We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of the Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heart of the Village Inn
Save
You added Heart of the Village Inn to your Saves list
5347 Shelburne Road, P.O. 953, Shelburne, VT 05482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Spot on.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

You got it, have a good one at the Heart of the village INN.
The staff were super nice and the food was good and plentiful.
We ate at three nearby restaurants and enjoyed good food there too.
Cute small shops abound, in walking distance.
Try the Shelburne Craft School too.

Room Tip: The adjoining barn rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shel5347, Manager at Heart of the Village Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you got the full Shelburne experience and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the Craft School as well, they are a local gem that sometimes gets overlooked. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    26
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
60
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I am back to my normal day to day after a glorious stay at the Heart of the Village Inn last week. I was in town for a nearby conference for work and was so glad to be relaxing at the Inn each evening after long, busy days. Even better was starting each day with the wonderful, several course, local ingredient breakfasts! I have to say the location was convenent, the staff exceptional, and the front porch and gardens not to be missed. I would go out of my way to stay at the Heart of the Village Inn again if I was any where in the Lake Champlain region! (Oh yeah, last week was HOT in VT and all rooms at the Inn have a/c! Not always true of New England B&B's!)

Room Tip: Boswick rocks! The staff said it was even their favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shel5347, Manager at Heart of the Village Inn, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your time with us; It is very important that our guests feel at home and leave for their day's adventure with a full stomach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

What a great place. Staff was most accommodating to the needs of my somewhat unsteady 92 year old mother-in-law. The rooms were beautiful, well kept and clean as could be. Very nice furnishings, and most important the bed lead to a good night's sleep. Breakfast was great, especially the yogurt and berries, a meal in itself. Throughout, the staff was most accommodating, not to mention down right friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shel5347, Manager at Heart of the Village Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
What a kind review! We do have a tremendous staff at Heart of the Village. They are young and full of energy and ideas for exploring our area, whether guests are with us for a day or a week. We are happy to accommodate and help out in any way we can. We are so glad to hear that our efforts made you feel welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a wonderful place we discovered! I was looking for a spur of the moment weekend getaway for my wife and I and all of the places in the area were booked. I stumbled upon Heart of the Village and they had a vacancy. We couldn't have been more lucky. We stayed in the Fletcher room, out in the converted carriage barn, and it was terrific. Quaint and nicely appointed.

The house and carriage barn was simply excellent and the staff was the most pleasant we've ever encountered. Zoe, the innkeeper, was most helpful in providing spur of the moment requests and information before our arrival. All of the staff were very informative about things to do and see in the area.

Breakfast was very good...the french toast was to die for!

The house and grounds are very beautiful and well maintained. We highly recommend Heart of the Village for your stay in Shelburne.

Room Tip: Try the Fletcher Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shel5347, Manager at Heart of the Village Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Steve thanks so much for your kind words! We have a keen attention to detail and just love giving suggestions to our visitors. It sounds like your stay was a full and memorable one, and we couldn't be more delighted!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We booked rooms in the main house with another couple; my husband and I stayed in the Van Vliet Room, which overlooks Route 7. (I hadn't envisioned such a busy roadway when contemplating a visit to Shelburne, but happily the room air conditioner drowned out all the traffic noise.) The room is comfortably large, and the bed was truly luxurious: 6 pillows for only 2 people, with nice linens and a loving mattress. We also used the parlor quite a bit--unusual for us, but it was pleasant to sit in, with interesting books (and homemade cookies) on offer, and was a great place to wait for our friends in the morning or before dinner. The breakfasts are generous, and homemade breads were available with coffee and tea for half an hour before service starts at 8:00. Our hostesses were very friendly and accommodating. The inn is also an easy (for the young) walk from the Shelburne Museum, which deserves a two-day visit (possible on one ticket).

Room Tip: Because of the traffic, you may want to opt for a room in the back of the house or in the carriage h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shel5347, General Manager at Heart of the Village Inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are so glad to hear that you folks enjoyed your visit! We do enjoy sharing our little village with travelers and we hope to host you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndonville, Vermont, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a special birthday celebration for 2 nights and loved every minute of it. The rooms were beautifully appointed, the bed luxurious and we couldn't have been more well served. The breakfasts were delicious. Being from Vermont, we know of lots of Inns around the Burlington area and this is one of the best!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shel5347, Manager at Heart of the Village Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
We're so glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves for your getaway, and that we helped to make it a memorable Birthday celebration for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If for some reason, some twist of fate, your find yourself around Burlington, Vermont!!!.....you are in for a treat, head up the road to the Heart of the Village Inn. An old Victorian style house - lace and potpourri, heaps of character, great furniture which has really nice people running it. I am sure Agatha Christie's Miss Marples would stay here, she is probably in the next room!! We really enjoyed this place, breakfast was excellent, all amenities great and there are a number of easy to walk to and to stumble back from restaurants in Shelburne. Do yourself a favour-if ever around here, yes the Shelburne Museum is worth a visit, but the Heart of the Village is most definitely worth experiencing. Say g'day to Zoe.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shel5347, Manager at Heart of the Village Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind words! We always love to share our old house and our little village with friends from far off places, and Zoe sends a g'day back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of the Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of the Village Inn

Address: 5347 Shelburne Road, P.O. 953, Shelburne, VT 05482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic village of Shelburne, the Heart of the Village Inn is the perfect place to stay in the Burlington area. We are conveniently located across the road from the Shelburne Museum, and surrounded by several great restaurants and art galleries, along with a quintessential Vermont country store and a local wine & coffee shop. We are a short-bike-ride away from Shelburne Farms, Shelburne Vineyards, Vermont Teddy Bear, and the beaches of Lake Champlain. A ten-minute drive will get you to downtown Burlington, and within sight of some of the best ski mountains in New England. The freshly-redecorated Heart of the Village Inn features nine guest rooms, all with private baths, phones, WiFi, and A/C. Innkeepers Shona Mossey and Zoe Bishop look forward to showering you with their hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of the Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.