We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but Noisy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairbanks Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fairbanks Inn to your Saves list
Fairbanks Inn
401 Western Avenue, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Connecticut
1 review
“Nice but Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

The room was very nice, but the woman who checked us in acted very put out, as if we were an annoyance. The next day we found her to be in an even worse mood. All the other staff members we encountered were very pleasant.I think it's fantastic that they take dogs. We were unhappy due to a lot of noise in the room above us because little kids were running around for hours.

  • Liked — They take dogs
  • Disliked — Noise overhead
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    40
    28
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
51
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

We were suprised with the size and cleanliness of the rooms, well maintained landscape and manicuerd lawns. The bedroom is huge with very comfortable beds, minibar, microwave and nice country style furniture.

Bathroom was a bit samall compared to the room, but very clean. Floors are a somewhat noisy.

Staff is very friendly willing to give advise and directions.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and staf friendliness
  • Disliked — noisy floors
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2008

Fantastic balcony and view in a nice clean room with a very helpful staff. I did'nt want to leave. Well cared for grounds and beautiful pool. Great location in outskirts of town near major businesses and main roadways.

  • Liked — Balcony and great view plus well kept grounds and rooms
  • Disliked — I can't think of any
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Mi
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2008

We booked one night at this hotel and later called to add a second night. We were told we would have to switch rooms for each night so we were not going to stay our second night here, but then we were offered a discounted rate for both nights so we proceeded to make reservations for the second night. When we checked in we were told we wouldn't have to switch rooms afterall. We confirmed that the rate would be the same as we had been quoted on the phone. However, when we checked out we were not given the discount. We were told that the person who had offered it had "not been authorized to give that to us." It would be looked into and we would be called back. We made 3 calls and each time were led to believe that we would be called back but never were. We were refused the difference and if we could do it again we would stay somewhere else. There are plenty of other nice places to stay in the White Mts.

  • Disliked — weren't given rate quoted
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

We stayed for two nights this past July. As others have written, the room was HUGE, although the bathroom was on the small side it was certainly adequate.

There is both an inside and outside sink, which is very handy.

We were on the top floor and had a nice balcony with a view of the pool and the back lawn. Very nice and quiet.

The hotel itself is built into a side of a hill so in effect there are two ground floors (for those who don't like stairs). The first floor opens out into the back lawn (and there's parking off to the side), while the 2nd floor opens out into the main parking lot. The top floor is only one flight up. Very convenient.

The beds were comfortable and each pillow on the bed was just a little bit different so you could try them out for comfort (we had two queen beds).

The staff was pleasant but apparently need some training on the fire alarm system. The alarm went off one afternoon, when my husband went down to check it out, the staff was unaware there was probably a box that would indicate where the alarm originated. The fire dept came and checked it out, it was originating in someone's room, and the guy was still in the room - cooking perhaps?- who knows. Not a big deal for us, this sort of thing happens at hotels.

Overall a great place to stay if you're checking out northeast Vermont. It was very beautiful. Check out Burke Mountain for a fantastic view (and a hairraising drive up). Just north is Lyndonville, they have a diner on Rt 5 called the Miss Lyndonville, great place...just take a right from the hotel and follow Rt 5 North for 7-8 miles.

Further north take Rt 5A along Lake Willoughby, fantastic scenery...

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2008

Stayed at the hotel while in the area on business. There really isn't much in terms of other hotels. While I thought Fairbanks was a little pricy ($94/night for a king room), it was a nice stay. The room was HUGE, with a sitting area, two vanity areas, and a nice balcony. The bathrooms were well lit with a good shower. The bed was comfortable and the TV selection good. The hotel is easily accessible from the highway, which made it nice. I was disappointed with the lack of a continental breakfast. The hotel website had indicated that a breakfast was offered. however, all I saw was coffee. For what I payed, I thought I was getting food also. No big deal, ate elsewhere, but just a thought. Overall, for the area, the room was great and I'd stay again.

In addition, a previous reviewer mentioned Elements restaurant in downtown St. Johnsbury. It was a great meal, one of the best I'd had in a long time. I'd highly recommend it also!

  • Liked — Location, Room Size
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2008

This hotel is often referred to as "the best-kept secret/deal in upstate Vermont." While the property certainly did offer reasonable rates and comfortable rooms, it misfired in a few key areas that I think should be noted in order to provide a more balanced review of the property than currently appears on this site.

THE GOOD: Great rates - $99 per night for a whirlpool suite, $75 per night was quoted to me for the other rooms in the hotel. The rooms are indeed spacious - quite oversized, actually. Plenty of room to spread out and feel at home. Comfortable beds, and some newer remodeling was evident in the room. Staff was friendly and attentive on the phone and at check-in.

THE BAD: The "non-smoking" room was clearly converted from a smoking room just prior to our arrival. An ashtray was left on the table and machines had been used to clean the air of any lingering smell, but the smell was still evident. I felt that this was slightly dishonest.

Perhaps this is just the water quality in upstate Vermont, but the water produced by the shower/whirlpool was literally yellow and left a nasty residue on the tub while using the jacuzzi. It was not pleasant to sit in.

The visitor/promotional brochures and information provided by the property were not up to date. For example, a nice full-color ad was included about a nice little bookstore "serving lunch and dinner" along with coffee. Well, the original store had been sold, was under a new name/management, and there was no lunch and dinner to be found, prompting us to have to make other arrangements. This happened more than once, and I felt that this was unprofessional.

Finally, I was traveling in the area to attend a production of my play at a private school in Lyndon Center. The hotel management had promised to make a packet available to me of things to do / special places to visit, including a "scenic drive" to the location. This sounded wonderful, and I was greatly impressed that they cared so much about my business that they would go to the effort to do this. Well, the packet never materialized, and I never met the person I had spoken to on the phone. Don't make promises you can't keep!!!

THE VERDICT: Traveling and concerned about price? This is a fantastic property at which to stay, and the rooms were extremely comfortable. I would highly recommend the property based on the price. If you're expecting them to keep their promises (or their pretensions that they are a 3-star property), you may want to consider staying somewhere else for your trip.

  • Liked — Rates / spacious rooms
  • Disliked — See review...
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairbanks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairbanks Inn

Address: 401 Western Avenue, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Vermont's Friendliest Inn," nestled in the heart of Vermont's Northeast Kingdom. Forty-six spacious, newly renovated guest-appointed rooms & suites, outdoor seasonal heated pool, beautifully landscaped courtyard, private balconies, poolside rooms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairbanks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairbanks Hotel Saint Johnsbury
Fairbanks Motel Saint Johnsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairbanks Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.