We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vermont surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne Museum

Shelburne Museum
6000 Shelburne Rd., Shelburne, VT 05482
802-985-3346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Shelburne
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum in Vermont that displays approximately 80,000 items of folk art and similar works.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Vermont surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited this attraction during a "tree peepers" holiday - wrong to call it a museum - it is a huge collection of houses, buildings, vehicles, art - you name it - it is probably there! Vast array of New England buildings and artefacts that have been saved from the demolition man and "progress", favourites were the old school sleigh complete with coal fire for the kids and the surrey with the fringe on top, A full day here will hardly do it justice - the art collection is fantastic. Not to mention the paddle steamer and station complete with steam train, the village store selling tripe at 3 cents a pound is snapshot of the good old days

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    70
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, NH
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We loved The Shelburne Museum!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We visited the Shelburne Museum last week and absolutely loved it. I have always wanted to go and it was exactly what I imagined. We spent about 3hrs and easily could have spent more time but it was just so cold. We loved all of the houses/exhibits/shops and found everything so interesting. A few of the houses were closed as we did visit on the last week that they are open. Our favorite parts of the museum were the Ticonderoga, the General Store/Apothecary Shop, the print shop, the quilt exhibit, the schoolhouse, the train station and most definitely the carousel & circus building.
This is a great museum for families, couples and really any group. Expect to walk A LOT and make sure you wear appropriate clothes for the weather. Lots of photo opportunities and so much to learn. We look forward to going back sometime next year.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wander into the 1800's of Vermont, round barn, stencil house, and the Ticonderoga Steam Ship.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I go several times each year. And every time brings a new experience to me. With a year round modern museum recently added to the collection of historic homes, stores, a real lighthouse from Lake Champlain, a restored cruise ship, round barn, etc. you can now visit year around for lectures, parties, art displays, and educational experiences and from May-Oct to see the entire exhibit.

Today I came back from a fabulous "meet" the writer, Reeve Lindberg, who lives in Vermont. (Yes, her father was the famous pilot!). We were in the new, year round modern lecture hall, art museum, educational center. Even if the historic buildings are not open, you can still walk around the grounds and put yourself in a "small town" from the 1800's of Vermont. So whenever you are in the Burlington, VT area, do visit.

1973 was my first visit to Shelburne Museum. And I have been going back several times every year since. Lilac festival, opening of the Wyeth paintings, the Quilt festival in the Round Barn, peony party at the Brick House, the Dog Party in Sept where you can all bring your dogs for a party just for them. And then walk around and around the lighthouse, before going inside to see how a local family lived there year round. (Their exercise was walking around and around the light house!)

Visiting the Ticonderoga, the most amazing local steamboat is a ten star trip in itself. Go on board and see the beautiful woodwork, chairs, deck, sitting areas, overnight rooms, and the engine room, too! Do include the movie that shows how it was moved across land and RR tracks from Lake Champlain one winter, to its new home in the Shelburne Museum. And see if an early thaw sidetracked the mission. Hanging out over the railing, and having your photo taken, will let your friends think you really are cruising on the lake, too.

The peony party at the Brick House is a very special treat for me. The rooms have been restored back to the original. The walk around the exterior is filled with white, pink, red, cranberry, marroon, raspberry, double, single peonies. You want to take every one home with you. Lake Champlain glistens in the background. This is one of the homes of the Webb family who founded Shelburne Farms and Shelburne Museum.

If you are here from May through Oct. after your visit, then do go and see Shelburne Farms, where you can have dinner, and stay overnight in yet another historic building owned by the Webb family. The multiple layers of crown molding alone are worth the trip. Then the gardens right on the lake, the porches....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granilte Bay, CA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A step back in time - a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I saw the covered bridge from the highway but there were 'no parking' signs all along the road so we drove up and into what turned out to be a highlight of our "Fall colours" vacation. In describing our vacation to friends and family the fall colours and the covered bridges are mentioned but the Shelburn Museum is the focal point of our vacation description. WOW - what a discovery. The time, money, and effort that went into developing this 'step back in time' is absolutely incredible. There was an exhibit for every interest and the docents were extremely knowledgable and prepared. I still cannot imagine how such a great piece of history was so well preserved.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Trip back in history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Shelburne Museum is a trip back in history - homes, boat, lighthouse and more. Many structures depicting buildings from years ago along with a restores passenger vessel. Changing art exhibits provide an opportunity to view fantastic works by artists - we say Wyeth father, son and grandson works when we visited on October 14, 2013.

A shuttle is available that travels around the grounds and stops at designated places around the acreage. The café has delicious sandwiches at a reasonable price.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelburne Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.