We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, Creative and Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bearded Frog

The Bearded Frog
5247 Shelburne Rd, Ste 100, Shelburne, VT 05482-7041
802-985-9877
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 28 Restaurants in Shelburne
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: American, Vegetarian, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Brandon, Vermont
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cozy, Creative and Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is the third visit to the Frog and probably the best. Our party of four sat in the tavern; copper topped tables in the booths and a warmer atmosphere than the dining room. There is a varied selection of beer and wine with many local choices. The menu was divided in the pub section and dining room offerings. I had the vegggie burger which came with fries and 2 dipping sauces, both quite tasty. I also had a side of the shredded brussel sprouts which could have used more garlic for my taste but great all the same. My friends had pork, filet mignon and the most creative use of leftover bread I have ever seen: Indian spiced bread pudding served with crispy kale. All of the entrees were a hit. We were too full to indulge in dessert but the "Birthday Cake" would have been my choice.PS.The bakery next door looked inviting. It is connected to the restaurant but only open from ? until 2pm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    43
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

There seem to be no bad choices on the creative and appealing menu. Every bite of food that crossed our plates was superb. The dining room is a little snug, but very nicely decorated. Service was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Gourmet Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The bar menu offers exceptionally good burgers, both meat and vegetarian. Friends swear by the venison burger. The sides are delicious if not particularly suited to the health conscious. Outdoor seating is nice in warmer months. When we have strayed away from the burger options, the food has not seemed worth the price.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delish & Comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Great servers, food & wine. We were celebrating a special occasion and the staff was very helpful with seating us in a more quiet area. At the end of the meal the server even left a little note of congratulations with our bill. Very nice all around and we will be returning soon. Oh! And yummo... french fried cornbread.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“my favorite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I live here so I have many choices. When I want a special dinner with my husband, this is where we go. Delicious bistro food, great wine list and the servers are very knowledgeable about the wines.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bearded Frog also viewed

 

Been to The Bearded Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bearded Frog, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.