We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Working Farm.. And Much More” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne Farms

Shelburne Farms
1611 Harbor Rd., Shelburne, VT 05482
802-985-8686
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 10 attractions in Shelburne
Type: Farms, Historic Sites, Educational Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Walking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Historic buildings and property now a farm where children can participate.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“A Working Farm.. And Much More”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Shelburne Farms is a place to make time for... at least three hours, so you can walk the trails, visit the extra ordinary farm, which houses a woodworking shop, a bakery, a cheese making facility, and of course, a place for farm animals. There are miles of gorgeous walking trails, and for those unable to walk on their own, there are shuttles running throughout the day, so you can hop on and off. I did not eat while I was at the farm, so cannot comment on the quality of the dinners that other reviewers have mixed opinions about, but there are certainly more than enough restaurants in the immediate area. As a photographer, I loved this place for making photos as well. Be sure to visit the website, as it is extremely well constructed and provides great information.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    32
    15
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shelburne, Vermont
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A truly special meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We reserve this for special occasions, birthdays, anniversaries etc., but it should really be enjoyed a few times each season at the minimum. Arrive at least an hour before your reservation, get a specialty cocktail and stroll the grounds. Nothing is more relaxing than an evening spent at The Inn at Shelburne Farms. the food is ultra-fresh, in season, local and amazing.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful place - disappointing food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were a family group of 10 there for Sunday supper. Half of us returned our veal as it was so tough it could not be eaten. the pork was very fatty and only one other offering was on the bill of fare - beans. It was expensive and disappointing.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great spot for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Fabulous staff, great mission, lots of animals to pet and chase, and a whole room full of farm-inspired toys. And you get to ride in a cart behind a tractor to get to the barns. What's not to love? Know that it's all open to the outside, so if it's chilly dress warmly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Maine, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“beautiful farm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I enjoyed the wagon ride up to the farm. We arrived later in the day and got to help put the chickens inside. We didn't have a lot of time so I would definitely want to return when we can spend more time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelburne Farms also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Farms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne Farms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Shelburne Farms to your Saves list