We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff and Clean Facility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Clean Facility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Holiday Inn Express is one of my hotel chains of choice. I have stayed here before and again have nothing bad to say about this specific location. Convenient to the Interstate Highway as well as right on Route 7 and close to shops, downtown and tourist sites it is ideal. More than ample parking and the included internet and breakfast make it wonderful not only for family travel but for business travelers as well.

The staff is courteous and accommodating. As a person who travels with medication that needs refrigeration I phoned ahead of time and requested some assistance with that if possible. There was a small refrigerator in my room upon arrival.

My only issue - and that holds with most hotels - is the lack of electrical outlets. In this day and age where people travel with tablets, laptops, phones and other electronic equipment it would seem logical to have a power strip or extra outlets at table/desk height in each room as well as on the night table.Fortunately I travel with a power strip so it was slightly less of an issue for me but I'm just saying.

Again - due to medical needs I had mentioned the need for extra power at the night table and they did have a four plug outlet on it. So that was a huge help.

The pricing was reasonable The place itself is a bit difficult to see when driving at legal speed. Look for the Comfort Suites sign (same owners) and turn into that entrance. Then make a sharp right to get to the hotel. I have no idea how noisy rooms in the front are. Ask for the "B" building and you should have lots of quiet. Again - I have stayed here before and will do so again when I go up to the Burlington area.

Room Tip: Ask for the "B" building for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Holiday Inn Express in South Burlington, Vermont. We treat every guest as family and strive to make sure we meet each individuals needs. We are working diligently on a solution for the lack of available outlets as guest travel with numerous portable electronics. The docking station with 4 additional outlets on the night stand is step one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    115
    90
    28
    12
See reviews for
83
97
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delmas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

For the price, it is convenient, clean and what is most important the staff is friendly and helpful. Cannot ask for more. An the location is very good, it is so close to the airport, one can make it there in fifteen minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We pride ourselves on exceptional customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. The staff at the Holiday Inn Express appreciates your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Burlington, VT.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

A revisit went well. Keep up the good work though usual fast food type of breakfast. I would certainly add an addiotional fruit or two. A fruit salad could be a major improvement.Over all for sure i will return.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for staying with us regularly. We will definately keep up the good work. We are looking into adding more seasonal fruits to our breakfast bar. We currently have bananas and apples available. Thanks again for your continued patronage and suggestions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Quick trip east for a family gathering. Good hotel. Room was clean and needed a little updating. Nice TV. Great breakfast in the morning. Had everything, bacon, eggs, fruit, yogurt, bagels and cream cheese, and good coffee.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. Our "Smart Start" breakfast is second to none. Hope to see you on your next trip East.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arriving in Burlington on 11/6/12 my husband and I decided to check in after dinner, around 930pm. The woman at checkin, when informed we were a Hotwire booking, was inflexible about placing us in a king bed room when the hotel was only partially booked, even though I informed her I was also a Priority Rewards member. We went to our room, which was as expected at this level/property type. We unpacked, drew the shades and went to bed. When I woke up the next morning from hearing conversation outside my window, I drew the curtains and found out we were located over the indoor pool. Then someone walked by my window and only found out that way that we had a communal balcony. I then looked and realized we didn't have a window but a sliding door and that the door was unlocked. So we spent the night in an unlocked room. We were relieved we didn't check in earlier and leave our belongings unattended in an unsecured room. When I went downstairs to inform the "manager" on duty, he gave me a blank look and said "I'm not sure what you want me to do." Wow. No sincere apology, no offer to immediately at a minimum inform staff that those doors should be secured and that guests should be told the room type where they are placed. Need I say more?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
I apologize that the sliding glass door to the balcony over looking the pool was left unlocked at check in. I have reviewed your comments with our executive housekeeper to ensure that all windows and and sliding doors are locked and secured prior to guest arrival. Thank you for bringing this oversight to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orleans,ON
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed one night late Oct.And were pleasantly surprised with all this hotel has to offer,from the warm cookies on (late) arrival to the bacon and eggs at the free breakfast.
Rooms are big enough for a couple of people with very nice large dubbel sink bathrooms with lots of amenities.
Nice HD flat screen tv etc.
Friendly helpful staff.
Will stay again travelling through Vermont.

Room Tip: $149.00 thru Holiday Inn $ 85.00 thru Hotwire. Do some homework and do ask the questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
We look forward to serving you on your next visit to Burlington. Thank you for the wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We checked into this delightful Holiday Inn - with very modest expectation. We were pleasantly surprised by our room and the hotel accommodations! We booked a King room and it seemed to me that we actually ended up in a suite - it had a full couch - seating area - and the couch was a sleeper - 4 of us could have actually been quite comfortable in that roomy suite.

The staff was SUPER friendly and every single staffer, from the maintenance man, to the maids always made eye contact when passing you in the hall and all gave a friendly "Good morning!" each and every time. Might be a small thing to mention, but I've been at many a place when the staff ignored you or were even surly!

There was a beautiful indoor pool, and sauna & jacuzzi. We luxuriated there for almost and hour - it was lovely since it was all enclosed in glass and it almost seemed like you were out in the gorgeous woods. There is also a small but clean and neat exercise room with a few treadmills and such.

The FULL breakfast that was included was impressive and changed each day. It included made to order pancakes, an egg option, a breakfast meat option, biscuits and gravy, hot cinnamon rolls, cereal - hot and cold, yogurt and a variety of breads. Of course hot and cold beverages - tea, coffee and a juice bar. You really started your day on a full stomach.

This was 10 mins from downtown Burlington, but it was perfect and easy to get back and forth!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StacyGermond, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience during your stay at the Holiday Inn Express South Burlington. We take great pride in our friendly and professional service. Hope to see you next time you visit the Burlington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South

Address: 1720 Shelburne Road, South Burlington, VT 05403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > South Burlington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in South Burlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South Burlington hotel offers great location in beautiful Vermont. Enjoy a comfortable stay at our Holiday Inn Express Hotel of South Burlington. Our convenient Vermont hotel is located just minutes from Lake Champlain, bustling downtown Burlington, and the Burlington International Airport. When you're ready to travel, our South Burlington, VT hotel offers a free 24-hour shuttle service to the Burlington International Airport (BVT). In addition to being convenient to the Burlington airport, our hotel is also near many businesses such as GE Healthcare, University of Vermont, St. Michael's College, General Dynamics and Goodrich. Both business and leisure travelers love to stay at our 100% Non-Smoking hotel in South Burlington as it's located less than five miles away from many of Vermont's best attractions including the Shelburne Museum, Shelburne Farms, Vermont Teddy Bear Factory, and Church St. Market Place. Other popular area attractions include the University Mall, Cairns Arena, Ben and Jerry's Ice Cream Factory, Stowe, and Sugarbush Ski Resorts. During your visit to Vermont, enjoy amenities that include a heated indoor pool, hot tub, saunas, and fitness center, and try our complimentary 'Smart Start' breakfast bar featuring the exclusive Holiday Inn Express Cinnamon Rolls, eggs, and sausage or bacon daily. Book your Burlington vacation at this Holiday Inn Express. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Burlington South
Holiday Inn South Burlington
Holiday Inn Express South Burlington
Comfort Inn South Burlington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Burlington South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.