We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a GEM!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of the Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heart of the Village Inn
Save
You added Heart of the Village Inn to your Saves list
5347 Shelburne Road, P.O. 953, Shelburne, VT 05482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What a GEM!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2009

How lovely! A beautiful older home, wonderfully maintained. The owner was friendly and nice and a good cook. As we were the only ones staying there that night, he made fresh omelets that were great. The room was beautiful and comfortable. We had a bathroom connected to our room with a lovely claw footed tub. There were homemade cookies and hot drinks or water and juice available in the afternoon and evening. The bed was so comfortable and the location so quiet. Wonderful comforter! We walked to the Bearded Frog for the best meal of our trip. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    28
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
61
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

At the advice of a local friend, I booked a last-minute stay at the Heart of the Village Inn. We were met by a very friendly night manager who showed us to our room, directed us to the free chocolate chip cookies (highly recommended) and very helpfully booked us a table at a local restaurant.

Our room great - clean and cozy - and the bathroom was well-appointed and spacious. Nothing fancy, mind you, but just what one would expect of a late 1800's B&B. Breakfast on Sunday morning was outstanding - fruit, juice, yoghurt and cereal were laid out buffet-style and in the kitchen the owners cooked up great french toast and sausage.

The owners were both very friendly, and the other guests we saw were all having a great time. Though our stay was short, we would definitely return.

For those looking for a great local dinner, the Bearded Frog is a two-minute walk away and served one of the better meals I'd had in many months.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

We stayed two nights here and liked it a lot, the staff were really nice and accomadating. The inn is in Shelburne, about 7 miles from Burlington so you need to drive up to Burlington if you want to eat or visit there, but the Shelburn Museum (which is an essential visit if you're in this area) is just about a mile down the road.

Our room was lovely and clean, nicely decorated and had a great hot tub in a second room in the suite. Breakfast (with a hot entree) was provided each morning and was very good.

Not terribly cheap at $250 a night, but it was worth the extra for the relative privacy (we were in the Carriage House which is seperate from the main property).

Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is a classic old Victorian house smack in the middle of Shelburne Village, within walking distance of three excellent restaurants and across the street from the Shelburne Museum, the huge and wonderful museum of American folk art and life.

The Inn itself is not for you if you are looking for all the modern amenities and luxury. It is for you if you want a cozy, warm, old fashioned Victorian feel. The beds and linens were excellent. The breakfast also excellent and the service friendly. They leave cookies and teas out in the evening, and it was cool to sit in the living room and look out at the snow.

The new owners (2007) are veterans of the hotel industry, and I bet they fix some of the concerns of previous reviews.

This is a great location, especially in the spring, summer, and fall, to sample the joys and activities of the Champlain Valley, from biking to Lake Champlain to Burlington, hiking in the Green Mountain, apple and berry picking nearby, and the Vermont countryside.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We had a great stay at Heart of the Village. Terrific breakfasts, wonderful service and elegant surroundings. Geoff and Maureen were very helpful and accessible in helping us plan day trips and restaurant meals. (By the way, there are some really wonderful restaurants in Shelburne.) Would we stay at Heart of the Villag again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

We rented out the entire B&B for the weekend and I can't say enough about the great experience we had. The rooms and breakfeasts were great. The location is terrific, in a quaint village center within walking distance of antique stores, restaurants and a great general store.
We stayed there for a weekend last year as well. There are new owners now, Jeff and Maureen from NJ and they were perfect hosts. We are planning a trip this winter to the area for skiing and we will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Great Location & Great Service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2007

We stayed here for 3 nights in October, occupying the Barstow/Shelburne combined rooms as well as the Fletcher. All those rooms are in the Carriage Barn, which I am told is quieter than the main house due to its being farther from the busy street. However, there still is some street noise and each morning between 5:00 and 5:30 a.m. a train goes by, close enough to rattle the building.

The Barstow is an accessible room and is fine for that in most respects; however, the bath is a shower-tub combination (albeit with a handle for support) so if a roll-in or walk-in shower is required, one should bear this in mind. There is also a small rug in that room that does not have a rug pad and tends to curl up at its corners, so for the mobility impaired that could be an issue.

The rooms are decorated nicely, but are lacking in some odd and obvious ways: The Shelburne is available and booked as a sleeping room, and yet it has no chest of drawers, no closet or armoire, and no wall mirror. (There is one large armoire in that room, but it is used as storage (unlocked) for the inn's linen supplies). One of the window shades for a window facing the parking lot was missing, and although we reported it to the innkeeper the morning after our first night there, it was never replaced during our stay. In the rooms that did have armoires, there were very few hangers upon our arrival although they did bring us more upon our request. The armoire in the Fletcher room is very narrow - perhaps 20" in width, providing very little room for clothing for two persons. The only mirrors were the ones in the bathrooms. Robes are not provided (this may be a coincidence, but it is the first Select Registry inn I've stayed in - and I've stayed in quite a few - where this was the case). Shampoo, conditioner, and soaps were provided but not such usual items as shower caps, hand cream or moisturizer, makeup remover cloths, and the like.

For reasons unknown to me there is one whirlpool bath in the Carriage Barn, and it is located in the Webb Suite on the second floor. When the guests in that room used it one night, around 10:00 p.m., the whirlpool was very, very loud - loud enough to frighten my parents who were sleeping in the first floor room below (please note that it was the whirlpool itself, not the guests, that was loud - the guests probably had no idea it was making so much noise).

The breakfasts were ample and well-prepared, although the service and presentation could be better. There is a delicious buffet of wonderful homemade breads, fruit, granola and yogurt as well as plated hot entrees. Coffee is available in the Carriage Barn between 7:00 and 7:15 a.m., although they were slow to refill the carafe and didn't replenish the sugar bowl the entire time we were there. In the afternoon, cookies are available in the butler's pantry; water, juices, and teas are also available there around the clock. However if one is expecting an Afternoon Tea spread of some kind, there is none. They also do not provide evening wine and appetizers, although wine is available for purchase.

All in all it was a pleasant and adequate but not outstanding stay. Since it is under new ownership (since May, 2007) they may still be fine-tuning the operation. The owners are friendly and experienced in the hotel industry, although this is their first bed & breakfast inn. It is very conveniently located, indeed in the heart of Shelburne, which is a delightful and picturesque village.

  • Liked — Proximity to shops and the home of someone we were visiting
  • Disliked — Street/train/whirlpool noise, staff service
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of the Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of the Village Inn

Address: 5347 Shelburne Road, P.O. 953, Shelburne, VT 05482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic village of Shelburne, the Heart of the Village Inn is the perfect place to stay in the Burlington area. We are conveniently located across the road from the Shelburne Museum, and surrounded by several great restaurants and art galleries, along with a quintessential Vermont country store and a local wine & coffee shop. We are a short-bike-ride away from Shelburne Farms, Shelburne Vineyards, Vermont Teddy Bear, and the beaches of Lake Champlain. A ten-minute drive will get you to downtown Burlington, and within sight of some of the best ski mountains in New England. The freshly-redecorated Heart of the Village Inn features nine guest rooms, all with private baths, phones, WiFi, and A/C. Innkeepers Shona Mossey and Zoe Bishop look forward to showering you with their hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of the Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.