close to the freeway for easy access. Close to university.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a pleasant review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had such a positive experience staying with us. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our spacious rooms, and our spectacular views. We’re happy that our many great amenities were appreciated by you. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you’re in the Burlington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed here for one night during our recent NE trip. Cost was almost $290 for the night, by far the most we paid for any of the hotels we stayed in during the trip. Pluses - the room was very dark and quite roomy. Minuses - we had a non smoking room, but the bed/pillows smelled like smoke, which made me wonder if the sheets had actually been laundered. (We notified the front desk and they apologized and said they would look into it). Carpet was not very clean (was stained in places), the towels in the bathroom were neatly folded but were damp, and the walls seemed paper thin as far as noises go. Ice machines were not on every floor. Worse, there was a big dip in the mattress that made sleeping difficult because each time we moved, we rolled into the middle and collided. Not a horrible experience, but definitely not worth the price we paid. Would stay here again only if they either remodel nicely or if they bring their prices way down.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a helpful review. We’re pleased that you were able to enjoy our dark and quite rooms. We are constantly looking for suggestions to make our operations the best they can be, and all of your concerns have been noted to the appropriate person to make sure they are handled correctly. We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for three nights whilst touring around. Our room and the hotel were clean.The Staff friendly and helpful. Amenities in the room and hotel are good, fridge, coffee machine and microwave in the room. It's not too far from down town, there is a bus service which goes from just opposite the hotel, or it's a short cab ride. Staff were helpful in supplying this and other local information. Breakfast is included, though I wish this type of chain (not just Comfort) would use proper crockery and silverware, all the plastic waste just doesn't feel right!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review for our property. We are pleased to hear that you had such a good experience with us and were able to enjoy the great location and all of the amenities that our hotel has to offer. We pride ourselves on our outstanding customer service and are delighted to hear that you experienced that great service first hand. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a 2 nite stay back in June. Management communication was very quick and courteous , resolved all problems, very satisfied . Will give it another try as soon as we are back over there, location is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for writing such a positive review of our property. We are delighted to hear that you had a good experience with our management and that you were satisfied with your stay. We are very pleased that you were able to appreciate our great and convenient location and we look forward to seeing you again when you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel numerous times while vacationing and will likely stay here again. That said, it is important to understand that this is an average Comfort Inn that is in need of a physical upgrade. If you are particularly picky about any of the standard mid-range hotel amenities, you may want to look elsewhere. On the positive side, the hotel has a very convenient location relative to the interstate highway and downtown Burlington and does not have any material deficiencies.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHQA, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you have stayed with us numerous times and appreciate your keeping us in mind for your trips to Burlington. We are so glad to hear that you are able to take advantage of our great location and enjoyed your numerous stays with us. We appreciate your feedback on areas we can improve on and take your suggestions seriously when considering things to work on. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington

Address: 3 Dorset Street, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in South Burlington
#4 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Four-story Hotel on 9-acre setting, located off I-89 exit 14E. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites South Burlington
Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington Hotel South Burlington
University Inn And Suites
Comfort Inn South Burlington
University Inn Suites Burlington
South Burlington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites South Burlington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.