We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simply great way to spend a few hours.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shelburne Museum

Shelburne Museum
6000 Shelburne Rd., Shelburne, VT 05482
802-985-3346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Shelburne
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Museum in Vermont that displays approximately 80,000 items of folk art and similar works.
Auburn, Maine
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
93 attraction reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A simply great way to spend a few hours.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We turned around to go here on our way to the Teddy Bear Factory, and we're real glad we did.

A ton of cool things to see and learn about the area from. There is everything from a Full Size Steam Ship (hauled here from Lake Champlain) a lighthouse, old period builds and folks dress as such talking about the times. A nice souvenir shop as well.

Nice friendly folks

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    70
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Edward, New York
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You need more than one day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very nice, so many things to see you really need an extra day to see it all. My advise if you go after a certain time which i think is like 3 pm you can go again the next day for free, Check their web site to be sure. There is a ship you can go through that is really amazing. several houses , and buildings a jail, circus display, carousel . Too many things to mention , Seriously more than you can see in a day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

have been here several times -- it is too large to view at one visit. outstanding exhibits, easily accessible. lots of rural history, much of it exhibited in beautifully reconstructed settings. very interesting occasional special exhibits (e.g. older motorcycles; vermont made guns) in addition to the wide range of permanent exhibits. one of my favorite museums.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monkton, Vermont
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Funky and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This fun museum has many buildings and displays spread out over acres. It is varied and ecclectic- circus memorabilia, a forge, a real lighthouse, a real steamship, an art gallery, and old buggies and wagons are just some of the items that make up this collection. One day is probably not enough.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“An Amazing American Museum: 45 acres of Art, Buildings, Crafts & More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We highly recommend the Shelburne Museum. We live just a few miles away and have a year round family membership. We have probably visited 100 times in the the last 15 years. There are rotating exhibits and permanent exhibits: 1950s toys (easy bake oven, slinky, etc.), Steam punk, VW bugs, et al. This year they had a snowmobile collection tracing back to its roots - so one could travel in the snow. They have a permanent carousel - feel free to ride as much as you like (we have)! Plus they have some amazing "high end" art - Cassat, Degas, Manet, Monet, etc. Once you enter the 45 acre grounds, you're free to walk around (or your kids can run around) without a care.
Though the museum is not free, our family pass makes it easy on the wallet and we feel it is well worth the admission. Best to come on a day without rain, though they do have covered trams for rainy days or for those with difficulty walking. Enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shelburne Museum also viewed

 

Been to Shelburne Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shelburne Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.