We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Run, Great Condition All Suites Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Green Mountain Suites Hotel to your Saves list
Green Mountain Suites Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   401 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Romance Package
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Well Run, Great Condition All Suites Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Our summer time experience was outstanding. Lobby/breakfast area is large, super pleasant and comfortable and not noisy. The rooms are comfortably large and in great condition. Loved the 1st floor rooms around the corner from the pool/gym. Pool and jacuzzi are well maintained, and (minus the screaming child in the pool) the place is outstanding for calm families.
Great location to be in downtown in 5-7 minutes by car. Must visit the Healthy Living Market (nearly across the street) to see what outstanding breadth of Vermont grown/made food you an enjoy throughout your stay. 10 times more impressive than the Whole Foods approach. Since you have a kitchen in the room, the market is a perfect place to stop in!

Room Tip: If you use the pool or the gym, request 1st floor facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    123
    29
    7
    6
See reviews for
198
100
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thunder Road
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed at GMS before - and reviewed them . Love the place( I am there right now) , great room , awesome coffee and breakfast and the nightly manager's social introduced me to the great Switchback Ale. But here's the deal ... I reserved my room in June with specific requests- which I know are not guaranteed- and none of them were met. And no one thought to check with me or even inform me?,If you are not going to honor special requests, then why bother asking for them? And I am not a stranger , I've been coming to this hotel for a decade.I did not ask for anything difficult , just a specific room amenity( that the hotel offers) and a specific floor location - no big deal. I would have appreciated a communication or at least an apology that they were not going to be able to accommodate me.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford,MA
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

You can't beat a suite hotel. Good size bedroom & living area, plus a kitchen with cooktop, microwave, dishwasher, and full size fridge. Very convenient. Area is close to highway, markets, & attractions. Nice lobby & pool area. Managers reception on Mon.-Thurs. is great. The food is better on some days than others - but we lucked out with baked manicotti & salad bar on one day , and grilled steak tips w/ mashed potatoes, watermelon & salad bar on the other - all you want. Breakfasts had a large hot & cold selection also. Well worth the price. We had a room on the second floor in the main building on the main road and were not bothered by road noise. So I guess it depends on the person.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quechee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were invited to a wedding and the bride and groom set up a group rate at The Green Mountain Suites Hotel. At first I thought it was a little pricey but after staying there we learned that it was worth it. The rooms were large with very well equiped kitchen,large fridge and very clean. The service was great and the breakfast was wonderful with a very nice variety of food

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We've just returned from our second week long stay at the Green Mountain Suites Hotel. The staff is just wonderful and helpful. The rooms are large and comfortable, as is the lobby. We spent Mon-Thurs evening at the managers happy hour in the lobby chatting with other guests.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwenksville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Came for a wedding and made it into a vacation. Great suite hotel. Clean, nice size suite and comfortable bedding. The bedrooms have a door which can be closed off from living room. There are 2 buildings, the main building which has the lobby and daily breakfast (nice selection) and the Mon-Thurs. Happy Hour where there is a light dinner and complimentary wine and beer. The indoor pool and fitness center (small but has all you need) is also in this building along with rooms (pets allowed in these rooms). Across the small side street (not a busy street) is the annex with rooms only. No pets allowed there. During our week stay we rarely saw any pets. We stayed in the annex, a little quieter than the main building. There is a covered breezeway that connects the building on the 3rd floors. There is also a fire pit outside the lobby in the main building. Enjoyable to sit around in the evening. You must really drive to any locations other than the University Mall & a healthy living grocery store (about a 10 min walk). Downtown Burlington only a 10 min car ride. Ben & Jerry's about 20 min and Stowe about 35 min. Staff is friendly, especially the front desk. I don't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the annex on the 2nd floor, you could take an elevator or the stairs. Annex not as busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a wonderful gem in the middle of Burlington, Vt. We were ambivalent about whether to stay closer to the water, but decided to give Green Mtn. Suites a try....after our welcoming arrival, we were sold on this place! The staff was delightful, warm and bent over backwards to accommodate us. The room was superb with wonderful bedding and linens. The bathrooms had every possible amenity. The hotel offers a complimentary full breakfast buffet and an afternoon "meal" in the dining area every weekday. Just can't recommend this place enough-wonderful place!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Mountain Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Mountain Suites Hotel

Address: 401 Dorset St., South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Romantic Hotel in South Burlington
#1 Business Hotel in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Green Mountain Suites Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience all the charm of a boutique Vermont Country Inn. Each finely appointed one and two bedroom suite features a fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room and separate bedroom(s). Amenities include our Signature Vermont-style hot breakfast, Fireside Reception Monday-Thursday evenings with Vermont craft beers, wine and foods, a state-of-the-art Exercise Facility, Indoor Swimming Pool & Jacuzzi and High-Speed Internet. All amenities included in rate. The Green Mountain Suites Hotel is close to the Church Street Marketplace, The University of Vermont (UVM), Champlain College and St. Michaels College. Burlington International Airport is minutes away from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Green Mountain Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Mountain Hotel South Burlington
Hawthorn Suites South Burlington
Green Mountain South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Mountain Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.