We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B; beautifully restored house; excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1596 Main Street, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire, England
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B; beautifully restored house; excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The charming owner of this house went out of her way to make us feel welcome in her authentically renovated home.
The house is beautiful, and the rooms are thoughtfully decorated, in keeping with the age and style of the house itself. As a consequence, not all rooms have private bathrooms, but we had robes provided and a wash-basin in our room, and in practice there was no problem with availability.
The beds were good, with comfortable bedding. Although there was no air-conditioning in the bedrooms, and we were there in record-breaking high temperatures, we slept well.
A residents' lounge is available, with good, high-speed wifi and a great assortment of games, DVDs etc. There is a shady porch, with comfortable chairs.
Breakfast was excellent. Good ingredients, carefully cooked.
We also enjoyed meeting the other guests - and interesting mixture of Americans and people from much further afield.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    8
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Recently stayed here for the first time. The place is hard to find. There is no sign and we actually had to look it up on our iphone to get a picture of it. Proprietor is very nice. It is a lovely old Victorian home. Our room was quite comfortable and we had a private bath. The furnishings are not in keeping with the Victorian period but they were clean, comfortable and well maintained. We were however disappointed with the breakfast. It was filling and tasty but nothing out of the ordinary. Yogurt and granola, scrambled eggs and sausage. I had expected a little more from it after all the great reviews.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Relax. You can expect a memorable visit at this B & B. You will be happy to have stayed here.

My friend and I arrived by Bike from Boston, on our way to Montreal. We had a grueling day in the saddle, in near 100 degree temperatures and couldn't imagine another climb, whether on the hills, or dealing with complications of any kind. All I can say is that I felt relieved the moment I stepped through the door, welcomed and we were, by Maurine. It was a pleasure to stay in the Estabrook House B & B.

Maurine, the owner / proprietor, is a down-to-earth professional who has taken a stunning architectural gem and polished it more highly. The wooden details throughout the house are stunning, particularly in the great foyer. The bedrooms are clean, bright and welcoming. The beds are very comfortable, and the breakfast is extraordinary. You will be well cared for and well rested when ready to move on.

Be sure to take Maurine's advice on the many fine and reasonably priced nearby restaurants. Several are within easy walking distance.

You will want to book another stay before saying good bye. Kudos to you, Maurine.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quite nice. If you are concerned about morning sun, the front of the house faces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Estabrook House on multiple occasions, and it gets better each time! The innkeeper is so friendly and makes us feel right at home. We have slept in several different rooms, and all have been very clean and confortable with great beds and crisp, cotton sheets! Having an upstairs common TV room / den / library is a wonderful feature, particularly when we visited there with friends. However, the highlight is truly the large homemade breakfast!! Everything is local, fresh, incredibly delicious, and served on fine china! Maurine has a wide variety of menus and is very attentive to special dietary needs and/or requests. She will also make a special "afternoon tea" for a very nominal charge if requested, with delightful homemade finger foods. Coffee, many different types of speciality teas, and filtered alkaline water are available at all times, which adds a nice touch. In good weather, we especially enjoyed happy hour on the front porch, overlooking the small park across the street, which often hosts local musicians. This is truly a special place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had an interesting stay at The Estabrook. The accommodations are fine and the breakfasts are quite good, with a very friendly and attentive innkeeper hosting a B& B in the process of renovation. The property isn’t in pristine condition, but it’s located in a comfortable neighborhood above the very walk-able town of St. Johnsbury. Where else but in the northeast kingdom of Vermont could you meet a tenured Canadian professor and a family from Moscow(?)
The area around here is unmatched for its natural beauty!!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stopped there on my way back to Montreal by bike. My bedroom was great, the living room is perfect and the breakfast was delightful. Location is good, as it is walking distance from the center of the city. And the host is very friendly.

Perfect spot if you bike around the region! With a good quality breakfast to give you energy for the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was my first time at the Eastbrook B&B and, will not be the last. The house is a beautiful old Victorian which felt like home. Comfortable, great Internet connection, nice breakfast and biking recommendations. A short walk or bike ride to town where there are a few nice restaurants you can enjoy. The innkeeper was also just right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1596 Main Street, Saint Johnsbury, VT 05819
Location: United States > Vermont > Northeast Kingdom > Saint Johnsbury
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Johnsbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Estabrook House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.