We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Updated Classic Charm - Spotless Room - Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of T-Bird Motor Inn

T-Bird Motor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added T-Bird Motor Inn to your Saves list
T-Bird Motor Inn
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   4405 Shelburne Road, Shelburne, VT 05482   |  
Hotel amenities
Wakefield, MA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Updated Classic Charm - Spotless Room - Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Spent two nights at this classic, but updated old school style motel - booked rooms here based on the reviews on this site, and was not disappointed.

Arrived a bit early, but they were just finishing cleaning my room (one facing the back, very quiet), and the maids couldn't have been nicer about it. As one of them finished up, she even wiped the molding on the OUTSIDE of the door - at what hotel do you see that kind of detail, ever?

Room was very nicely appointed, comfortable bed, HD flat screen tv, spotless and updated bathroom, windows that open, and plenty of room.

A continental breakfast is included at the Dutch Mill next door, but you can upgrade to a full breakfast for a nominal charge, and I found the restaurant to be a classic step back in time, and the food quite good. It is advisable to get over there early as the place is small and fills up quickly with locals and visitors.

You also receive a $5 discount for the Shelburne Museum, and that was very welcome. Spent a full day at the museum and brought back many memories of childhood visits.

In short, this was one of the nicest hotel experiences I've had in a long time, and can not recommend this establishment enough. Clean rooms, updated amenities, and a price that can't be beat.

I

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if possible to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    11
    6
    6
See reviews for
30
31
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Spent 4 nights in this great motel recently. Brought back many memories from my childhood Staying in motels on vacations. Very friendly and when you walk into the room you notice how very clean and cool it is there. Old style rooms but with flat screens and great air cond. Bathroom is super clean. highly recommend !!!

Room Tip: do not worry about road noise. quiet and landscaping is great. Pool area is very nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The owner was very polite, gave us all the information we needed and offered us coupons for nearby attractions. The room was very clean and big. The room has full hd flat screen tv which is just great. Try to order the rooms in the back so you won't be disturb by the cars and trucks passing by on road 7.
Breakfast at the Dutch mill was basic. You can't upgrade it to a different one.if you want something Else they as you to pay its full price.
Overall it was a good stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Grove, New York
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here with the family while visiting the Burlington/Shelburne area. Immaculately clean motor court. Fellow at the front desk was welcoming and gave us info on area attractions and coupons. Yes, the coupon for continental breakfast only covered coffee or juice and english muffin, but they credited us the value when we ordered full breakfasts. Nice to have a refrigerator in the room. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the T-Bird due to the fact that a major athletic event in Burlington made finding a hotel room for a wedding difficult. The prices of the hotels were quite high due to demand, which I understand, but the high price made the lack of basic amenities such as an iron, particuarly egregious.
Pros: Super clean, comfy queen size beds, helpful staff, in-room refrigerator.
Cons: The "continental" breakfast "included" was at a nearby restaurant and covered toast OR English muffin and coffee OR juice. It wasn't worth waiting to be seated and then paying a tip. The pillows were hard as bricks. There was no in-room coffeemaker, the included toiletries included only soap and shampoo, and there was not only no iron in the room, they wouldn't lend us one either. We had to tell them when we needed an iron and them come to the hotel laundry room and do our ironing there (and there was no place to hang our clothes). The front desk clerk was very nice about it, but in all my years of traveling I've never had to walk around a motel with my clothes and then do my ironing in a hotel laundry room because they were so afraid I'd steal their iron.

I wouldn't recommend staying here unless the price was significantly lower than the many other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Sorry to say, will not recommend this motel. Greeted very nicely, attractions and coupons given. Room was clean. Pool nice.
Given a coupon for continental breadfast down the street. But is only for coffee , juice and english muffin. How is that continental? No bags in the trash pails. No coffee pot or refridgerator. They forgot to give us soap on our last morning. Go to the office you say? I did and it was closed.
Checking out, and this man at the desk only asks if we made long distance calls. Did we enjoy our visit? were you open to give us soap?
Paige

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family - Dad, Mom, two kids (15 and 12) - stayed for a night during a recent trip through Vermont, and we couldn't have been happier. This place is very clean, and obviously the owners have made a commitment to keeping it up. It's definitely been upgraded. The pool area is very clean and welcoming. The rooms included flat panel HDTVs (with multiple channels, which was great to have during the Olympics). And this is among the most affordable of all the places we researched in the Greater Burlington area. We were just a short drive into downtown Burlington. The complimentary continental breakfast is in the restaurant next door. The manager is also very friendly and accommodating, and gave us great recommendations on the best way to get around downtown Burlington and where to park. Overall, a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to T-Bird Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T-Bird Motor Inn

Address: 4405 Shelburne Road, Shelburne, VT 05482
Location: United States > Vermont > Shelburne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — T-Bird Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meticulously Clean and Well Maintained. Closest to the Historical Shelburne Museum, and Vermont Teddy Bear Factory. Just minutes to Shelburne Farms, UVM, University Mall, and Downtown Burlington's unique waterfront. Access to Lake Champlain is less then 1 mile. Sitting on six beautiful acres with a large outdoor pool. All room are non-smoking. Amenities include hairdryer, CCTV, and some refrigerators. All one level, park at you door. AAA and Mobile Guide Rated ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your T-Bird Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Bird Hotel Shelburne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T-Bird Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.