We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“graduation, weekend, christmas, any time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart of the Village Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shelburne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heart of the Village Inn
Save
You added Heart of the Village Inn to your Saves list
5347 Shelburne Road, P.O. 953, Shelburne, VT 05482   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Natick
1 review
“graduation, weekend, christmas, any time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We found the Inn at "Vermont Bed and Breakfasts" because B&Bs are our favorite places to stay. We have stayed in many throughout New England and especially in Vermont and this is by far our favorite! We have two sons at the University of Vermont so we have lots of opportunity to be in the area and now that we have found The Heart of the Village Inn, we visit even more frequently! In December we took over the entire main house (5 bedrooms) for our son's graduation - it was a great experience! The house was beautifully decorated for the holidays - we were able to use the entire first floor to relax and hang out and they truly made a spectacular breakfast - including a very special omellette for the graduate! The inn and the innkeepers helped to make his graduation even more special. Thank you!

Room Tip: The Webb Room in the carriage house is comfortable with a two person fantastic whirlpool bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    28
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
61
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Love the place! We stayed in the Barstow room, which had an adjoining room for my younger daughter to sleep in. The bed in the Barstow was awesome. I think they used a TempurPedic topper. Great night sleep. Room was very quaint, clean and charming. Breakfast the next day was good. Loved the cookies on offer in the lobby.

Will not hesitate to stay here again the next time I am in Shelburne.

Room Tip: Loved Barstow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The accommodations at the Inn were superb...each room has its own distinct personality and I am sure that any room would result in a most pleasurable experience for the traveler. The food and service were excellent and the staff both friendly and engaging, which added a great deal to our experience. At the time of our visit, my significant other encountered a very difficult back problem. The Innkeeper (Shona) stepped in immediately in the very nicest way possible, contacting a friend who was a chiropractor and getting us an appointment early the next morning of our stay. As if that were not enough, she extended our checkout time into the wee hours of the afternoon, so that my significant other could rest while I continued my business in the area. She sent us on our way home with a lovely bag of fresh baked cookies late in the afternoon. It would be impossible to say enough good things regarding our visit to the Inn in this short space. It was in my view an unparalleled experience and I would recommend a stay at this wonderful village inn to anyone visiting the Greater Burlington area

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent two pleasant days here, enjoying good breakfasts, a quiet room and good service. Not your usual B&B with lots of knickknacks and potpourri, just the amenities to make us comfortable.

K & C

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We took 3 rooms- the Barstow, with a crib, was very spacious. All were lovely- decorated with flowered fabric and antique style beds. The breakfasts were delicious- each morning with a special touch, plus scones, home baked breads, etc. Staff was friendly and went out of their way to please. We'll be repeat customers, for sure.

Room Tip: The staff will guide you to suit your needs. One room has a bathroom in the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, NH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

An excellent choice as a base to discover Burlington and Lake Champlain. We booked last minute and took the only remaining room at the front of the hotel. Other reviews left us a little concerned regarding traffic noise, but it wasn't really an issue. The Inn has retained its period look and our room was very comfortable with a small en-suite bath. We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. They provided lots of useful information about local attractions and dining options. The breakfasts are cooked to order and are very creative. One of the owners is vegan, so they pay close attention to dietary requests.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Lovely innkeepers, lovely rooms (all redone), lovely breakfast! Just a delight. And reasonably priced. These folks recently bought and renovated the inn and it is beautiful. I would go there again in a minute!

Room Tip: There is a very fun restaurant a half block away called the Bearded Toad. Great food and bar. And...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Heart of the Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heart of the Village Inn

Address: 5347 Shelburne Road, P.O. 953, Shelburne, VT 05482
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic village of Shelburne, the Heart of the Village Inn is the perfect place to stay in the Burlington area. We are conveniently located across the road from the Shelburne Museum, and surrounded by several great restaurants and art galleries, along with a quintessential Vermont country store and a local wine & coffee shop. We are a short-bike-ride away from Shelburne Farms, Shelburne Vineyards, Vermont Teddy Bear, and the beaches of Lake Champlain. A ten-minute drive will get you to downtown Burlington, and within sight of some of the best ski mountains in New England. The freshly-redecorated Heart of the Village Inn features nine guest rooms, all with private baths, phones, WiFi, and A/C. Innkeepers Shona Mossey and Zoe Bishop look forward to showering you with their hospitality. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart of the Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.