We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for the value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel for the value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Went to burlington last minute with my family. 2queen beds very comfortable. Hotel staff very friendly. Breakfast was included. There was a big pool but we did not use it. Hotel and rooms were very clean. Overall great experience. Only draw back was the internet. Couldn't really connect in room. Had to go to lobby to use it

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear erikatyler,

Thank you for the review. We are happy to hear that you had such a wonderful visit. I apologize about the internet issue you encountered during your stay. I have called our provider to make sure there are no issues. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    121
    93
    30
    12
See reviews for
86
103
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Pretty standard. I stayed here because it was one of the only places left in Burlington with an open room that didn't look like a location for a horror film, so my expectations were low. The staff was friendly, but very short with me, probably because it was busy, and I stayed, slept and left without incident.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jeremy K,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that our service did not meet your expectations. I will share your comments with our staff as we take all guest comments to heart.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We decided on a last minute trip to VT with my wife and kids coming from Montreal.
found a very decent dea lon a website and decided to go for it since it hafd all what we were looking for .
The location of the hotel is completely off the path of other south burlington hotels and there's nothing to do in the area...no big deal since we were driving around anyway.
The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable, day or night....special kudos to the maintenance team who did their best to accomodate our stay.
The room was clean and well furnished, the floor in the tub looked used and even my 3 year old did not want to take a sitting bath because of the dirty aspect.
The heater was hard to fine tune bu again it was not a major issue for us .
what could have been a problem is that the swimming pool was freezing cold on the night we arrived and we had to make due with the hot tub...apparently the boilers had broken and were just fixed so it was goint to taske a while for the pool to warm up.
we came back to morning after and the pool was warm enough for my kids to splash around and burn some energy :)
Breakfast was a nice plus and offered good variety.

I dont know if we will come back to this specific hotel because of the location that s far from the local attractions but it's a good place to know if we ever decide again on a last minute stop over .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Luke911,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologize that the pool temperature was not up to par on your 1st night. I will be sure to share your kudos with our maintenance department on how efficiently they were able to resolve the issue. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon.

Warmest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I stay here every month during my travels and while the front desk staff has changed, their wonderful attitude has not. Even though Jane and Stephanie have only met me a couple of times, they greet me like and old friend. For a hotel that sees a lot of traffic they treat you like you are the most important guest they have.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mel S,

It is always a pleasure when you visit. I will be sure to share your comments with Jane and Stephanie. They will appreciate the acknowledgment of their exceptional customer service. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
you're looking at it
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Front desk and bar staff here are superb. Specifically, many thanks to Jane on the night shift, she went out of her way to make our stay excellent. I hope by mentioning her by name the management will acknowledge Jane's exceptional service.

Hotel rooms are big and well appointed. Lobby area is nice, especially the indoor pool. Location is right off the highway, so it's convenient to get around by car, but we would have preferred to have just kept the car parked at the hotel and walked everywhere we wanted to go. The hotel's location is not very suitable for that. It would take at least 30 minutes to walk to the main area downtown, even longer to Lake Champlain. It's probably an easy walk, but not one you want to do when it's cold outside. It's easy to get a taxi to and from downtown, but Burlington cabs charge a minimum fare of about $7.50 and they add a dollar per head. That turned a $6.25 metered ride from downtown to the hotel to a more than $10 ride for our group of four. Not expensive, but surprising.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This is an average hotel. Nothing super special, but decent anough for a night or two at reasonable rates. Bed was decently comfortable and it was clean enough. Standard hotel room, which was what I had expected.

What I didn't expect was to find 2 long black hairs from someone else's head in the bed. That was clearly a turn off. Unfortunately I was so tired after a long day of traveling and in meetings that I didn't have the effort to call down to the desk and complain. So I let it go, but either way, could have done without it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Jackie255VT,

Thank you for the feedback. I apologize that your recent stay with us fell below your expectations. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff as we move forward and strive for perfection.

Kindest regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and were flying out of Burlington on an early morning flight. The hotel was adequate for our needs and the shuttle was great. We had family drop us at the hotel and, by mistake, had gone to the other Holiday Inn in Burlington. Both shuttle drivers were accommodating and we were squared away in no time. I would definitely stay here again if I were flying into or out of Burlington. It's a bit loud in the rooms because of the proximity to the highway and the furnishings (especially carpet) are a bit outdated, but it was good overall.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Dear blosom8376,

Thank you for the review of your recent stay with us. Pleased to hear our hotel shuttle met your traveling needs. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Regards,

Stacy G.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Address: 1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.