We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in South Burlington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Green Mountain Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Suite Deal
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in South Burlington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed at this hotel one night but wished to have stayed longer if I could. The room was very clean and comfortable with semi-luxury accommodation. The kitchen was new and had everything of high quality and perfect conditions. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location is close to the airport, restaurants and other businesses. I had stayed in another hotel in that area and found the Green Mountain of superior quality in comparison. I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone single or with family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    135
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
211
107
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pa
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

After reading the reviews we were very excited to be staying here for four nights. We travel to Vermont a few times a year and have stayed in some very special places, this was not one of them. It is clean and good for families but we were four adults in a two bedroom suite that was lacking in luxury. Perhaps it was just our room but for the price I was expecting something much more upscale. The breakfast is just average much like an inexpensive hotel. We didnt find the staff to be that friendly or welcoming. It is right on the street with no real grounds to walk around and the only thing nice was the fire pits but they were usually taken when we got back to the hotel. I will stick to B&Bs from now on.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here 4th of July weekend as a quick two night stop on the way to Northern Vermont. We arrived very late but were greeted in a very friendly way and given our room very quickly. Our 1 bedroom suite was very comfortable and roomy and had plenty of room for the five of us. We even went out for some Chinese take out and ate in the room after a day of hiking in Stowe. My only slight complaint was the breakfast (which was included). Every baked item such as french toast or waffle sticks were cooked within an inch of their life. Extremely over cooked and hard. They ran out of bananas the second morning we were there and only had two flavors of yogurt. However, the comfort of the hotel and friendliness of the staff was enough for us to decide that we will be back!

Room Tip: We didn't have any problems with road noise, but an upper floor is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

The room we had was great. Gas fireplace, kitchen and sitting area with tv. Huge tub was a great feature as well!
Great breakfast offered each morning, it got crowded but was worth waiting for the kitchen to re-stock the trays (usually only took 5 mins or less to have everything refilled. )
The main lobby where breakfast was served is nicely decorated and clean. Super inviting fireplace surrounded by dining tables was a cozy spot to eat the breakfast I mentioned before.
There's a pot of hot coffee available 24/7 in the lobby as well!
This place is beautiful and the rooms are grand.
They also offer things like roses and champagne (which we had waiting for us in our room) and other options that I'm sure are just as good.
Short car drive from here to Ben & Jerry's, the teddy bear factory, cannot cheese and other touristy spots.
There's also a natural food market right across the street that has a confusing layout but amazing produce.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My fiance and I stayed here while visiting Burlington and this was an amazing hotel. The rooms were amazing, clean, spacious, and the house keeping was very friendly and accommodating. We came on a Thursday evening and we were surprised to find out that Monday - Thursday they cook dinner and you get free beer and wine!! We really enjoyed getting to taste the local brews for free while eating nachos for free and sitting outside around a fireplace. We just came from a 6 hour drive so it was very nice to unpack and grab food quick and relax. The hotel is also located very close to downtown burlington and there is a mall right next to the hotel, so if you wanted to walk around it is a safe and clean neighborhood to do so.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We recently stayed here for our annual reunion -- 24 of us, all ages. We had a 2-bedroom suite, very roomy and comfortable. Beds were exceptionally plush. Housekeeping service was quick and prompt. TVs in both bedrooms and living room. Breakfast and an evening (5-7pm) meal was included which made things much easier with such a big group. Breakfast was not great -- eggs didn't feel quite real, potatoes not hot enough -- but it was edible. Cereal, yogurt and fruit were plentiful. Coffee and tea 24/7 is always nice. Indoor pool and hot tub were welcome after a long day. Location is great, very close to downtown and UVM, and convenient to main highway. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were very comfortable on the second floor. No noise, lovely light in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

The overall appearance of the hotel was very nice, and the staff seemed very friendly and courteous. The rooms are of a generous size, but keep in mind you have to walk through the bedroom to get to the bathroom. There are 2 TVs, which is a nice touch, but why does hotel TV picture quality always look so bad?? LOL.

Location was just okay. It was only a 7-8 minute drive to downtown Burlington, but the hotel itself is in the middle of a bunch of strip malls. I guess this can be convenient in one sense, but is not picturesque at all, if that's what you're looking for. Also, the hotel is located on a busy road, so be sure to ask for a room on the inside of the property if road noise bothers you.

The breakfast was nice, but was VERY crowded and chaotic with families (see below) and seating was limited. The staff seemed to be doing a good job of keeping up with it, and in their defense it is not the hotel's fault that kids were not being supervised. (We were traveling with a baby and a preschooler and made an extra effort to keep them on a short leash)

During the weekend we were there, there seemed to be some kind of kids soccer tournament happening nearby, so the hotel was PACKED with families and pre-teen kids. These kids were running around the hallways a lot, and making a lot of noise. I understand that kids will be kids, and luckily it ended by 10:00pm or so. However, any noises in the hallway, including conversations, were SO loud in our room. They were louder than they would have been if the people were actually talking in our room! I think it had something to do with the cheap metal doors on the rooms, which seemed to amplify any and all hallway sounds.

Our room was at the end of, and perpendicular to, the hallway, so that may have been a factor, and was also right next to the elevator AND the stairs, but you'd think the hotel would do something extra for such rooms to reduce noise. It was pretty insufferable at times.

The pool was nice, but could be a little dirty. I saw several blobs of hair floating in it during one of our swims. Again, it seemed to be a full house, so it's probably hard to keep up.

It would also have been nice to offer more kids activities, or just give them a coloring book or something upon check in. It seems to be a popular hotel for families, so a playground or game room would be a nice addition.

Overall, it was nice place, but try to avoid it when they're at full capacity, or do some research and plan your trip when there are no events happening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, or for one not overlooking the road. Also, definitely ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisscott11, General Manager at Green Mountain Suites Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Greetings from your friends at the Green Mountain Suites Hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words. We are very proud to be recognized as the #1 Hotel in South Burlington by tripadvisor.com and valued guests like you that take the time to leave us such wonderful reviews. We are sorry to hear of the noise issues you experienced during your recent stay with us. We encourage parents of younger children to be considerate of their fellow guests so as to mitigate noise issues in the hotel. We will continue to work harder on this as we want to ensure that all of our guests have a wonderful experience during their time with us.

We hope the next time your travels bring you to the greater Burlington area, you will once again give us the opportunity to serve you and your family

Thank you for being a valued guest. Take care and hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,
Christopher M. Scott
General Manager
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Burlington
2.3 mi away
Hotel Vermont
Hotel Vermont
#1 of 9 in Burlington
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Burlington Downtown
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn & Conference Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Windjammer Inn...
#2 of 15 in South Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hilton Burlington
Hilton Burlington
#5 of 9 in Burlington
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
2.4 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Burlington Harbor
5.8 mi away
The Essex, Vermont's Culinary Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Mountain Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Address: 401 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#2 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Mountain Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the charm of a boutique Vermont Country Inn. Each finely appointed one and two bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room and separate bedroom(s). Amenities include our Signature Vermont-style hot breakfast, Fireside Reception Monday-Thursday evenings with Vermont craft beers, wine and foods, a state-of-the-art Exercise Facility, Indoor Swimming Pool & Jacuzzi and High-Speed Internet. All amenities included in rate. The Green Mountain Suites Hotel is close to the Church Street Marketplace, The University of Vermont (UVM), Champlain College and St. Michaels College. Burlington International Airport is minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Green Mountain Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel South Burlington
Hawthorn Suites South Burlington
Green Mountain South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.